New Build - 01/15/2021 - r45454

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3161

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 16:37    Post subject: New Build - 01/15/2021 - r45454 Reply with quote
[WARNING]: This thread is only for feedback on this beta release for developers and the community's benefit.
DO NOT flash this beta release unless you understand the risks involved and specific device recovery methods.
Avoid discussions! Create threads for questions, general problems or use search; this thread is not for support.
Please list router model & revision, operating & wireless mode(s) and exact filename/firmware image flashed.


Downloads: (DD-WRT website) HTTPS & FTP (try another if a link does not work)

CLI Flash: 'cd /tmp' then 'wget {file URL}' (or 'curl -k {file URL} -o {file}') with http (not https) or ftp. Then 'write {file} linux'.

Repository: Trac SVN changelog since last build r45420 (GitHub mirror)

Notes:
OpenVPN Version 2.5.0 and Guides
WireGuard 1.0.20200908, Tools: Guides, PBR, Kill Switch, Inbound Firewall, Naming of Peers, Status, Key. Thanks BS & egc!
• CVE-2019-14899 VPN fix (applicability depends on VPN setup) and GUI toggle since r41813.
In-kernel Samba was implemented over the past year and default min/max versions changed, with WSD support.
Experimental build option for Broadcom 8MB+ K2.x devices (limited currently): broadcom_K3X_mipsel32r1
• Broadcom MIPS devices are now on kernel 4.4. N66U/AC66U half memory is fully resolved.
• DHCP and DNS help (English) updated in 43083; ref: #7091
• WAN lease time approaching zero bug on WRT54* devices fixed in 43191; ref: #6456
• Images for WNR3500Lv2 (BRCM NAND flash crash bug) fixed in 43219 (43217); ref: #7098

Issues, observations, and/or workarounds reported:
DNScrypt 1.95 can still be used in the GUI but v2 (not compatible) requires Golang and thus Entware. 6246
WDS does not work on Broadcom ARM devices (only MIPS<->MIPS) & bridge modes on k4.4 devices may sometimes work in some configurations in certain builds but are not supported by the bcmdhd driver. Use client or repeater instead.
VAPs not working at boot fixed for unbridged VAPs with r40564:40566. Workaround startup command:
sleep 10;stopservice nas;stopservice wlconf;startservice wlconf;startservice nas (there are a few alternatives, search).
If start-up scripts do not work from USB add a delay (e.g. wait script or 'sleep 25').
For Broadcom ARM devices missing 5GHz channels, via telnet/ssh: 'nvram set brcm_unlock=1' 'nvram commit' 'nvram reboot'

Important:
• If reporting issues provide applicable info: 'dmesg', 'cat /tmp/var/log/messages', syslog, serial output, strace, tcpdump etc.
• For firewall NAT or WAN issues provide 'iptables -vnL', 'iptables -t nat -vnL', 'iptables -t mangle -vnL' and the /tmp/.ipt file.
• Search existing SVN tickets before opening a new one. Before reporting, reset and manually setup (no nvram backup).
• Be sure to include operating and wireless modes (Gateway, AP, CB, etc.) along with relevant configuration information.

Example Template:
Code:
[b]Router/Version: [/b]
[b]File/Kernel: [/b]
[b]Previous/Reset: [/b]
[b]Mode/Status: [/b]
[b]Issues/Errors: [/b]
Sponsor
itwontbewe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Sep 2020
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 19:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: Netgear R7000P
Kernel: Linux 4.4.251 #1842 SMP Fri Jan 15 11:11:37 +07 2021 armv7l
Previous/Reset: r45420 / nvram erase && reboot
Mode/Status: Gateway AP Unbound JFFS2 / running well
Issues: no low 5GHz channels


Last edited by itwontbewe on Wed Jan 20, 2021 11:43; edited 2 times in total
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1667
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 19:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
itwontbewe wrote:
Router: Netgear R7000P
Kernel: Linux 4.4.251 #1842 SMP Fri Jan 15 11:11:37 +07 2021 armv7l
Previous/Reset: r45420 / no
Mode/Status: Gateway AP Unbound JFFS2 / running well
Issues: no low 5GHz channels

noticed the TurboQAM option is missing


This is now by design, HT20 won't reveal QAM-256 the way I understand all of the recent commits made.

I believe you have to us HT40 mode and then QAM-256 will show up. Please test and report back.

Otherwise, BS may have missed this chipset in his code; only other hunch I have at this time.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]47449 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
itwontbewe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Sep 2020
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 19:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
first test
the option is still missing and my pixel 3 xl connection says vht20sgi

ill do a reset next
flyzipper
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Feb 2016
Posts: 504

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 19:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: Netgear R7000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r45454 std (01/15/21)
Kernel: Linux 4.4.251 #1836 SMP Fri Jan 15 00:11:49 +07 2021 armv7l
Previous: r45420
Mode/Status: Gateway / working
Issues/Errors: Working well so far.

Uptime: 35mins
Upgrade: via web UI, no issues
Reset: no
Temperatures: CPU 68.0 °C / WL0 46.8 °C / WL1 52.7 °C
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1667
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 19:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
itwontbewe wrote:
first test
the option is still missing and my pixel 3 xl connection says vht20sgi

ill do a reset next


Sent BS an email...

I know he was massively re-writing code for the whole ht/vht and qam portion...not sure if he's done with that yet or not... it's possible he missed the bcm chips with qam 256 support...

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/Broadcom
ctrl+F 256-qam on that page shows 10 possible chipsets...though did not see if any are duplicates...

and your pixel will never connect at HT40 on 2.4ghz... this is a hard coded limit which is outlined in the wifi wiki's.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]47449 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
itwontbewe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Sep 2020
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 20:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks for your replies and info

after the reset my phone performs really poorly when 2.4 id set to 40width *phone was vht20. and a roku wont connect to it

i don't think 2.4 GHz 40 width works right on the r7000p

i'm not sure the TurboQAM worked properly either

maybe that's why its not there


Last edited by itwontbewe on Sat Jan 16, 2021 18:25; edited 1 time in total
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1667
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 20:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
itwontbewe wrote:
thanks for your replies and info

after the reset my phone performs really poorly when 2.4 id set to 40width and a roku wont connect to it

i don't think 2.4 GHz 40 width works right on the r7000p

i'm not sure the TurboQAM worked properly either

maybe that's why its not there


again, see the wifi wiki's about HT40 on 2.4ghz...

as far as qam on ht20, it only provides a very minor bump in speed on 1x1 and 2x2 stream radios... so very little advantage to using it, though on a 1x1 stream any help you can get... pixel is 2x2:2 stream.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]47449 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
itwontbewe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Sep 2020
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 23:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
on HT40
i did get the roku to connect but it was ht20 and the best speed i could get was 9 mbs. usually about 60 mbs

* i know its very possible im missing something. apologizes if so lol

** my chip is BCM4360
https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/Netgear_R7000P

*** i noticed on that site 5 GHz is the first radio and 2.4 GHz next

on ddwrt its the opposite


Last edited by itwontbewe on Sat Jan 16, 2021 16:08; edited 3 times in total
twindragon6
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 226

PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 2:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
itwontbewe wrote:
first test
the option is still missing and my pixel 3 xl connection says vht20sgi

ill do a reset next


Sent BS an email...

I know he was massively re-writing code for the whole ht/vht and qam portion...not sure if he's done with that yet or not... it's possible he missed the bcm chips with qam 256 support...

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/Broadcom
ctrl+F 256-qam on that page shows 10 possible chipsets...though did not see if any are duplicates...

and your pixel will never connect at HT40 on 2.4ghz... this is a hard coded limit which is outlined in the wifi wiki's.


The BCM4709A0 is missing from that list!
brrfpm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jul 2020
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 2:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Upgrade: via web UI, TurboQAM missing on Asus AC3200 and the issue I've detailed below.
Reset: no

-------------------------------------------------

I still have the same issue as mentioned before.
Allowed IP's in VPN still has a limit of 1024 chars.

This restricts me from using the UI to fill my allowed IPs range and instead I have to manually do this on the router.

I'm basically compensating for the lack of a "Blocked IPs" or "Non-Allowed IPs" to allow both PBR and DBR tunnels to work hand in hand.

This is basically so: "For this one machine route all traffic through this VPN bar for this one website" and a separate DBR tunnel is in place for that one website for not only the PBR machine but the whole network.

I have a python script to print CIDR addresses covering the whole range of IPs for the whole internet minus the IPs for the DBR websites and the DBR websites defined DNSs. It comes to a total of 1214 chars which is quite small considering what it is.

Because of the arbitrary limit in the router GUI of 1024 I manually have to set it on the router and in a start-up script which is quite annoying.


Last edited by brrfpm on Sat Jan 16, 2021 3:18; edited 1 time in total
MysticGold04
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 110
Location: Somewhere remote

PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 3:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
I can also confirm TurboQAM option missing on Asus AC68u model as well.

Web interface updated from build r45420 1/13/21.

_________________
EdgeRouter-X, 2.0.9 Hotfix-2
ASUS RT-AC68U (AP) Merlin Fork
ASUS RT-AC68U (Bridge) r47481 x2
WRT54GL 1.1 Freshtomato 2021.5
Linksys e1200v2 - resting
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 10201
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 3:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
twindragon6 wrote:
msoengineer wrote:
itwontbewe wrote:
first test
the option is still missing and my pixel 3 xl connection says vht20sgi

ill do a reset next


Sent BS an email...

I know he was massively re-writing code for the whole ht/vht and qam portion...not sure if he's done with that yet or not... it's possible he missed the bcm chips with qam 256 support...

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/Broadcom
ctrl+F 256-qam on that page shows 10 possible chipsets...though did not see if any are duplicates...

and your pixel will never connect at HT40 on 2.4ghz... this is a hard coded limit which is outlined in the wifi wiki's.


The BCM4709A0 is missing from that list!


Because that is a CPU, not a wireless chip...

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
twindragon6
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 226

PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 3:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
twindragon6 wrote:
msoengineer wrote:
itwontbewe wrote:
first test
the option is still missing and my pixel 3 xl connection says vht20sgi

ill do a reset next


Sent BS an email...

I know he was massively re-writing code for the whole ht/vht and qam portion...not sure if he's done with that yet or not... it's possible he missed the bcm chips with qam 256 support...

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/Broadcom
ctrl+F 256-qam on that page shows 10 possible chipsets...though did not see if any are duplicates...

and your pixel will never connect at HT40 on 2.4ghz... this is a hard coded limit which is outlined in the wifi wiki's.


The BCM4709A0 is missing from that list!


Because that is a CPU, not a wireless chip...


Oops! Sorry, I read the wrong thing. Mine has a BCM4360 and it's on the list if that helps.
IONK
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Aug 2011
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 10:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: D-Link DIR-868L Rev.A1
File/Kernel: dir868a-webflash.bin / Linux 4.4.251 #1836 SMP Fri Jan 15 00:11:49 +07 2021 armv7l
Previous/Reset: DD-WRT v3.0-r45420 std (01/13/21) / no
Mode/Status: Repeater Bridge on 5GHz AC/N-Mixed (wl0 is purposely turned off) / working
Issues/Errors: none

_________________
▫ RSS feed for DD-WRT releases: https://politepol.com/fd/NfCoAP5bUJXU
easyddup - A simple upgrade/downgrade utility by yoyoma2
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum