TL-WR1043ND V1.0 - how to switch FW? [SOLVED]

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
Alexarl
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jun 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2021 19:58    Post subject: TL-WR1043ND V1.0 - how to switch FW? [SOLVED] Reply with quote
Hi,
I have working (non bricked) rather old TP-Link TL-WR1043ND V1.0 (Atheros AR9132 rev 2 (0xb9), 32 MB RAM), with DD-WRT v3.0-r39290 std (03/26/19).

Everything works, but I am locked to this firmware and can't flash original or another DD-WRT version.

I tried the "tftp trick" (set my laptop IP to 192.168.0.66, tried also 192.168.1.66), and booted while holding reset button pressed with paper clip.

I can't see any tftp request (ran wireshark on ethernet interface). Any tftp server that I tried didn't show anything as well.
To be on the safe side - tried it when connected directly (laptop to LAN port), or via 1G desktop switch.
Doesn't matter what - router boots to the DD-WRT.

If I try to flash "revert to original" or any other DD-WRT image via its web interface, I get the message that flashing was successful, then it boots back to DD-WRT.

I can telnet to the router, I can connect USB stick to it, I have original firmware, and I can prepare strip version from it according to OpenWrt manual, if it helps - but if router doesn't reach out to pick it, or without instructions how to write it manually from telnet - I am stuck.

Anyone has any idea what can be done here ?

10x.
Sponsor
joedow
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Feb 2018
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2021 21:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

i am in the same situation as you, im also stuck on one version of DD WRT and cant change it (dont remember witch one it is, the router sits on a shelf now, im using a V.2 instead).

I read somewhere that V.1 has hardware issues. Anyway dont bother too much with it.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2223
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2021 21:51    Post subject: 1043ND v1 Reply with quote
I used to have a 1043ND v1. Least stable router ever. It would randomly reboot almost every day. If you want a budget router go get a Archer C7. If you can't afford that go find a D-Link DIR-615 C1, E3/E4, I1. Those are slow has molasses but reliable as hell. Only flash the dlink via command line though.

1043ND v1 did have hardware issues, Brainslayer said. Made it unstable.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.
QCA Best WiFi Settings


Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - WDS AP, gateway, QoS
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1/E3/I1 x 7 - some gateway
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - not used
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway, QoS
Asus N66U - AP
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - switch
Alexarl
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jun 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2021 12:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Re unstability - I used it for about 10 years as Access Point, guest network, local DNS and DHCP - and it survived so far. Actually, it still works as kind of "dumb" access point on the attic, where I don't have a good WiFi coverage from main mesh system.
I wanted to convert it to the "test router" to replace the unit that my provider gave me, as it is too dumb, but apparently I'll build it myself based on PI4.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2223
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2021 12:23    Post subject: Test router Reply with quote
If you want a real test router with the best performance. DD-WRT on x86 or x86_64 with a couple of wifi cards is best. This is what tatsuya46 on here uses. I don't remember off hand which cards he uses though.
_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.
QCA Best WiFi Settings


Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - WDS AP, gateway, QoS
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1/E3/I1 x 7 - some gateway
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - not used
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway, QoS
Asus N66U - AP
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - switch
Alexarl
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jun 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2021 7:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Obviously I could buy / build a very strong enterprise grade set from purposely-purchased hardware. I was looking for a way to reuse something that I already have.

If this 1043 is not salvable, then the next-best approach is to use old PC (I have something laying around, and have enough NICs to put into it), but if experiment works - I wouldn't be able to fit it into "production environment" - my "communication closet", it just physically won't fit there Smile
So, apparently, I will have to go PI4 way.
zloy_elektrik
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 11
Location: Kiev, Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2021 20:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311642
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 9012
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2021 21:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
zloy_elektrik wrote:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311642


You should be able to flash via CLI over telnet/ssh per the Installation wiki. The version of firmware in the OP is newer than 33375. The 39290 build may have been during the issue of webflash via the webUI being broken (I don't have my crystal ball handy).

  1. cd /tmp
    wget http://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2021/03-26-2021-r46177/tplink_tl-wr1043nd/tl-wr1043nd-webflash.bin
    OR
    wget ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2021/03-26-2021-r46177/tplink_tl-wr1043nd/tl-wr1043nd-webflash.bin
  2. write tl-wr1043nd-webflash.bin linux &
  3. reboot

EDIT: Apparently, there is an image size problem, so perhaps the linked thread at the top of this post is likely a valid option.
cosmintnt wrote:
I am able to download the bin file, but when issuing the write command ... I get the error: Image too big for partition: linux

I am stuck on version firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r40559 std (08/06/19)

  1. cat /proc/mtd
    NOTE: whichever partition is "fullflash" is the one you use in step 4 below.
  2. cd /tmp
  3. wget http://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2021/03-26-2021-r46177/tplink_tl-wr1043nd/factory-to-ddwrt.bin
    OR
    wget ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2021/03-26-2021-r46177/tplink_tl-wr1043nd/factory-to-ddwrt.bin
  4. dd if=/dev/mtdblock6 of=/tmp/boot.bin bs=1 count=131072
  5. cat factory-to-ddwrt.bin >> boot.bin
  6. mtd -f write boot.bin fullflash
  7. wait for 3-5 min until W/E stops
  8. reboot

I don't know why this is an issue since the firmware files have been the same exact size for a few years, but AFAIK the webUI flashing method issue should be resolved otherwise (?).

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
cosmintnt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2021 17:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
It works using the steps in the later edit.
Actually you have to wait until W/E stops and later reboot and I insist on rebooting.
My W/E sequence was kind of short and together with the error(Unlocking fullflash ...
flash : Could not unlock MTD device: fullflash)

made me think the flash failed.

But after reboot sent from putty client ... I am on latest version available. Also previous settings survived.

THANK YOU
cosmintnt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 10:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
I confirm it is working. I was able to update to build r46220 from r46177 using the built in webui firmware upgrade option.

Again thank you for helping.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 9012
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 13:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for reporting. Please consider reporting a successful flash in the build thread also. Thanks again!

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=328722

NOTE: I will have to back-track to see when the webflash issue was fixed, I know it was sometime in the past year or so, after 40559; apparently CLI flash was also broken somewhere in the process, too.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
zloy_elektrik
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 11
Location: Kiev, Ukraine

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 17:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:


  1. cat /proc/mtd
    "fullflash" partition is mtd7 for my 1043nd v1.0 unit.
  2. cd /tmp
  3. wget http://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2021/03-26-2021-r46177/tplink_tl-wr1043nd/factory-to-ddwrt.bin
    OR
    wget ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2021/03-26-2021-r46177/tplink_tl-wr1043nd/factory-to-ddwrt.bin
  4. dd if=/dev/mtdblock7 of=/tmp/boot.bin bs=1 count=131072
  5. cat factory-to-ddwrt.bin >> boot.bin
  6. mtd -f write boot.bin fullflash
  7. wait for 3-5 min until W/E stops
  8. reboot



And i finally moved away from r36104 (as I wrote here https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1151259#1151259, any build newer r36104 and before r38060 makes 1043 v1 bootloop)
Web update r46177 -> r46220 works OK. Tnx very much!
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum