XR500 just bricks how do i install?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
Snowyaura
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Dec 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2020 11:57    Post subject: XR500 just bricks how do i install? Reply with quote
I have restored xr500 several times as i cannot install dd-wrt on the xr500 at all. If anyone knows how to get it to install on xr500 any info would be great.
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 12795
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2020 12:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
As it resembles the R7800 take a look at the R7800 install instructions.

Link in my signature at the bottom of this post

Also read the forum guidelines which have very helpful pointers:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Snowyaura
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Dec 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2020 8:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
It just doesn't work, i followed the instructions, i don't know if netgear have blocked other firmware to install on it, but i have tried most things to get it to install. I have read other forum posts, and it seems recently, no one can get it to install on it.
foz111
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 704
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2020 12:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
May be bad blocks if the router is under warranty you may wish to return it for another. Openwrt handles bad blocks i am lead to believe where as DD-WRT does not and will fail when flashing.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1782
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2020 15:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
There are many reports in other threads about the XR500 having issues with flashing. The next issue is that <Kong> never got a test router from Netgear and I don't think BS ever got one either...so this means that BS cannot actually test a build on the XR500...

What has never been confirmed is if there are different hardware versions or stock flash files loaded initially which prevent installation of dd-wrt.

There are a handful of XR500 owners on here that have no issues with their hardware and dd-wrt...so it can be done.

We need to see if we can find a commonality among those users and compare against your hardware.

I assume you are attempting to TFTP the factory-to-dd-wrt.img file onto the XR500?

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]52396 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800] resting
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
Snowyaura
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Dec 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2020 13:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, i have used TFTP to try flash factory-to-dd-wrt.img file and i have tried to do it from the official firmware as well, basically tried everything. I wouldn't be surprised if it is bad blocks or something.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1782
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2020 16:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
If the router is still under warranty...try swapping it.
_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]52396 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800] resting
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7568
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2020 10:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
bs .img builds for ipq806x are known to be broken for years, they never worked for me once. while openwrt's and kong builds of ddwrt always worked fine. long before bad block detection was supposedly added, but it seems they are still broken today..
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ------> r55209 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r55219 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r50485 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r50485 std


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway.. | I love you Anthony.. never forget that.. my other 99% that ill never see again..

egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 12795
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2020 11:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not entirely true, users have reported that the .img file with build number: 41686 works for first flash of R7800

But I have not tested it myself

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 2856
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2020 11:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
actually works, I've been using the BS "factory-to-ddwrt.img" for a while now.

have just flashed v3.0-r44719 via tftp (R7800)
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 12795
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2020 13:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for reporting will make a note in the guide Smile
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000, E1200v1, WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
foz111
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 704
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2020 16:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
i concur

ho1Aetoo wrote:
actually works, I've been using the BS "factory-to-ddwrt.img" for a while now.

have just flashed v3.0-r44719 via tftp (R7800)
R0dent Of Unusual Size
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jul 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2020 8:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
I can confirm that I was able to install fresh on an xr-450. I followed the "Netgear R7800 Install Guide v23.pdf" attached to the r7800 install thread. I did a factory reset. Enabled telnet using the "http://192.168.1.1/debug.htm" url. Eventually got to the Netgear Firmware update UI. I used the r44467, netgear-xr450, factory-to-ddwrt.img off the main ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2020/ site. It eventually booted into ddwrt and I did a "nvram erase && reboot" from cli, and all was good from that point forward.

Maybe I got lucky, cause I bought used off ebay and got an older model/firmware that didn't have issues with the ddwrt img. I did save off the dmesg and nvram from the factory image. Looking through it the closest I can find to a version number is this from the nvram: 'StringTable_NonEnglish_Ver=V1.0.0.392'
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1782
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2020 15:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Great info, thanks. The hardware version is silk-screened onto the actual pcb. So you would need to be comfortable opening the case.
_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]52396 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800] resting
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
madcap57
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Apr 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 22:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
For those saying it works, are they installing on an actual R7800 or a current XR500 with Duma OS installed?

Same issue with my XR500, I can't get it to boot after loading dd-wrt it appears to be boot looping

Was looking at the openrouter website and it comes up explicitly in there that the R7800 is supported but the XR500 is not.

Ugh, i kept seeing the reports these were the same as the R7800 and the dd-wrt build was listed is why I ordered this one. At least tftp recovery is effortless.
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum