WRT54G cant join Site Survey on TPLINK

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
emolfino
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Aug 2020
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 15:10    Post subject: WRT54G cant join Site Survey on TPLINK Reply with quote
Hi

I have as main router a TL-WR1043ND Firmware: DD-WRT r39290 std and due to issues of location of the equipment, I cannot cover everything I want with Wifi.
I had kept an old WRT54G v6 which I thought I could put as a repeater or client to be able to expand the coverage area. I installed one of the latest firmwares: DD-WRT r43652. The equipment works, but the problem arises.
According to the tutorials to configure it in the client, you should go to the Status tab -> Wireless-> Site Survey and there make Join to the Wi-Fi network of the TL-WR1043ND. It does not appear ... other networks appear, mine does not. I have both router 1 meter distance. What is happening?

If anyone can help me I would appreciate it. Thanks!
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7453
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 15:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
I never use site survey (I actually left it out of my build) When I want to see what wireless channels are in use around the house I use Wifi Analyzer on my Android phone.

Why not just follow the wiki when you want to link routers, in your case you probably want repeater or repeater bridge
See: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

Also recommended reading (unless you already know it all): the forum guidelines, see the link in my signature at the bottom of this post

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
arssant
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Aug 2013
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 20:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi.

Regulatory domain issue with wireless channels ?
Maybe your wireless advanced settings on wrt54g are not allowing channel 11,12,13. And your tp-link is currently on one of theses channels.
Just guessing. Never have such issue with any wrt54g/l
emolfino
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Aug 2020
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 19:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
arssant wrote:
Hi.

Regulatory domain issue with wireless channels ?
Maybe your wireless advanced settings on wrt54g are not allowing channel 11,12,13. And your tp-link is currently on one of theses channels.
Just guessing. Never have such issue with any wrt54g/l


Tplink is on Channel 3 i put on this channel because i use wifi analyzer and the neighbours wifis are on another channels.
arssant
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Aug 2013
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 20:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi.

Last build I tested some G/L was v43516. And at least another user was reported fine results with this build. You should give a give a try.
emolfino
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Aug 2020
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 20:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
I never use site survey (I actually left it out of my build) When I want to see what wireless channels are in use around the house I use Wifi Analyzer on my Android phone.

Why not just follow the wiki when you want to link routers, in your case you probably want repeater or repeater bridge
See: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

Also recommended reading (unless you already know it all): the forum guidelines, see the link in my signature at the bottom of this post


Hi egc
I followed carefully https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

None worked, for example:

WRT54G

On Setup ->Basic Setup

WAN Connection Type
Connection Type Automatic DHCP
Local IP Address 192.168.2.1/24 , TPlink have (192.168.1.1/24)
Gateway 192.168.2.1
Dns 8.8.8.8
Dhcp Server enable
192.168.2.100 -> 150
Time Settings equal from TPLINK

Security

SPI Firewall Disabled
all uncheck

Wireless ->Basic Settings

Repeater Mode, config wl0 with the primary Wifi Name (in this case R1) Mixed Ack time 2000 Bridged

On Virtual Interfaces wl0.1 i put R1_EXT Wireless SSID Broadcast Enable, AP Isolation disabled, Network Configuration Bridged

Wifi Security

Physical Interface wl0 SSID
Security Mode: Wpa2/Wpa PSK
WPA Algorithm: CCMP-128 AES
WPA Shared Key: XXXXXX <-- password checkit 3 times

Virtual Interfaces wl0.1 SSID
Security Mode: Wpa2/Wpa PSK
WPA Algorithm: CCMP-128 AES
WPA Shared Key: XXXXXX <-- password checkit 3 times

Save->Apply Settings->Reboot
I wait until ping its ok.
Unplugged from power (wait 3 minutes)
Replugged

When i try to connect to R1_EXT -> no internet access detected

WAN IP: 0.0.0.0

I check on Status -> Wireless
Wireless Packet Info
Received (RX) 100% 37 OK, no error
Transmitted (TX) 84% 61 OK, 12 errors



wrt54g.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  wrt54g.txt
 Filesize:  22.02 KB
 Downloaded:  35 Time(s)



Last edited by emolfino on Sat Aug 29, 2020 22:02; edited 1 time in total
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7453
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 21:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think you should not alter Gateway and Local DNS, just leave it at its default 0.0.0.0

For Static DNS 1 you can set 8.8.8.8

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
emolfino
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Aug 2020
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 21:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
arssant wrote:
Hi.

Last build I tested some G/L was v43516. And at least another user was reported fine results with this build. You should give a give a try.

Hi Arssant
I have Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r43516 micro (06/25/20)
emolfino
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Aug 2020
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 21:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
I think you should not alter Gateway and Local DNS, just leave it at its default 0.0.0.0

For Static DNS 1 you can set 8.8.8.8


i change it... same thing..
emolfino
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Aug 2020
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2020 22:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
I never use site survey (I actually left it out of my build) When I want to see what wireless channels are in use around the house I use Wifi Analyzer on my Android phone.

Why not just follow the wiki when you want to link routers, in your case you probably want repeater or repeater bridge
See: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

Also recommended reading (unless you already know it all): the forum guidelines, see the link in my signature at the bottom of this post


Hi egc
I followed carefully https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

None worked, for example:

WRT54G

On Setup ->Basic Setup

WAN Connection Type
Connection Type Automatic DHCP
Local IP Address 192.168.2.1/24 , TPlink have (192.168.1.1/24)
Gateway 192.168.2.1
Dns 8.8.8.8
Dhcp Server enable
192.168.2.100 -> 150
Time Settings equal from TPLINK

Security

SPI Firewall Disabled
all uncheck

Wireless ->Basic Settings

Repeater Mode, config wl0 with the primary Wifi Name (in this case R1) Mixed Ack time 2000 Bridged

On Virtual Interfaces wl0.1 i put R1_EXT Wireless SSID Broadcast Enable, AP Isolation disabled, Network Configuration Bridged

Wifi Security

Physical Interface wl0 SSID
Security Mode: Wpa2/Wpa PSK
WPA Algorithm: CCMP-128 AES
WPA Shared Key: XXXXXX <-- password checkit 3 times

Virtual Interfaces wl0.1 SSID
Security Mode: Wpa2/Wpa PSK
WPA Algorithm: CCMP-128 AES
WPA Shared Key: XXXXXX <-- password checkit 3 times

Save->Apply Settings->Reboot
I wait until ping its ok.
Unplugged from power (wait 3 minutes)
Replugged

When i try to connect to R1_EXT -> no internet access detected

WAN IP: 0.0.0.0

I check on Status -> Wireless
Wireless Packet Info
Received (RX) 100% 37 OK, no error
Transmitted (TX) 84% 61 OK, 12 errors



wrt54g.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  wrt54g.txt
 Filesize:  22.02 KB
 Downloaded:  36 Time(s)

emolfino
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Aug 2020
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 17:30    Post subject: Re: WRT54G cant join Site Survey on TPLINK Reply with quote
emolfino wrote:
Hi

I have as main router a TL-WR1043ND Firmware: DD-WRT r39290 std and due to issues of location of the equipment, I cannot cover everything I want with Wifi.
I had kept an old WRT54G v6 which I thought I could put as a repeater or client to be able to expand the coverage area. I installed one of the latest firmwares: DD-WRT r43652. The equipment works, but the problem arises.
According to the tutorials to configure it in the client, you should go to the Status tab -> Wireless-> Site Survey and there make Join to the Wi-Fi network of the TL-WR1043ND. It does not appear ... other networks appear, mine does not. I have both router 1 meter distance. What is happening?

If anyone can help me I would appreciate it. Thanks!


Well, after tried almost 6 or 7 configuration based on internet i discovered that the problem was on Wpa2/wpa , i put Wpa ONLY with ccmp-128 AES, apply, reboot, power off (WRT54g). And magically connected... Put de Orange color con left display and i have internet!.
Thanks egc and arssant for your time!
arssant
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Aug 2013
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi.

Nice you got it running. Just a question, was your 1043 wireless config as wap2, like this before you reverted to wpa

Security Mode WPA

WPA2 Personal

CCMP-128 (AES)

I could try, with my own 1043 v2, and one of my wrt54g/l. I never tested this config.
emolfino
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Aug 2020
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 20:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
arssant wrote:
Hi.

Nice you got it running. Just a question, was your 1043 wireless config as wap2, like this before you reverted to wpa

Security Mode WPA

WPA2 Personal

CCMP-128 (AES)

I could try, with my own 1043 v2, and one of my wrt54g/l. I never tested this config.

Wpa and Wpa2 .. here the image



Wireless Security.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  6.71 KB
 Viewed:  926 Time(s)

Wireless Security.png


arssant
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Aug 2013
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 20:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi.

I never use mixed wpa and wpa2. I only use wpa2. So try to uncheck wpa ( keep wpa2 check ) on 1043, and try to connect with wr54g wpa2 only too.
emolfino
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Aug 2020
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2020 17:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
arssant wrote:
Hi.

I never use mixed wpa and wpa2. I only use wpa2. So try to uncheck wpa ( keep wpa2 check ) on 1043, and try to connect with wr54g wpa2 only too.


Its works Perfectly! Thanks a lot!
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum