DD-WRT for TP-Link Archer C2 AC750

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
bobs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Jan 2016
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 0:44    Post subject: DD-WRT for TP-Link Archer C2 AC750 Reply with quote
Can DD-WRT be flashed onto this router?

TP-LINK AC750 Archer C2 4 Port Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router

Specs: http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/details/cat-9_Archer-C2.html#specifications
Sponsor
bobs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Jan 2016
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 17:30    Post subject: Re: DD-WRT for TP-Link Archer C2 AC750 Reply with quote
bobs wrote:
Can DD-WRT be flashed onto this router?

TP-LINK AC750 Archer C2 4 Port Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router

Specs: http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/details/cat-9_Archer-C2.html#specifications


Can this be supported? Will it be supported?

Curious because I found a great price (half price) on this model.
freeyoni
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 17:27    Post subject: Archer c2 Reply with quote
Hi,

Have you been sucessfull with the archer c2??
I got one and would like to upgrade it.

Thank you.
usermanager
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Nov 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 14:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

Regarding the TP-LINK Archer C2 AC750 I suggest to add support for it.

Why? Because other "similar" (identical SoC) have already support in DD-WRT from some time; and the rest of the hardware is well known.

- See the openwrt wiki page for a full description: http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/ac750?s[]=archer&s[]=c2

- Standard hardware: 64GB RAM, 8GB FLASH, SoC Mediatek (Ralink platform, 24KEc MIPS), Dual Band, 5xGigabit ports, 1xUSB 2.0.
Check it here: http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/hwdata/tp-link/tp-link_archer_c2_ac750

- Similar devices with DD-WRT support (check https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php?title=Supported_Devices):
Same CPU MT7620A + 2.4GHz Radio + 5GHz Radio: D-Link DIR-810L(AC750), Buffalo WHR-300/600, Linksys E1700.

The rest of code (switch, flash chip, bootloader Uboot, etc.) are as regular, and can be consulted from the OpenWRT project ( http://github.com/plwm/openwrt-archer-c2 ).

And why I prefer DD-WRT over OpenWRT? Beacuse I love it!
So, I hope soon we can view support for this device.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2199
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 16:59    Post subject: Header Reply with quote
If someone has USB-TTL Serial 3.3V device to recover the router. I can modify the header of a DIR-810L A1 and B1 factor-to-ddwrt files to match those for the TP-Link Archer C2. It is just a matter of being able to debrick your device.
_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
usermanager
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Nov 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 13:19    Post subject: Re: Header Reply with quote
ian5142 wrote:
If someone has USB-TTL Serial 3.3V device to recover the router. I can modify the header of a DIR-810L A1 and B1 factor-to-ddwrt files to match those for the TP-Link Archer C2. It is just a matter of being able to debrick your device.

Hi,

I have one spare Archer C2, and I can recover my "old" USB-TTL cable (it's old because is based on a mobile GSM phone).

If you prepare the files and explain how to flash them, then I can try. Very Happy

Regards.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2199
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:23    Post subject: Serial Reply with quote
Make sure it is 3.3V serial.
Start with this: https://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/archer-c5-c7-wdr7500#recovery_using_serial_connection

Don't use the VCC line at all.

Serial settings should be:
115200 Baud
8 Data bits
1 Stop bit
Parity None
Flow Control None

I would hook up the serial connection and turn on the router. Type tpl to stop the bootup process, you will have to type it several times until the boot up stops.

I can find a serial command that works after that point but the main thing is reading what the boot up shows without interrupting it. It will say TFTP Reading:::, a couple of lines before it should give a file name.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
usermanager
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Nov 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 22:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi ian5142,

I opened one Archer C2 and connected to it using the SERIAL connection (3.3v).

I can stop the bootloader (U-boot) with the typical "tpl". Then I try to execute these paremeters:

Code:
tftpboot 0x80800000 test.bin
bootm


Where the "test.bin" is this firmware:
http://github.com/plwm/openwrt-archer-c2
http://github.com/plwm/openwrt-archer-c2/releases/download/c2-v1/openwrt-archer-c2.zip

And it's loaded from my TFTP server with the address 192.168.0.100 (the one assigned to the server in the NVRAM with the default stock firmware; the router address is 192.168.0.1).

However, this kernel can't full boot (it crashed) because the MTD partitions contains the stock firmware, and not the OpenWRT version.

So, please can you provide some DD-WRT firmware for testing?
Thank you!
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2199
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 22:56    Post subject: DD-WRT Support Reply with quote
This router, as well as the many other devices that use that same chipset may never be supported by DD-WRT. https://wikidevi.com/wiki/MediaTek_MT7620#Devices_using_MT7620A_.2F_MT7620N

The devs, brainslayer and kong, really only support:
Broadcom
ARM based routers (newer Broadcom, Atheros, or Marvell)
Marvell - not very well supported at times
Atheros

DD-WRT is also built to run on x86 as well.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
usermanager
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Nov 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 9:11    Post subject: Re: DD-WRT Support Reply with quote
ian5142 wrote:
This router, as well as the many other devices that use that same chipset may never be supported by DD-WRT. https://wikidevi.com/wiki/MediaTek_MT7620#Devices_using_MT7620A_.2F_MT7620N


Why? The list provided above are of current DD-WRT supported devices, and it includes a very close hardware like the D-Link DIR-810L. And this device support dates from 2015!

ian5142 wrote:

The devs, brainslayer and kong, really only support:
Broadcom
ARM based routers (newer Broadcom, Atheros, or Marvell)
Marvell - not very well supported at times
Atheros

DD-WRT is also built to run on x86 as well.

I know. However, other platforms are supported too.
And I really like to execute DD-WRT in the Archer C2.

ian5142 wrote:

I can modify the header of a DIR-810L A1 and B1 factor-to-ddwrt files to match those for the TP-Link Archer C2.

Please, let me what you need for generate a testing firmware for the Archer C2.

Regards!
usermanager
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Nov 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi ian5142,

Regarding the "TFTP recovery" using the RESET button when power-on, the result in the serial console is:

Code:
TFTP from server 192.168.0.66; our IP addresr is 192.168.0.1
Filename 'ArcherC2V1_tp_recovery.bin'.


And more info when login (admin/1234) over the serial console:

Code:

starting pid 252, tty '': '/sbin/getty -L ttyS1 115200 vt100'

Archer C2 login: admin
Password: 1234
Jan  1 00:00:52 login[252]: root login on 'ttyS1'
~ # cat /proc/mtd
dev:    size   erasesize  name
mtd0: 00020000 00010000 "boot"
mtd1: 00140000 00010000 "kernel"
mtd2: 00660000 00010000 "rootfs"
mtd3: 00010000 00010000 "config"
mtd4: 00010000 00010000 "romfile"
mtd5: 00010000 00010000 "rom"
mtd6: 00010000 00010000 "radio"
~ # cat /proc/cpuinfo
system type             : Ralink SoC
processor               : 0
cpu model               : MIPS 24Kc V5.0
BogoMIPS                : 386.04
wait instruction        : yes
microsecond timers      : yes
tlb_entries             : 32
extra interrupt vector  : yes
hardware watchpoint     : yes, count: 4, address/irw mask: [0x0000, 0x0ff8, 0x0ee8, 0x0df8]
ASEs implemented        : mips16 dsp
shadow register sets    : 1
core                    : 0
VCED exceptions         : not available
VCEI exceptions         : not available

~ # cat /proc/cmdline
console=ttyS1,115200 root=/dev/mtdblock2 rootfstype=squashfs init=/sbin/init
~ # mount
rootfs on / type rootfs (rw)
/dev/root on / type squashfs (ro,relatime)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,relatime)
ramfs on /var type ramfs (rw,relatime)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,relatime,mode=600,ptmxmode=000)
/sys on /sys type sysfs (rw,relatime)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,relatime)




I hope this helps!
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2199
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 22:10    Post subject: Test File Reply with quote
I can try and modify the header of one of the supported models to match the factory (TP-Link) header. What version is your Archer C2? What country did you buy it in?
_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
usermanager
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Nov 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:58    Post subject: Re: Test File Reply with quote
ian5142 wrote:
I can try and modify the header of one of the supported models to match the factory (TP-Link) header. What version is your Archer C2? What country did you buy it in?

Acher C2 v1(EU), so EUROPE

Thank you for your help!
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2199
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 13:18    Post subject: Modified header Reply with quote
I looked into modifying the header to try and make it work on the Archer C2. I can't find the header size of the other routers, in TP-Link the header is easy to identify, it isn't in other manufacturers.
_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
hebeda
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Sep 2006
Posts: 416
Location: Leipzig, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 16:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
brainslyer has a archer C2 device (i donated it last year in december) .... it will happen someday probably ...

but there are also many other devices in the queue and this device is not top priority ...
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum