R7800 PIA VPN limited to a specific VLAN

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
abscondo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Oct 2020
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2020 23:10    Post subject: R7800 PIA VPN limited to a specific VLAN Reply with quote
Build: v3.0-r44467
Router: R7800

I've found VPN guides/threads here and at PIA as well as youtube videos explaining general PIA/OpenVPN setup. I know I've seen a guide related to OpenVPN for a specific VLAN in the past, but I can't for the life of me find a guide or relevant thread.

The VLAN/ports config shouldn't be an issue, but I can't figure out how to differentiate internet breakout/routing. (Currently haven't attempted to set it up as I have services that won't work on a VPN. Can't initiate setup before I see a viable way forward.) I would truly appreciate any hints regarding how to proceed.
Sponsor
eibgrad
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 8351

PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2020 23:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Assuming you don't assign the new VLAN to an existing bridge, it must have its own IP network. So if you want it alone routed over the VPN, only specify its IP network in PBR (policy based routing).
_________________
DD-WRT: DNS Leak Detection w/ VPNs (updated 6/5/19)
ddwrt-ovpn-split-basic.sh (UPDATED!)
ddwrt-ovpn-split-advanced.sh (UPDATED!)
ddwrt-blacklist-domains.sh (UPDATED!)
ddwrt-ovpn-client-backup.sh
ddwrt-mount-usb-drives.sh
ddwrt-ovpn-remote-access.sh
ddwrt-pptp-policy-based-routing.sh
abscondo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Oct 2020
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2020 3:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
eibgrad wrote:
Assuming you don't assign the new VLAN to an existing bridge, it must have its own IP network. So if you want it alone routed over the VPN, only specify its IP network in PBR (policy based routing).


Thank you, PBR what was what I for some reason couldn't find. Used the CIDR from relevant VAP interface in PBR and changed the kill switch to match my scenario. (First failed as two guides didn't mention NAT status. Had to enable it as I found in a post here to get it working.)
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum