About Automatic Configuration - DHCP

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
zxc_tw
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jul 2019
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 13:55    Post subject: About Automatic Configuration - DHCP Reply with quote
When my N12D uses "Automatic Configuration-DHCP" to connect to Wan. My Device can use Wi-Fi connect to the router, but no internet. I need to connect a PC to the Lan port of the router, so that my device can successfully connect to the Internet.

What settings do I need to change to successfully use "Automatic Configuration-DHCP" to access the Internet?

(N12D DD-WRT Version:v42681)
(Wan IP obtained using DHCP:192.168.1.106)
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7452
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 14:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Change router lan IP on basic settings page under network to 192.168.2.1. The default IP is 192.168.1.1, which conflicts with the WAN IP address.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
zxc_tw
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jul 2019
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 6:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Change router lan IP on basic settings page under network to 192.168.2.1. The default IP is 192.168.1.1, which conflicts with the WAN IP address.


My router lan IP is set to 192.168.3.1.
But the Gateway of my router is set to 192.168.1.1. Do I need to change?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7452
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 12:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
You normally do not need to set the gateway IP address, unless your router is in switch or wired AP mode (router, not gateway).

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
zxc_tw
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jul 2019
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 13:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
You normally do not need to set the gateway IP address, unless your router is in switch or wired AP mode (router, not gateway).

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers


Ok, I got it. So...My question is what settings need to be changed?
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum