[Solved] Strange 5g to 2.4g transition of clients

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1365
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 16:25    Post subject: [Solved] Strange 5g to 2.4g transition of clients Reply with quote
For those of you privy to be running nightly builds from BS, I've been noticing most of all my clients reverting back to 2.4ghz wifi since builds >44191 8/14/20. They will initially connect to 5ghz just fine, but will fall back to 2.4ghz... I'm using the same SSID name between radio's. 5ghz beacon is set to 101 and 2.4 is 191...so 5ghz should be seen first-and clients do connect properly...but at some point fall back to 2.4ghz (hours, not days)

Has anyone else noticed this pattern/behavior?

I was running up to 44294 a few minutes ago when I noticed all clients using 2.4ghz signals on across main wifi and 2VAP's...

I am trying to figure out if a recent secondary VAP is causing the issue or if the recent "commit of driver changelogs" is the responsible culprit; seems like the latter to me, but I need someone else to chime in.

This is on my R9000...

So R9000 users and R7800 users please comment.
Maybe Mrjcd too with his EA8500.

Thanks in advance guys!

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44565 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)


Last edited by msoengineer on Thu Oct 22, 2020 17:38; edited 4 times in total
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7258
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 17:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is why it was advised not to use the same SSID long before I ever got here. It's going to do that unless you force the client to connect to a specific band, which is usually not possible on some devices.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5338
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 18:22    Post subject: Re: For users running nightly builds-Strange 5ghz drop-off i Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
Maybe Mrjcd too with his EA8500.

EA8500 r44286 up 19:02 and its been very good.
NO problems with 5GHz. My phone stays on 5GHz just bout all time. Two tablets always stay on the 5GHz guest net and
usually casting to at least 1 of my 3 chromecasts which the chromeycast are 2.4 only but tis all on guest net.
AND yeahuh, I have always used different SSIDs for all / ath0, ath0.1, ath1, ath1.1 ...da VAPs are on br1 along with the one wired VLAN port 4
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7374
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 18:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
not happening here with same ssid in tri radio setup. using different ssid = no roaming between bands.
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ----> DD-WRT v3.0-r44627 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44632 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44632 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44632 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44583 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5338
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 18:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
not happening here with same ssid in tri radio setup. using different ssid = no roaming between bands.

naa...my moto g7 phone switches to 2.4 perfectly fine iffin I get out of the 5GHz range.
My oldass Droid Turbo done same with no problem.
AFAIK alot of that is client crap anyways Wink
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5803
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 18:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
What have you set under "Drop Clients with Low Signal"?
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1365
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 19:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Concerning comments to run separate SSID (I know), BUT the fact is that this was not an issue until builds newer than 44191.... now I could have strong signals and after 13 minutes a client device will randomly decide it likes 2.4ghz better....it will even drop to 1x1:1.

Something has been altered in dd-wrt code... I never had issues with stationary clients dropping off...clients are even reverting to 1x1:1 streams...

Something is not right...and it's dd-wrt...everything is fine on 44188...No drivers were altered or updated on the stationary devices...

Grrr Evil or Very Mad
Nothing in Klog to indicate why it went to 1x1:1 stream either on the E4 mac address...

What other dumps from telnet might yield a hint?
Please be specific with code/commands...not a linux whiz..

One other piece of info, I am using 802.11r (FT) support to help devices switch between radios more efficiently...though this may only need to be used if using another router for WDS?

I can't experiment more for a few hours when kids are done with e-learning...

The only other factor is I added a new second VAP for the kids' e-learning devices on 10.0.0.x IP Subnet... but I can't imagine a new VAP would be the cause of this issue...



_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44565 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)


Last edited by msoengineer on Wed Sep 09, 2020 5:38; edited 3 times in total
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7374
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 19:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
not happening here with same ssid in tri radio setup. using different ssid = no roaming between bands.

naa...my moto g7 phone switches to 2.4 perfectly fine iffin I get out of the 5GHz range.
My oldass Droid Turbo done same with no problem.
AFAIK alot of that is client crap anyways Wink


switching between at client's discretion ya, but not the "seamless with minimal to no drop/hang" kind of roaming

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ----> DD-WRT v3.0-r44627 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44632 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44632 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44632 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44583 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1365
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 19:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
mrjcd wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
not happening here with same ssid in tri radio setup. using different ssid = no roaming between bands.

naa...my moto g7 phone switches to 2.4 perfectly fine iffin I get out of the 5GHz range.
My oldass Droid Turbo done same with no problem.
AFAIK alot of that is client crap anyways Wink


switching between at client's discretion ya, but not the "seamless with minimal to no drop/hang" kind of roaming


Thus the point of running the same SSID...trying to keep shit "seamless" in the 5g radio switch dropping into 2.4 zone... vs "Dad, wifi isn't working!"

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44565 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5338
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 20:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
I always figured that was yous people and your damn iphonys.... Had to get away from Apple stuff years ago Twisted Evil
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1365
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 20:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
I always figured that was yous people and your damn iphonys.... Had to get away from Apple stuff years ago Twisted Evil



You know...none of these issue happened until the kids brought home ipads for e-learning.... FUCK APPLE...It's clearly their shit! Evil or Very Mad Twisted Evil

we were a non apple household till then...

But on a serious note...

any commands I should run in telnet?

Happy to dump...just haven't found anything of significance using iwconfig...

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44565 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3868
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 20:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
tried on a spare R7800 no problems, i have iphonys mostly, im on bacon int 100...
have to sexpose all the wifi sett to compare... 🤪

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1365
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 20:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
FWIW, 5ghz BI is 101, 2.4ghz BI is 277

rts/cts is on
rts set to 980

the funny part is that most of the trouble makers are intel 8260 clients...

back on 44253 for a little now to watch the radios...will report back in a little.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44565 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1444
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 21:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
R7800 running r44299

Probably useless information for you
since I use unique SSID on both bands.

HTC One M8 stays connected (about 8 Hrs now) to 5Ghz till I roam out of range
then switches to 2.4Ghz then switches back to 5Ghz when back in range.

I have not noticed any change in this behavior.

Her Galaxy S6 staying connected to 5Ghz (4+ Hrs now)and switches to 2.4 when moving out of range
only does not switch back to 5Ghz when back in range.

I don't fool with this device so I don't know about earlier builds.

Neither switch seamlessly but that is trivial.

_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Forum Guide Lines (Please read!) --- How to get help the right way
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5338
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 21:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
FWIW, 5ghz BI is 101, 2.4ghz BI is 277

rts/cts is on
rts set to 980

I don't really need it but I have
RTS/CTS
Enabled
RTS Threshold = 1792
on both bands and been that way for couple years now.

From your pics of wifi clients I reckon you prolly need it ...might bump it up a bit, however imma sure that ain't gonna fix your real problem. Laughing
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum