WDS setup with ASUS RT-N16 and Netgear R6300v2?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
okram
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 14:59    Post subject: WDS setup with ASUS RT-N16 and Netgear R6300v2? Reply with quote
I have an upstairs floor where the Netgear main router running 37305 does not provide a strong enough signal. So I wanted to repurpose the Asus RT-N16 to extend the range of WiFi coverage. After overcoming the hurdles of getting a recent (40559) beta onto the RT-N16 and setting the routers up according to the instructions found here on dd-wrt.com I have the following:

On the RT-N16 in Status -> Wireless the R6300v2 appears in the WDS Nodes and signal strength goes to 100%, but on the R6300v2 signal strength in the WDS Nodes section for the RT-N16 remains at 0%.

Has anyone paired these two routers using WDS?
Should this be possible in principle considering their chip sets?
If WDS is not an option, what would be recommended more highly: getting a ~$100 powerline extender or a repeater bridge setup between the RT-N16 and the R6300v2?

Thanks in advance!
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6363
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 16:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
40599 is an old and crappy build.

See the forum guidelines, link in my signature at the bottom, where to download and lots of other useful information.

WDS only works between routers with the same chipsets and probably also not on Broadcom so in effect only between Atheros chipsets as far as I know.

You can use repeater of repeater bridge but better use a cable or power line adapters

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2591
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 22:46    Post subject: Re: WDS setup with ASUS RT-N16 and Netgear R6300v2? Reply with quote
okram wrote:
On the RT-N16 in Status -> Wireless the R6300v2 appears in the WDS Nodes and signal strength goes to 100%, but on the R6300v2 signal strength in the WDS Nodes section for the RT-N16 remains at 0%.

Has anyone paired these two routers using WDS?
Should this be possible in principle considering their chip sets?
BCM ARM (dhd driver) devices may not work with WDS esp from the past few years, and you'll have even less luck with MIPS <-> ARM. As you've found Razz

From the build threads:
• WDS does not work on Broadcom ARM devices (only MIPS<->MIPS) and bridge modes on k4.4 devices may sometimes work

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.3|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44528: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
RageX
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2020
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 11:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
If WDS does not work I'd recommend the following, in order of preference:

1. Run a LAN cable and do a straight up Access Point.

2. Buy one of those dedicated wifi range extenders, the TP-Link RE200 should be going for $20-$30.

3. I hate powerline adapters, crappy and unstable speeds lol.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum