advice on network

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
yellowdog22
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 May 2018
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2020 20:50    Post subject: advice on network Reply with quote
Hi there,
After a few posts I've come to realise I need a new router but I was thinking of splitting things up. I'm no expert so any suggestion would be greatly appreciated.
I need three types of connections, an normal connection using the ISP dns, the second a normal connection with a smart dns and the a third with a vpn.
I have a 1gbps fibre with ONT so my plan is to put a managed switch in front connected to which are three routers:
1: standard ISP supplied router
2: a new router (D7600) running DD-WRT which would be the main router and only wifi
3: an old D-link DIR 882 which would run dd-wrt again with a permanent vpn.
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 6356
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2020 21:28    Post subject: Re: advice on network Reply with quote
yellowdog22 wrote:
Hi there,
After a few posts I've come to realise I need a new router but I was thinking of splitting things up. I'm no expert so any suggestion would be greatly appreciated.
I need three types of connections, an normal connection using the ISP dns, the second a normal connection with a smart dns and the a third with a vpn.
I have a 1gbps fibre with ONT so my plan is to put a managed switch in front connected to which are three routers:
1: standard ISP supplied router
2: a new router (D7600) running DD-WRT which would be the main router and only wifi
3: an old D-link DIR 882 which would run dd-wrt again with a permanent vpn.


hmmmm...you can accommodate all those form above, "possibly" in one router...

as D7600 is a router I've never heard of, i dont think its DDWRT supported
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices

D-link DIR 882 is a Mediatek router at 880Mhz - do not expect a decent VPN performance at all

as you stated above, you plan to plug a switch and connect all those into the switch..
its presumed your ISP has given you 3 different IP's or stack of IP's ??

You can cut the struggle and get Netgear R7800 or R9000 and run on the same router, VPN with policy based routing https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686 and SmartDNS via jffs + alternate DNS on the same router or on DIR-882 if needed...
the thing is...its required, you to spend some time reading and understanding the matter:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/

than find an appropriate router and set it up....as you prefer...
you don't need to connect all those in switch and have 3 different kinds of mess... Razz

its not bad idea to share the reasoning of your intentions, it may help with further help...
as you want netflix, and hide your browsing or geolocation and ect.

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 55179 WAP
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 55179 Gateway/DoT,Forced DNS,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 55179 Gateway/DoT,Forced DNS,Ad-Block,Firewall,x4VLAN,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.15.x AP,DNS,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm-Atheros
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 55209 Gateway/DoT,AD-Block,Forced DNS,AP&Net Isolation,x3VLAN,Firewall,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 55179 Gateway/DoT,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Forced DNS,x2VLAN,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 --DD-WRT 55109 Gateway/SmartDNS/DoH,AD-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,x3VLAN,VPN
NOT USING 5Ghz ANYWHERE
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
yellowdog22
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 May 2018
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2020 22:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks for the reply...

Typo, I meant to write R7800!
I've noticed the VPN performance on the Dlink is a bit crap but i wasn't sure if that was down to the dlink.

Thanks for the links I'll have a read.

Some devices need to get as quickly as possible on the web like gaming pc's.
I'm in Italy but I need to access US and UK stuff so I need to jump though hoops to hide my location so some devices need to go through a smart dns like my tv so I can watch things like the iPlayer. I know I could just set the smart dns on the TV network settings but in the past that has been a bit unstable - with dns leaks for instance so I think it would be better if everything that needs to use a smart dns uses one network.
Some devices from time to time need to go through a vpn because of the particular uk service I'm trying to access such as Amazon Prime where the smart dns doesn't work.
I only have one ip address from my ISP, but it is static.
My network is a mix of wifi and ethernet, the stuff that needs to work well uses cables.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 6356
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2020 23:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
in that case R7800 can do a policy based VPN...
and Dlink 882, can do SmartDNS, i guess you talk about the geo service not the actual SmartDNS manager that is present on DDWRT...
So, if you can avoid ISP router and run R7800 instead, with the set up above, it will be less complicated, than you can plug the switch in it and have more ports...

on R7800 you can create an isolated VLAN where you will have what ever you want and run what ever you want...

as well you can plug D-link router in one of R7800 ports to run some extra stuff...

start with some reading, try some stuff, come back with some results and tell us, what you tired, what happens and what you want to achieve...it wont be easy, but it depends... Rolling Eyes we are here to help..
but reading is required Laughing

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 55179 WAP
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 55179 Gateway/DoT,Forced DNS,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 55179 Gateway/DoT,Forced DNS,Ad-Block,Firewall,x4VLAN,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.15.x AP,DNS,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm-Atheros
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 55209 Gateway/DoT,AD-Block,Forced DNS,AP&Net Isolation,x3VLAN,Firewall,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 55179 Gateway/DoT,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Forced DNS,x2VLAN,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 --DD-WRT 55109 Gateway/SmartDNS/DoH,AD-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,x3VLAN,VPN
NOT USING 5Ghz ANYWHERE
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum