R9000 static leases do not work

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
kingkronk
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Nov 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2020 10:47    Post subject: R9000 static leases do not work Reply with quote
Hello

I just acquired a Netgear R9000. I loaded the latest build 10/13/2020. DHCP works fine however when I set a static lease out side the scope the client does not get the static lease and is unable to connect. I have also tried an erase nvram && reboot and setup the router again and still does not work.

Any ideas or has anyone else experienced this?

Thanks
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4175
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2020 11:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
DHCP/static IP works ok, but if you set an IP outside of the allowed DHCP scope, its normal to not assign an IP of those outside DHCP scope IP's

for example if you set your DHCP scope 192.168.1. 0-128 ,if you try anything else, it will fail...
as that is the allowed range DHCP will serve...static or not...

you can have a multiple DHCP servers,
but if they are on the same bridge (interface), it will be a mess i guess...
you can try it, on your own...
basic setup>networking>DHCP down the bottom add new DHCP...
as well DNSmasq will need to know witch interface to serve too, so you ll need in advanced dnsmasq rules

interface=br0 replace br0 with your interface, for example

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 45849 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 45849 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 45849 BS AP,NAT,AD/Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 45859 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 45859 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913


Last edited by Alozaros on Fri Oct 16, 2020 15:16; edited 2 times in total
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8071
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2020 12:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Static leases must be within the specified DHCP range. That's applicable no matter what DHCP server you are using. Static leases are not static IPs, sounds like you are confusing the two. Networking 101.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
kingkronk
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Nov 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2020 13:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry my apologies I meant static IPs. Under the services tab
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4175
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2020 15:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
kingkronk wrote:
Sorry my apologies I meant static IPs. Under the services tab


are those static IP on the different bridge or interface with their own dhcpd ?

for example, on my router i have 2 different subnets with different IP range, one for WiFi, one for my x4 LAN ports, they are on different bridges with their own dhcp daemons, and i set static IP's in services and they work ok in my case....
all the rest is fail, if they are not configured like that... i repeat my previous post...Razz you cannot apply static IP, that do not belong to specific IP range, previously specified in DHCP IP range settings

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 45849 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 45849 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 45849 BS AP,NAT,AD/Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 45859 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 45859 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 505

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2020 15:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
is called static DHCP (lease)
the clients are assigned static addresses via DHCP (in range)

real static addresses are configured directly on the client

but KP has already written it
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum