TP-Link-Archer C7-V2 — 5Ghz troubles with firmware version

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
MickyNTM
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2020 18:28    Post subject: TP-Link-Archer C7-V2 — 5Ghz troubles with firmware version Reply with quote
I finally reverted back to r36527, and the 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz are working properly.

I had tried 44980, 40559, and a couple others before getting 5Ghz that would accept connections.

Just wanting to add my 2 cents, I was attempting to enable WPA3 also, which may have caused the issues, but even with WPA3 enabled 2.4Ghz was working. R36527 doesn’t have the WPA3 option, so maybe that was the problem with 5Ghz.

Hope this helps someone else.
Sponsor
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3160

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2020 18:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hardware reset and reconfigure from scratch; do not restore from a backup.

An alternative to hard reset is to Telnet as root then nvram erase && reboot.

Third method is Administration -> Factory Defaults from GUI to clear nvram.
MickyNTM
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2020 18:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
I used the reset to defaults each time I reflashed. I also never restored from a backup if my original post intimated such.

Occasionally on a couple firmware tries, it would stop allowing any connection, so I did the hardware reset which defaulted to dd-wrt ssid, and I reconfigured from scratch.

Even when that happened, the 5Ghz did not accept the pass phrase which was verified to be exactly the same, even with a friend using their second set of eyes.

Thanks for the suggestions.
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3160

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2020 19:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ah, in that case to avoid the new wireless drivers do not go past r447xx (44809+) builds for now.

Builds r44700 and r44715 should be fine.


Last edited by blkt on Tue Dec 15, 2020 19:15; edited 2 times in total
servicetech
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 344

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2020 19:10    Post subject: Re: TP-Link-Archer C7-V2 — 5Ghz troubles with firmware ver Reply with quote
MickyNTM wrote:
I finally reverted back to r36527, and the 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz are working properly.


Try known good build r41791, both 2.4G and 5G should work properly on that build. This build has WPA3 option. The builds older than r41xxx support WPA2 only. You need to use WPA2 and WPA3 in combination. A few android 10, iOS13+ and win10 devices are able to use WPA3 if equipped with a WPA3 supporting wifi, majority of common devices only support WPA2.It's known, that activated WPA3 will break connectivity to some WPA2 only devices due to PMF.


Last edited by servicetech on Sun Dec 20, 2020 14:19; edited 4 times in total
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1667
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2020 19:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Don't use WPA3 for your security, only use WPA2-Personal and CCMP-128 (AES).

95% of clients will not be able to take advantage of WPA3 so it's of no use right now.

For those other people who really know what they are doing security wise, go ahead and play/use to your heart's content; however, for nearly all users WPA2-Pers AES-128 is the only thing that should be checked.

If you're really worried about someone cracking your password, choose four words and randomly make a sentence substituting numbers for letters:

EXAMPLE: HackN07P455w0rd5

if you're still worried about your wifi being hacked...you have more important personal issues to resolve....

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]47449 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3160

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2020 19:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
That's amazing, I've got the same combination on my luggage!
B@R
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 609
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2020 19:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
My TP-Link C7 V2.0 has the same problem with 2 last versions. The connection 5 GHz is working some time and stopped working at all. No Internet, but I see my net. After a few days the 2.4GHz don't want working too. Restarting the router is solving the issue for some time. The settings are good and still worked for few years and after the reboot all works nice. But not for all time.
servicetech
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 344

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2020 20:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
B@R wrote:
My TP-Link C7 V2.0 has the same problem with 2 last versions.


You should downgrade to r44715 (lastest with usable wifi on Archer C7/A7 known to me) or a known good older build for your device. Choose build what runs/fits best.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1667
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2020 21:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
B@R wrote:
My TP-Link C7 V2.0 has the same problem with 2 last versions. The connection 5 GHz is working some time and stopped working at all. No Internet, but I see my net. After a few days the 2.4GHz don't want working too. Restarting the router is solving the issue for some time. The settings are good and still worked for few years and after the reboot all works nice. But not for all time.


45000 went wonky on my R9000 and required a hard power cycle on the router...so something was up...though 45000 is a half baked build while BS was trying to implement a bunch of changes...I'm now running the nightly 45023...

Stick to 44715 for the time being, unless that one, too, is wonky for you.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]47449 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
MickyNTM
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2020 17:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I’ll try 44715 as suggested and report back here.

Yes, I am always selecting WPA2 Personal and WPA3 when presented the WPA3 option.

I am a computer scientist by background and have been in the field for several decades. I haven’t gone as far as looking at the code directly, as I am very happy with the developments of the DD-WRT community, but could should the need arise.

I know only a few of my devices will take advantage of WPA3, however, would like to help push more vendors to support better security always.

Thanks for all the responses so far!!!
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1667
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2020 17:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
AFAIK, you can't mix WPA3 with WPA2, but I have never personally tried it to know for sure; and, I can't mess with the wifi right now to experiment on your behalf...

I would stick to WPA2 and move on to a working wifi...

I'll defer to another WPA3 guru, otherwise...

Best of luck to you!

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]47449 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
MickyNTM
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2020 23:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
I started the firmware update selecting to reset as well, and I expected to see the dd-wrt ssid, but it didn’t happen. The 2.4 and 5GHz settings stayed, but the web server at 192.168.1.1 was shut down on the router. I’ll do a hard reset later, but had an errand to run.

I’ll update as things progress.
MickyNTM
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2020 3:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, after powering off and on, it booted into 44715.

Both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz function at this time.

Both protocols are enabled, WPA2 Personal AES and WPA3 SAE.

If there is oddness I’ll disable WPA3, but it seems to be functioning at the moment.
MickyNTM
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2020 1:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
It appears mixing WPA3 SAE and WPA2 AES are possible on the TP-Link device I have, but at another location I was configuring a Buffalo WZR-1750DHP which does not even show the option of running them simultaneously. I purposefully used the same 44715 revision as I knew it was stable on the TP-Link device. It is in the TP-Link documentation, that their implementation allows both to run simultaneously.

I haven’t researched which other manufacturers or models provide that ability, but if there is one, there are probably more.

No problems seem to exist with either running 44715 at this time.

I upgraded the Buffalo router because it was pausing, and giving messages that various titles in different apps were unable to be played, sometimes several times after stopping and restarting. The Buffalo router is on a Suddenlink.net/Altice Network, so perhaps they are having some capacity issues during the pandemic.

If someone is having errors updating their Buffalo, this forum has the answer, you’ll need to download the recovery firmware, and then upgrade to the Betas, like I did to get to 44715, swallick’s post here is the link: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=282664

Hope this info is useful to someone else as well.
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum