WRT3200 w/ DD WRT WiFi doesn’t go through VPN [SOLVED]

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Author Message
DrTroy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Feb 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2021 15:39    Post subject: WRT3200 w/ DD WRT WiFi doesn’t go through VPN [SOLVED] Reply with quote
Hi. New Linksys WRT3200 user here. Just flashed the last DD WRT firmware. Everything seems to work fine, except WiFi. It doesn’t go through the VPN. LAN does normally.
My modem gateway is 192.168.0.1. The Router LAN ip is 192.168.1.1 and the WAN ip 192.168.0.1/24. I don’t have access to my modems’ GUI, default ARRIS credentials don’t work. Everytime I try to modify the LAN and/or WAN settings on my DD WRT, I end losing internet connection and even access to the router, have to reset it. Please, help.
Sponsor
pbphoto
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Oct 2017
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2021 15:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
If your internet modem GW is 192.168.0.1, then your DD-WRT wan IP should be different - like 192.168.0.2. The DD-WRT wan GW should be 192.168.0.1. Connection type is static-IP. Your wifi lan is then 192.168.1.x/24. Then, IIRC, in the VPN setup docs, there's a step to route your home lan traffic out through the VPN tunnel interface (tun0?).
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 2775

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2021 15:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Always post the build you are using, for example most people fall back to r44048.
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1556
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2021 18:16    Post subject: Re: WRT3200 w/ DD WRT WiFi doesn’t go through VPN Reply with quote
DrTroy wrote:
Everything seems to work fine, except WiFi. It doesn’t go through the VPN. LAN does normally.

Are you saying if you are connected to your router by Wifi and go to say whatismyip.com it reports your ISP IP
but if connected to your router by lan cable whatismyip.com reports vpn IP?
And you are not using PBR?

_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Forum Guide Lines (Please read!) --- How to get help the right way----PIA Setup Guide by egc----
DrTroy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Feb 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2021 18:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
pbphoto wrote:
If your internet modem GW is 192.168.0.1, then your DD-WRT wan IP should be different - like 192.168.0.2. The DD-WRT wan GW should be 192.168.0.1. Connection type is static-IP. Your wifi lan is then 192.168.1.x/24. Then, IIRC, in the VPN setup docs, there's a step to route your home lan traffic out through the VPN tunnel interface (tun0?).


Yes, that's correct about my WAN IP. No, it's not static IP, it's default DHCP. I don't understand the last line. What I meant is that if I connect a device to the DD WRT router with cable, VPN connection works. But, if I connect the device with WiFi, theres no VPN connection.
DrTroy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Feb 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2021 18:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
blkt wrote:
Always post the build you are using, for example most people fall back to r44048.


r45767. Thanks.
DrTroy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Feb 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2021 18:32    Post subject: Re: WRT3200 w/ DD WRT WiFi doesn’t go through VPN Reply with quote
bushant wrote:
DrTroy wrote:
Everything seems to work fine, except WiFi. It doesn’t go through the VPN. LAN does normally.

Are you saying if you are connected to your router by Wifi and go to say whatismyip.com it reports your ISP IP
but if connected to your router by lan cable whatismyip.com reports vpn IP?
And you are not using PBR?


I'm sorry. I'm new to this. What I can explain is that if I connect my laptop to my DD WRT router with a cable, VPN works, I go to Netflix and can see the USA library (I live in Ecuador). If I connect wireless, I don't get the USA library on Netflix. Hope it's easier to explain this way. Thanks a lot.
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1556
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2021 19:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you check your IP connected by wireless then check connected by lan do you get different results?

I do not own this router but I do not think it is different with regard to the way VPN is setup/works.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7424
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2021 7:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Could it be that you are not connecting to the DDWRT router but to your ISP's router (or another router for that matter)?
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8337
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2021 13:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Are you sure you are connecting to the proper SSID on the WRT3200. Rephrase of previous question. If you are connecting the WRT3200 WAN to another router, and the other router has wireless, you don't want to use the same SSID on your WRT3200 as is on your ISP router. Maybe that explains what others are asking better.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
DrTroy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Feb 2021
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2021 3:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi. Thanks a lot for your help. I lost access to the DD WRT router after changing some settings, so I had to reset it. After that, started with the settings step by step and this time everything worked just fine. I can only say that I was doing something wrong, just don't know what exactly.
foz111
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 437
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2021 9:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Possibly you unbridged your wireless Network Configuration
_________________
Netgear R7800 PPPoE Main Router
Network IPV4 eth1 - Isolated Vlan eth1.3 on br1 for IoT devices With 2 x AP's (Amazon Echos, smart TV's, etc.)
BT Whole Home 4 node Mesh Wi-Fi, Router Wi-Fi disabled. OVPN Server with Paid OVPN client & Wireguard Client.
Gateway mode, DNSMasq, Static Leases & DHCP, Pi-Hole DNS Upstream Argo-tunnel DoH.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum