Ipv6 not routed - Free French ISP Config [Solved]

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6867
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2020 23:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Have you entered a static route at Pfsense. It needs to lnow where to send packets destined for the lan behind dd-wrt.
Sponsor
Wildlion
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 May 2016
Posts: 1414

PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2020 1:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
No, why would I have to do that, DD-WRT should know what is on its LAN.

But let me go ahead and try

Edit::
Okay after trying now DD-WRT does not pick up anything (delegated prefix or ipv6 address), because we get into circular logic.

If I setup a static route that assumes that I already know the DD-WRT router ip address, correct? But on boot of the DD-WRT router ipv6 it uses slaac, so it is not even registering with the dhcp6 server in PFsense. So when DD-WRT creates its own ipv6 address (from delegated or otherwise) how would one already know this route to set into static

I am pretty sure that ISPs are not setting static routes. I figure that as the prefix delegation is given out the recieving router should respond to the knowledge of having that route. DD-WRT does know about the LAN addresses.

Is there somethign I am misunderstanding?


Edit 2::

With DD-WRT and setting the IPv6 mode to DHCPv6 with Prefix delegation, it does not actually do DHCPv6, it still configures via slaac (which is incorrect),
Code:

send ia-na 0; #dhcpv6 request

has to be added and it is not in the dhcp6c.conf file.
As well
Code:

send ia-pd 0; #prefix delegation


Edit::
Fix notes (ia-pd is prefix delegation request, slaac happens when send ia-na is not present)


Last edited by Wildlion on Sun Nov 01, 2020 15:37; edited 1 time in total
Wildlion
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 May 2016
Posts: 1414

PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2020 4:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Posting this as new instead of edit to help show the difference.
I think I have it working but would like someone else to try. I will try this setup again (to see if timeouts cause problems)

On Setup->IPV6

enabled IPv6

set IPv6 Type to be: DHCPv6 with Prefix Delegation

Enabled "Avoid DHCP6 client release on reconnect"
Enabled "Dhcp6c custom" with:
Code:

interface eth0 {
 send ia-na 0; #dhcp6
 send ia-pd 0; #request prefix delegation
 send rapid-commit;
 request domain-name-servers;
 script "/sbin/dhcp6c-state";
};
id-assoc pd 0 {
 prefix-interface br0 {
  sla-id 0;
  sla-len 0;
 };
};
id-assoc na 0 { };

Yes I know having both dhcp6 and slaac is overkill but will slowly eliminate to see (and wanted both options)

enabled "Dhcp6s"
enabled "Sequential IPs" -- probably not needed but made it easier to follow known ips

enabled "Radvd"

Admin->Commands:
Firewall (probably not needed but added since I did not like limit):

Code:

ip6tables -I FORWARD 3 -p ipv6-icmp -j ACCEPT


This allowed my Linux VM to ping6 -> DD-WRT VM -> PFsense VM
and
PFsense VM to ping6 -> DD-WRT VM -> Linux VM


The Only other thing that I think might have made a difference is at one point I got annoyed and on DD-WRT I did:

Code:

ping6 -c 5 ff02::1%eth0
ping6 -c 5 ff02::1%br0


The reason that I think this might make a difference is because it is having DD-WRT get responses from both WAN and LAN sides for its neighborhood

if someone could try this (or something similar) would be greatly appreciated to see if this works. And I think solves OPs original question.


Edit:: correct prefix delegation note


Last edited by Wildlion on Sun Nov 01, 2020 15:38; edited 1 time in total
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6867
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2020 8:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
You are missing the prefix length.

Code:
id-assoc pd 0 {
     prefix ::/64 infinity;
     prefix-interface br0 {
          sla-id 0;
         sla-len 0;
     };



"send ia-pd 0; #slaac" does not have anything to do with slaac. It requests a delegated prefix to use on the lan.

If you don't get an address on br0, run "dhcp6c eth0" manually.
xes_
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2020 13:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Finally fixed my issue and don't use the brouting anymore

I put my entire configuration in the first post of this thread
dwardo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Feb 2013
Posts: 126
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2020 20:30    Post subject: Re: Ipv6 not routed - Free French ISP Config [Solved] Reply with quote
xes_ wrote:
Hi,

A lot of hours after working on this issue, I will ask you some help Smile

I have a French operator named Free in native IPV6 (with ipv4)
I have a Netgear 7800 on DD-WRT v3.0-r44628 std (10/22/20)

Config in web interface:
* Connexion WAN Type: Automatic DHCP
* Ipv6:
- Ipv6 type = Native Ipv6 From ISP
- Prefix Length = 64
- Static DNS 1: 2a01:e0c:1:1599::22
- Static DNS 1: 2a01:e0c:1:1599::23
- Assigned / Routed Prefix = 2a01:e0a:22a:xxxx::


========== [Solved] ==========

So, My ISP Box is plugged on the DD-WRT WAN Port

1/ First I configured my ISP Box.
- I don't enabled dhcpv6
- I don't enabled Ipv6 firewall
- I set the link-local address of the DD-WRT WAN Interface (eth0) as Next Hop of 2 /64 prefix of my ISP
> 2a01:e0a:22a:xxx0::/64 => fe80::b27f:b9ff:yyyy:1fd7 => Optional - For router itself
> 2a01:e0a:22a:xxx1::/64 => fe80::b27f:b9ff:yyyy:1fd7 => For LAN behind the router

[/code]

- Admin / shell / firewall: IP & Routes

# Add default route to indicate how to access LAN network
ip -6 route add 2a01:e0a:22a:xxx1::/64 dev br0

# Optional but allows to avoid waiting on connection. It seems that the box take a lot of time (~ 5-10 minutes) to emit Router Advertisement
# Add default route to the ISP box
ip -6 route add via fe80::8e97:eaff:wwww:a52a dev eth0
# Add public address in the WAN interface
ip -6 address add 2a01:e0a:22a:xxx0:b27f:b9ff:yyyy:1fd7/64 dev eth0


So To sum up:
* Freebox lan was 2a01:e0a:22a:xxx0::/64
* Netgear 7800 lan was 2a01:e0a:22a:xxx1::/64

My question is : What did you put in ipv6 setup (on DDWRT) for "Assigned / Routed Prefix" ?
You stated in your post it was : 2a01:e0a:22a:xxxx::
but which one was it ?
* 2a01:e0a:22a:xxx0::
or
* 2a01:e0a:22a:xxx1::
?

Merci ! Je galère assez similairement mais avec RED... https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1224234#1224234
fdumont
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2021 10:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Same provider (free/proxad), and similar problem ... Could you help me via private message ?

In your solution I don't understand this routing rule :

ip6tables -I FORWARD -m state --state NEW -i eth0 -o br0 -m multiport -p tcp -j ACCEPT \
-d 2a01:e0a:22a:xxx1:211:32ff:vvvv:5b --dport 443,8181

Who is "2a01:e0a:22a:xxx1:211:32ff:vvvv:5b" ?

what is your dnsmasq config ?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 14221
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2021 15:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Pick a thread, you do not need to post all over the forum about your issue. Please refer to the forum rules and guidelines and stop being impatient; leave discussion out in the open forum so others can reference it.

REF:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=329283

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=329280

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
DD-WRT Releases 2023 (PolitePol)
DD-WRT Releases 2023 (RSS Everything)

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum