wrt32x bricked!!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
heracles360
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Feb 2017
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2021 17:30    Post subject: wrt32x bricked!! Reply with quote
Hello, I just blocked my wrt32x and I would need the steps to follow to recover it through usb-ttl, I have seen many posts but it is not clear to me the steps to follow.
Sponsor
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3897

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2021 8:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Please provide more information about what you did instead of asking someone to rewrite a walkthrough.

Is it really soft bricked as in both boot partitions are corrupt or erased?

Have you tried holding the reset button for 10 seconds then wait for the reboot?

What about the triple power cycle method to trigger switch or alternate the boot partition?

https://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=316324#Power%20Switch%20method

It is a pain sometimes to get the timing correct, so here is an alternate description.

Power ON and when LAN LED is blinking immediately turn it OFF then wait at least three seconds. Repeat.

Then power it on a third time and let it run.

Another visual cue is power LED blinks a few times then turns off for about 2 seconds, switch power OFF.
chirkoot1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2022
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2022 16:40    Post subject: bricked wrt32x Reply with quote
I have to restore from ddwrt to linksys factory firmware using ssh method, seem I used factor firmware instead of venom.img

Since it just blinking power light.

and when connect over serial port it get show belowe but no prompt or any thing to run command to recover.

I tried to follow recover corrupt boot loader, but after complete it again stuck at same.. here what I see on serial..


Quote:


..... initial mesg......
.... then following

:** Link is Gen1, check the EP capability

PCIe, Idx 1: remains Gen1

High speed PHY - Ended Successfully

DDR3 Training Sequence - Ver TIP-1.46.0

mvSysEnvGetTopologyUpdateInfo: TWSI Read failed

DDR3 Training Sequence - Switching XBAR Window to FastPath Window

DDR3 Training Sequence - Ended Successfully

Not detected suspend to RAM indication

BootROM: Image checksum verification PASSED


U-Boot 2013.01 (May 18 2017 - 16:37:44) Marvell version: 2015_T1.QA.0p16

Boot version : v2.0.9

Board: RD-NAS-88F6820-DDR3
SoC: MV88F6820 Rev A0
running 2 CPUs
CPU: ARM Cortex A9 MPCore (Rev 1) LE
CPU 0
CPU @ 1866 [MHz]
L2 @ 933 [MHz]
TClock @ 200 [MHz]
DDR3 @ 933 [MHz]
DDR3 32 Bit Width,FastPath Memory Access, DLB Enabled, ECC Disabled
DRAM: 512 MiB
NAND: 256 MiB
MMC: mv_sdh: 0


Nothing following this point

It output above message in one go, so there no pause or anything to do.. no key pressed during the boot.. it just get this point and nothing after it..

please help anyone know step by step info.
Quote:
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 9602
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2022 16:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
@chirkroot1 please do not post the same message in multiple threads.

Don't Panic I am sure someone will come to the rescue

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
chirkoot1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2022
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2022 16:58    Post subject: thank you Reply with quote
can you please point where right thread to ask about this issue..

I'm stuck with no clear option..
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3897

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2022 17:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://openwrt.org/toh/linksys/wrt_ac_series#serial_flash

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1226004#1226003
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1226028#1226028

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=326162

U-boot environment or bootloader recovery are the last to try, not first, and in your case were not corrupt.
chirkoot1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2022
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2022 20:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
problem is following these reference all need to get to prompt to type command.

But in my case I never get to marvel or venom prompt, so there is no way for me to attempt to recover, unless I'm missing something.

As connected over serial, it get
Quote:
DRAM: 512 MiB
mvSysEnvGetTopologyUpdateInfo: TWSI Read failed

DDR3 Training Sequence - Switching XBAR Window to FastPath Window

DDR3 Training Sequence - Ended Successfully

Not detected suspend to RAM indication

BootROM: Image checksum verification PASSED



U-Boot 2013.01 (May 18 2017 - 16:37:44) Marvell version: 2015_T1.QA.0p16

Boot version : v2.0.9

Board: RD-NAS-88F6820-DDR3
SoC: MV88F6820 Rev A0
running 2 CPUs
CPU: ARM Cortex A9 MPCore (Rev 1) LE
CPU 0
CPU @ 1866 [MHz]
L2 @ 933 [MHz]
TClock @ 200 [MHz]
DDR3 @ 933 [MHz]
DDR3 32 Bit Width,FastPath Memory Access, DLB Enabled, ECC Disabled
DRAM: 512 MiB
NAND: 256 MiB
MMC: mv_sdh: 0


never interrupted boot, but for what ever reason it not continue from there..

Just to see if do anything I tried

Quote:
setenv serverip 192.168.1.2
setenv netmask 255.255.255.0
ping 192.168.1.2
run update_both_images
printenv ipaddr



but no response still...

Attaching screenshot..
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3897

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2022 21:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, still have not interrupted the boot process by pressing any key, will not say when as silent is enabled.

Linked directly to serial flash, two posts in one thread and also a second thread. Please read those replies.
chirkoot1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2022
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2022 21:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
ok so what I understand:
1) connect over serial and plugin in power with router
2) Boot message print on serial, And not press any key till get uboot prompt.
...
...
....

3) once get uboot prompt, follow step to flash firmware with tftp server process..

Issue: It never get to uboot prompt.
after waiting for while for uboot prompt copy pasted following on serial terminal:

while tftpd server running on 192.168.2.2
image file is named as venom.img

Quote:


setenv silent
saveenv

Restarted router manually, and still nothing uboot prompt.. same as above..
Typed following..

setenv ipaddr 192.168.2.1
setenv netmask 255.255.255.0
setenv serverip 192.168.2.2
run update_both_images



No response..

Anyway to confirm silent mode is disabled as I tried :
Quote:
setenv silent
saveenv


reboot and still nothing..
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3897

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2022 21:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
As I already said you must trigger u-boot prompt by pressing keys on your keyboard.
Quote:
Silent boot is an enabled environment variable, set by default.

So instead, simply start pressing the spacebar, any alphanumeric key, to interrupt the boot proccess.

There is a 3 to 5 second countdown to press any key but since silent it will not tell you when to begin.

It should be shortly after you see uboot version etc.

U-Boot 2013.01 (May 18 2017 - 16:37:44) Marvell version: 2015_T1.QA.0p16

Boot version : v2.0.9

Cannot get past this hurdle... https://phoenixnap.com/kb/install-putty-on-mac

Run printenv first to see environment settings and backup any text output.

Please do not copy paste commands without understanding them first.

Have you configured Ethernet LAN adapter and set up a TFTP server?

Did you try triple power cycle method first reply before anything else?
chirkoot1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2022
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2022 22:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Appreciate to bear with me.. I tried to slow down and hope I'm following what you said:

1) hooked up to serial
2) powerup router
3) as soon see following message press space bar to interrupt boot process.
Quote:
Marvell version: 2015_T1.QA.0p16

Boot version : v2.0.9

4) Run
Quote:
printenv

- at this point it not print or show any output

5) run following:
Quote:
setenv ipaddr 192.168.2.1
setenv netmask 255.255.255.0
setenv serverip 192.168.2.2
run update_both_images


Have you configured Ethernet LAN adapter and set up a TFTP server?
- Yes have all these configured with TFTPd server another windows machine..
- but not seems not get that far as nothing output on step4
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3897

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2022 22:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
You do not need setenv. Use printenv to see current settings.

Without venom command prompt there is nothing to do here.

https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/latest.html
chirkoot1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2022
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2022 22:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
No response with just this either
Quote:
printenv


I tried with putty as well, but dont see any different response.

Is there could issue due bad USB to TTL cable?

Reason I think that as I can only get router to boot when I connect TX/RX pin only, as in case connect ground router not boot at all and dont get any output on serial terminal.
Gameman Advanced Kid
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2012
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2022 23:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
@chirkoot1

Try rapid mashing ctrl+c instead of pressing the spacebar.

that should get you something.

_________________
For people who are new to the dd-wrt forums >> http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html#rtfm

barryware wrote:
It takes a "community" to raise a router..


Internet Connection 1
Gateway Router > Linksys WRT32x

Internet connection 2
NAS-AP > Netgear Nighthawk R7800

DD-WRT non-official LIVE element/matrix chat

https://matrix.to/#/#dd-wrt_non_official:matrix.org
chirkoot1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2022
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2022 23:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
I able to get venom prompt first time.. but when I type anything it get masked in putty..

Not sure if there any specific config or setting with putty that needed...

Also tried using screen on mac in place of putty..
Code:
screen /dev/tty.SLAB_USBtoUART 115200


get same to venom prompt but nothing after that can type and run or get any output for printenv
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum