R9000 - Poor speed

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
spreng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2021
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 19:58    Post subject: R9000 - Poor speed Reply with quote
Hi all

I've just flashed my R9000, and the settings for wireless setup... I've tried everything.

I'm seeing a huge huge drop in Wifi speed on 2.4 and 5.0

On stock, 2.4 normally sees 250mb+ and 5.0 I see 350-370
(latency of 7-11)
However on fw 45948, I'm seeing only 80-100 on 2.4 or 5.0, (latency is much higher too 18-30)

Any advice on how these interfaces should be setup?
I've tried every single option..

Thank you in advance for any help you can give.


Last edited by spreng on Tue Mar 09, 2021 20:26; edited 2 times in total
Sponsor
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 848
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 20:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
deactivate "allow channel overlapping"
on the 2.4Ghz interface you should set N/G mixed and 40Mhz
and post all your settings "advanced settings"

also please replace the screenshots with smaller ones

and also note the following threads:

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/QCA_wireless_settings


https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=326419
spreng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2021
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 20:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
ho1Aetoo wrote:
deactivate "allow channel overlapping"
on the 2.4Ghz interface you should set N/G mixed and 40Mhz
and post all your settings "advanced settings"

also please replace the screenshots with smaller ones

and also note the following threads:

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/QCA_wireless_settings


https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=326419



First... Thank you for such a quick reply

I've done the first settings you said..
I've redone the pics... (4k screen... and they were huge) They may now be a bit harder to read...

I've added the new ones showing advanced too.
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 848
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 20:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
disable "allow channel overlapping" (should result in "40 + UL -2")
set TX Power to 23
enable "Short Preamble"
enable"Single User Beamforming"


and then test again

Edit:

as "firmware" you can also test vanilla.
at least this is the firmware that works better for me


Last edited by ho1Aetoo on Tue Mar 09, 2021 20:59; edited 1 time in total
spreng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2021
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 20:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
All those done..

2.4 download now 110-115
5.0 download now 240-260

ping is 10 on both

Do you want me to repost pics?
spreng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2021
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 21:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
ho1Aetoo wrote:

as "firmware" you can also test vanilla.
at least this is the firmware that works better for me


Can you point me to a link/particular version/fw.

I'll try anything.. I like the performance the r9000 gives on wireless... but i was seeing really crap coverage on far side of the house.
since dd-wrt... i'm seeing signal on that part of the house.. but it's slow now everywhere.

I'm tempted to use my old WNDR3700v2 as dd-wrt and as an access point/repeater... but i'm unsure how that is setup...I have a hardwire there.. how should that be wired.. the cat5 on a lan port...or into the wan port.. (but wouldn't that just make it nat a natted network.)

Ideally.. just want to get this working solid and quick...
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7493
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 21:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
for ddwrt fw, try enabling qboost/tdma (5ghz radio only bs fixed it), for vanilla fw make sure qboot/tdma is off (it will create massive noise on the channel and kill throughput and latency)
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ------> r47183 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r47461 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r46350 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r46329 std


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway.. | I love you Anthony.. never forget that.. my other 99% ill never see again..
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 848
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 21:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try the vanilla firmware (WLAN > advanced Settings > Firmware Typ)
Other channels may also have less interference (start a "site survey" under "Status > WLAN" and see which channels your nearest neighbours are using)

test channels 36 / 52 / 100 / 116 / 149

The ACK timing could perhaps also be set a little higher.
spreng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2021
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 23:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
for ddwrt fw, try enabling qboost/tdma (5ghz radio only bs fixed it), for vanilla fw make sure qboot/tdma is off (it will create massive noise on the channel and kill throughput and latency)


Thank you.
I tried all these..and no better (actually dropped in speed from 250 down to 200)

i've tried vanilla also.. and made sure it was off.

I'm back to below where i was.. (230-240) but it was faster with the first recommendations from the other member.

I'm happy to try anything else?
spreng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2021
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 23:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
ho1Aetoo wrote:
Try the vanilla firmware (WLAN > advanced Settings > Firmware Typ)
Other channels may also have less interference (start a "site survey" under "Status > WLAN" and see which channels your nearest neighbours are using)

test channels 36 / 52 / 100 / 116 / 149

The ACK timing could perhaps also be set a little higher.


I tried the vanilla. It has dropped the dl speed on 5 to 230-240

Neighbouring wireless is pretty damn bad.. it is all overlapping and broadcasting the same in pretty much all of them...

36/40/44 are used heavy

I've also got the "wifi analyzer" app on android... so this had already shown up.

The site survey shows the same culprits.

I have tried changing the channels.. but in some instances... it moves it out the normal bands... and some devices drop off...

namely Arlo cameras... they just drop when not on that zone/scope.

It's stupid... as I bought this router.. as its Netgear... just like Arlo.... so.. hoped, i'd have no issues.
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 848
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 8:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
The site survey also shows the signal strength and you can sort directly by signal strength by clicking on the header.
This allows you to draw good conclusions about which frequencies are used in the immediate vicinity.

Quote:
I have tried changing the channels.. but in some instances... it moves it out the normal bands... and some devices drop off...


Yes, it is not said that all clients support all frequencies....
For example, the FireTV 2nd Gen only supports channels 32-48.
So actually completely useless

Quote:
On stock, 2.4 normally sees 250mb+


With what kind of client?
How measured?
Sounds a bit unrealistic (a 40mhz 2x2 client has a link rate of 300Mbit (MCS15) which is too low for +250Mbit throughput)

https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-reviews/33046-netgear-r9000-nighthawk-x10-smart-wifi-router-reviewed?start=2

https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-reviews/33046-netgear-r9000-nighthawk-x10-smart-wifi-router-reviewed?start=3

they measured 120Mbit with a 2x2 client
and with a 4x4 client 250Mbit (peak 325Mbit)

are also exactly the values that I measure myself

2x2 = 150Mbit
4x4 = up to 350Mbit

mind you 4x4 with a highend client


Quote:
I tried the vanilla. It has dropped the dl speed on 5 to 230-240


well, these are not bad values depending on the client

with a 2x2 client are at short distance 500Mbit possible

Quote:
namely Arlo cameras... they just drop when not on that zone/scope.

It's stupid... as I bought this router.. as its Netgear... just like Arlo.... so.. hoped, i'd have no issues.


No idea
But after doing some quick research, it seems to be rubbish.

The products don't have exact specifications on the web site so the customer can guess.
In the support forum, threads like "smarthub automatically selects the WLAN channel and interferes with the router - no manual selection possible, etc." are piling up.

Apparently you can integrate the Ultra series directly into your own WLAN - but as I said, I haven't found any technical data (funny...).

Edit:

as I said, also try a higher ACK timing
500 is actually only for short distances
Try 900-1800 (can make sense for a house and longer distances)
spreng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2021
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 14:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
ho1Aetoo wrote:
The site survey also shows the signal strength and you can sort directly by signal strength by clicking on the header.
This allows you to draw good conclusions about which frequencies are used in the immediate vicinity.

Quote:
I have tried changing the channels.. but in some instances... it moves it out the normal bands... and some devices drop off...


Yes, it is not said that all clients support all frequencies....
For example, the FireTV 2nd Gen only supports channels 32-48.
So actually completely useless

Quote:
On stock, 2.4 normally sees 250mb+


With what kind of client?
How measured?
Sounds a bit unrealistic

https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-reviews/33046-netgear-r9000-nighthawk-x10-smart-wifi-router-reviewed?start=2

https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-reviews/33046-netgear-r9000-nighthawk-x10-smart-wifi-router-reviewed?start=3

they measured 120Mbit with a 2x2 client
and with a 4x4 client 250Mbit (peak 325Mbit)

are also exactly the values that I measure myself

2x2 = 150Mbit
4x4 = up to 350Mbit (usually with interference it is more like 250Mbit)

mind you 4x4 with a highend client


Quote:
I tried the vanilla. It has dropped the dl speed on 5 to 230-240


well, these are not bad values depending on the client

with a 2x2 client are at short distance 500Mbit possible


I have a fair few Dell high end machines with intel and factory cards.
my machine is a XPS 15...(hence the huge 4k screenshots) but i would def see 350 over 5ghz wireless on that... (granted..in the same room as the router)..but all these tests were done at my desk in the same place.

I know if i reflash stock, I can get the 350 back...as that has never been the issue...it's the signal in other parts of the house.

I have tried the signal...to see which is strongest... and honestly.. round me.. it's like every single network..is setup exactly the same.

I'll attach some shots from Wifi Analyzer app too..
spreng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2021
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 14:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
ho1Aetoo wrote:


No idea
But after doing some quick research, it seems to be rubbish.

The products don't have exact specifications on the web site so the customer can guess.
In the support forum, threads like "smarthub automatically selects the WLAN channel and interferes with the router - no manual selection possible, etc." are piling up.

Apparently you can integrate the Ultra series directly into your own WLAN - but as I said, I haven't found any technical data (funny...).

Edit:

as I said, also try a higher ACK timing
500 is actually only for short distances
Try 900-1800 (can make sense for a house and longer distances)



Have done those settings too.. and will post the speed checks I get now.
spreng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2021
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 15:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
The above speeds were checked.. and rechecked to ensure no outside influence.. by doing the wired check to the same server. Each time.. between 360-380 on Wired.

So.. it seems that something in DD-WRT and the R9000 is not right.. and it's not handling the throughput.

I am thinking of reflashing stock.. just so I can post the speed tests over WIFI so you can see the numbers...
spreng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2021
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 15:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1154617#1154617

Looks like this has been a known issue for this router. This is sounding damn similar.

I'm about to try this older DD-wrt from

/betas/2019/01-29-2019-r38507/netgear-r9000/

Let's see what that does.

I know there is a lot of talk about BS (Brainslayers) builds.. but also know he left a while ago.. and all builds were taken down. Did he go elsewhere with the builds.. or just stopped?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum