QOS working across WDS link

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5336
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 21:30    Post subject: QOS working across WDS link Reply with quote
Wondering if anyone knows how to get QOS working across WDS link?
Distance 'bout 500 m (using ACK Timing @1350)
Link is good and can maintain up/dwn 30+ Mbps -- usually 35 ~ 40.
These are just to keep two LAN (same subnet) segments together... no other wireless attached to them --
--- but APs and many clients on each side. Been up long time.
Problem comes up when moving large files or doing backup across link.
Seems to interfere with some video streaming Sad

Using two 160NL w/build 29739
Just started to tinker with QOS with this and nothing works.
Maybe another build good for WDS & QOS?
Set on LAN&WLAN
tried different Packet Scheduler & Queueing Discipline
tried using interface priority for ath0 / ath0.sta1/ ath0.wds0
some of these actually work for about 2 minutes then revert to full throughput

mostly tried with the WDS-AP but tried some with the Station - same results

any idea on a good build that might work?
Sponsor
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7373
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 21:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
try netmask using a subnet range that covers the same range the wds does
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ----> DD-WRT v3.0-r44586 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44586 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44586 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44586 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44583 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2154
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 22:19    Post subject: WDS and LAN Reply with quote
I use a lot of routers connected with WDS but my QoS is configured on the WAN side, not LAN and WLAN. I understand what you are trying to do though.
_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5336
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 23:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
try netmask using a subnet range that covers the same range the wds does
damn that works! --- so that's why they pay you the big bucks Smile

Can't seem to target just the WDS link and make work but ---

Set netmask priority to one IP which is to backup webserver and other partitions on it I
use for BU of other files worked like a charm to limit it.........
But to really do what I wanted I set netmask priority on the WDS-AP that covers full IP range of my subnet set on Express.
Now at the other side streaming Netfix on one machine + streaming movie across from local DLNA on other machine + downloading 1.3GB file from across the way + uploading 1.2 GB file to SAMBA from droidTurbo phone.
It's all smooth without a blip and I'm on dd-wrt Smile --- the files up/down are slow but they ain't hogging it all..

Thanks ---
ccbrianf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jun 2015
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 20:51    Post subject: Detailed WDS QOS settings Reply with quote
Sorry to bump an old thread here but I'd like some clarification to this solution please.

So on the WDS-AP (which I presume is also your internet gateway) you set:
Port: LAN and WAN
and then you added a Netmask Priority rule for your LAN DHCP and static IP address space with Priority set to Express? (BTW, does anyone know what Manual means?)
What did you set for WAN Max Up/Down and LAN Max?
Based on that response, what would you do if there were multiple WDS-Stations each with different throughput capabilities or on different radios?
Am I correct that you did nothing QOS wise on the stations?

Thanks!
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5336
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 21:18    Post subject: Re: Detailed WDS QOS settings Reply with quote
ccbrianf wrote:
So on the WDS-AP (which I presume is also your internet gateway) you set:
Port: LAN and WAN

NO both WRT160NL units (WDS link) are just on my main subnet and nothing at all to do with main gateway other than WDS AP is wired to it.
In fact, they are still in use today running very old DD-WRT builds but I done away with any QOS on them long time ago.
The WDS link gives internet to my folks place, however I NO longer do any large transfers across WDS like I did back in the day.
Works perfectly fine like it is for regular internet stuff and streaming any type movies.
Their new samsung TV has a gazillion of them TV plus channels that goes over internet.... Dad likes to poke around thru them.
AND that is also why their TV is on a wireless isolated guest net WAP which is wired to the far 1600NL WDS Sta.

Maybe someone esle can help you doing QOS Cool
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum