VAP on WRT3200ACM setup as WAP doesn't work, VLAN does

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Author Message
plawer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2019
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2020 23:45    Post subject: VAP on WRT3200ACM setup as WAP doesn't work, VLAN does Reply with quote
I have two WRT3200ACM routers. One as the main router and one as WAP. Both running DD-WRT v3.0-r42602. I have set up a WAP according to the "Normal Version (Same Subnet)" section from this description:

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_access_point

Everything works fine for my main network. Clients connecting to the WAP get a DCHP address as expected from the main router.

I also have three additional subnets; VPN, Guest, and AV. These are set up as VLAN and VAP on the main router, and that works fine as well.

On the WAP, I have configured the VLAN's and VAP's similar to on the main router, except no DHCP and using port 4 with tagged VLAN. For the ease of testing at the moment, ports 0-3 correspond to the subnet and WAN on port 4.

ISSUE: Connecting a cable to each of the four ports gives me a DHCP address from the main router on the correct VLAN. Any client connecting to the three VAP's on the WAP does not receive a DHCP address. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to solve this?

Screenshots with black background: router
Screenshots with white background: WAP

Submitting screenshots of Commands, Network, and Wireless in the next comments.

Subnets:
AV
br3
vlan5
x.x.0.0
athX.3

Guest
br2
vlan4
x.x.1.0
athX.2

Main
br0
vlan1
x.x.2.0
athX

VPN
br1
vlan3
x.x.3.0
athX.1

_________________
Linksys: 2x WRT3200ACM, WRT1900AC, E1200
Netgear: 2x WNDR4500v2, 4x Netgear WNDR4300, WNDR3800, WNDR3700v4
Buffalo: WZR-HP-G300NH2
Gl.inet: GL-AR150


Last edited by plawer on Mon Sep 21, 2020 23:50; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
plawer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2019
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2020 23:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Network
_________________
Linksys: 2x WRT3200ACM, WRT1900AC, E1200
Netgear: 2x WNDR4500v2, 4x Netgear WNDR4300, WNDR3800, WNDR3700v4
Buffalo: WZR-HP-G300NH2
Gl.inet: GL-AR150
plawer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2019
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2020 23:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wireless
_________________
Linksys: 2x WRT3200ACM, WRT1900AC, E1200
Netgear: 2x WNDR4500v2, 4x Netgear WNDR4300, WNDR3800, WNDR3700v4
Buffalo: WZR-HP-G300NH2
Gl.inet: GL-AR150
plawer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2019
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2020 2:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
*bump*
_________________
Linksys: 2x WRT3200ACM, WRT1900AC, E1200
Netgear: 2x WNDR4500v2, 4x Netgear WNDR4300, WNDR3800, WNDR3700v4
Buffalo: WZR-HP-G300NH2
Gl.inet: GL-AR150
plawer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2019
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 19:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have updated my IP addresses on the WAP to 254 so that it matches the actual device IP address. That has not changed anything.

I am still open to suggestions as to why the VAPs on the WAP are not connecting to the bridges and the rest of the network. As said, the cabled connections work correctly with the VLANs from the WAP.

_________________
Linksys: 2x WRT3200ACM, WRT1900AC, E1200
Netgear: 2x WNDR4500v2, 4x Netgear WNDR4300, WNDR3800, WNDR3700v4
Buffalo: WZR-HP-G300NH2
Gl.inet: GL-AR150
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum