5 GHz Netgear R7000P

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
itwontbewe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Sep 2020
Posts: 66
Location: Northeastern US

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 14:13    Post subject: 5 GHz Netgear R7000P Reply with quote
Netgear R7000P DD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std (09/24/20)
Kernel Version Linux 4.4.236 #1140 SMP Thu Sep 24 11:11:02 +04 2020 armv7l
CPU Model Broadcom BCM4708

just a psa. issue not unique to this build. it's been like this for months. i follow the suggested steps for wireless. i have no issues after a gui or pin reset.

the command is frequently suggested

for Netgear R7000P users that only have 1 80 width channel per extension you can recover the other channels by flashing a kong build. do an nvram erase on the kong build. then flash back to bs builds. the only link i know of is this web archive of build 39960M https://web.archive.org/web/20190204145633/http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/

***
changed thread title

and this is some weird work around that leaves remnants of the kong build to get the channels

conversation was mainly in this thread after bs stopped by
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=326745&start=0

this thread could be deleted if you like


Last edited by itwontbewe on Sun Oct 04, 2020 13:22; edited 4 times in total
Sponsor
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1442
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 14:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Please post a picture/s of the issue in the gui that is being encountered after performing an NVRAM ERASE && REBOOT which shows what the gui looks like post reset. You may need to include multiple pictures at each step of the selection process for the wifi channels.

Thanks in advance!

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44901 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
itwontbewe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Sep 2020
Posts: 66
Location: Northeastern US

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 14:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
I rebroke it yesterday during the conversation. i had never heard of running the command in the gui. so wanted to ensure that gave the same result. It did.

I just fixed it.

I'm not going through that again right now.

The steps are clear

I can follow directions for every other setup

I follow them just fine after running the command

It was a psa
foz111
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 368
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 14:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have seen channels disappear on R8000 straight after it was configured and all working fine a reboot removed the selected channels and it had reverted back to auto and then only 1 channel in drop down, but this was fixed by BS some time ago in the following builds.
Maybe do a screen capture video upload to youtube or any host and drop it in to a ticket for BS to look at.
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ or post link in forum someone may be able to shed some light on your issue
itwontbewe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Sep 2020
Posts: 66
Location: Northeastern US

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 15:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
is there any diagnostic command i could run before and after to see what changes?
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1442
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 16:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
itwontbewe wrote:
It was a psa


The goal and purpose of these forums and project are not to have a shit load of PSA's... the goal is to fix a bug when one is found....

being a prick and not wanting to help when you find a bug is not productive... Not having the skills and asking for help is being productive and should be welcomed with open arms and no crap from anyone...this is what I am trying to promote...

just putting it out there as a PSA is not being a steward to the free firmware you use....

It takes time and effort to contribute to this project, but it's what keeps it alive and going for all of us to enjoy....

This was a step in the right direction:
itwontbewe wrote:
is there any diagnostic command i could run before and after to see what changes?


The decision is yours to make on how to move forward. I hope you do take the time to actively participate and contribute- Yes that means more effort and work...not because I want to be a prick, but I'm not independently wealthy enough, nor have enough time, to test out every device and find every bug...

You're not really helping much in saying it's broken and fix it.... show pictures, examples, logs, etc of your issue and then we are more empowered to take action.

it's up to you if you want to be a steward or just another user... either way I don't care, but don't expect much help from the people who try and contribute positively.

as far as commands, I am no linux ssh/telnet guru and have to find my list tonight that might help.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44901 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
itwontbewe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Sep 2020
Posts: 66
Location: Northeastern US

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 17:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
I said i wasn't willing right now

And then the post above yours asked how I could better help


edit by "brainslayer"

i think your words are going too far. i'm not interested in any political discussion here nor in any offensiv language
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2613
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2020 13:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
itwontbewe wrote:
is there any diagnostic command i could run before and after to see what changes?
Very simple, run `nvram show|sort` before and after, compare (manually or via e.g. vlookup) in a spreadsheet. Any reset-related issue should start with this (if possible). Cool

Btw...
itwontbewe wrote:
I rebroke it yesterday during the conversation. i had never heard of running the command in the gui.
Not that there's any issue with it, but that's not what he suggested. It was to post pics of the GUI, before and after the reset [as you've now posted here].

The nvram diff would be more interesting regardless. And testing a latest build. Smile

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.4|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44758: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
blaser
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 508

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2020 16:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Happened to me too on R8500, the only way I could fix it was to revert back to Netgear firmware and upgrade to DD-WRT
_________________
Dlink 890L
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum