OpenVPN iptable question

johnnyNobody999
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2021 22:51    Post subject: OpenVPN iptable question Reply with quote
I was reading the latest server setup and they said to use the following iptables configuration:

iptables -t nat -I POSTROUTING -s 10.8.0.0/24 -o $(get_wanface) -j MASQUERADE

I've been reading (uh, oh) about iptables and I was wondering if the following would be a better or more generic way to set up the rule:

iptables -t nat -I POSTROUTING -s $(nvram get openvpn_net)/$(nvram get openvpn_tunmask) -o $(get_wanface) -j SNAT --to-source $(nvram get wan_ipaddr)

I read that SNAT is faster than MASQUERADE and that SNAT should be fine for those of us with a public (WAN side) static IP. What do you guys/gals think? My configuration idea works. I don't think there's any security issues but I'm not an iptables expert.
Sponsor
eibgrad
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2021 23:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Using nvram variables is most advantageous for tech support when we're providing advice, since it applies more generally. But if you *know* what these values are, then at least in terms of performance, using fixed, known values is going to be more efficient. After all, those nvram variables have to be looked up continuously.

OTOH, it probably doesn't matter all that much in this particular case anyway. Many ppl don't realize that unlike the filter table, the NAT table is only referenced *once* for a given connection, so the *hit* taken for these continuous lookups isn't nearly as bad as it might first appear.

So take your pick.

ddwrt-ovpn-split-basic.sh (UPDATED!) * ddwrt-ovpn-split-advanced.sh (UPDATED!) * ddwrt-ovpn-client-killswitch.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-client-watchdog.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-remote-access.sh * ddwrt-ovpn-client-backup.sh * ddwrt-mount-usb-drives.sh * ddwrt-blacklist-domains.sh * ddwrt-wol-port-forward.sh * ddwrt-dns-monitor.sh (NEW!)
johnnyNobody999
DD-WRT Guru