Help with WDR3600

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
creited
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2016
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2020 19:10    Post subject: Help with WDR3600 Reply with quote
Hi,

I don't have the UART USB at the moment, here is my situation:
The router has its switch working but no WAN or Wireless. It seems to be "half bricked". I am able to upload the firmware to the router using tftp32 by using 192.168.0.66 at the PC and holding WPS/Reset at the Router and connecting AC.

TFTP32 reports that the file is uploaded successfuly, but nothing happens after that.

It seems like the router is ignoring the firmware after the upload. I saw in a OpenWRT forum that the uboot should be comparing the HWID and that I might have erased firmware partition and it should be FF FF FF FF in flash.

Have anyone seem this behavior for this TPLINK router? The gigabit Switch seems to be working as expected, but nothing I did caused a diferent situation.

Here I will say somethings I have already tried:
- Uploading diferent firmwares from DDWRT/OpenWRT/stock via TFTP32
- 30/30/30 reset
- Wireshark at the LAN and WAN ports

Can anyone help me?

Regards,
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7249
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2020 19:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
You don't 30/30/30 an Atheros. That is only for WRT54* series Broadcom routers and their clones, MIPSR1 antique devices. Did you not read the entire thread you hijacked before I split your post?

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=276489

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
creited
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2016
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2020 21:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did read the entire thread.

Did you read that I don't have the UART USB at the moment?

My question is if I can do anything without the serial connection.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7249
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2020 22:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
I added this link for information that may or may not be helpful to the end of that thread:

https://openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wdr3600

The filename and other things are very specific for recovery, there are also linked videos on how to recover without the serial adapter. If they are not working for you, then you have to invest in a serial adapter. I don't have one of these to test recovery without serial on.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
msantos2007
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Oct 2009
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 1:00    Post subject: Please be patient. Reply with quote
Hi,

Sorry about you're dealing with.

Please let us know with the following questions:

1. Do you have the link of tutorial you're following?

2. What hardware version is your WDR3600? 1.1, ... 1.5, 1.6?

3. How long did you wait after getting TFTP success response? 60-70 seconds?

Because, after uploading, the router seems to be doing anything until it reboots and the uploaded firmware is applied.

4. What Stock version you're using for TFTP uploads?


Now, my little experience with TFTP tells us we have to try several times, because TFTP output is not accurate. Inadequate Stock firmwares most of the times soft brick routers, not "half" brick them.

And yes, you should be ordering a USB UART adapter.

Thx!
creited
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2016
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 12:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi kernel-panic69 and msantos,

I really apreciate your helps.

I have already gave up and ordered a UART adapter. But unfortunatelly I will need to wait a couple of weeks so that it arrives (brazilian mailing system rocks).

Answering Msantos questions:
1- I was downgrading from ddwrt to stock to try another image. Unfortuantelly I don't have the link since it was done some months ago.

2- Mine says 1.5 version

3- I have waited several hours. Since my router has its switch still working, I am using it as a switch only.

4- I tried several firmware versions:
8,192,512 bytes (several versions from TPLINK and also factory-to-ddwrt 2014 images 25697)
8,126,464 bytes (the ones I was able to download already stripped)
I have also tried to edit the .bin to change the HWID for FF (08 bytes from 0x40-0x47).
None of those caused a simple reboot to the router after uploading complete. And yes, I have tried multiple times with each of these files.

I'm convinced I will need to wait until the adapter arrives, but if you have any suggestion that I might consider, please let me know.

Regards,

Cleiton
msantos2007
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Oct 2009
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2020 1:29    Post subject: Qual é, Cleiton! Reply with quote
Ah, Cleiton...

Que fizesse pelo Mercado Livre. É mais caro, sim. Mas é rápido.

https://produto.mercadolivre.com.br/MLB-714792192-adaptador-usb-serial-ttl-uart-conversor-cp2102-_JM?matt_tool=82322591&matt_word&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI--CDwIP16AIVig6RCh1lewQgEAkYByABEgKW2_D_BwE&quantity=1

----------------------------------

Thanks for your response. Now...

TFTP vs SERIAL

Regardless what firmware you are running, I think you don't have to use any stripped version with TFTP, because 1.5 hardware has U-Boot Recovery and it deals with it seamlessly. Also, I hadn't have any luck using stripped versions with that technique (TFTP).

BUT, Stripped versions only with Serial debricking - UART-USB adapter. Do NOT even try using Stock firmware named "_BOOT(XXXXXX).bin".

Please try using one of these:

(A) Using DDWRT WebGUI:

1. Download file "tl-wdr3600-webflash r20675.bin"
2. Downgrade to DD WRT r20675 "tl-wdr3600-webflash r20675.bin"
3. Download file "tl-wdr3600v1-webrevert.rar" from https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=717700&sid=360a529697b74154875736286e9fb58e#717700
4. Firmware Upgrade using "tl-wdr3600v1-webrevert.bin"
5. Reboot
6. You should see Stock Firmware 3.13.23 Build 120810

(B) Using TFTP only:

1. Download https://static.tp-link.com/res/down/soft/TL-WDR3600_V1_150518.zip
2. Rename it to "wdr3600v1_tp_recovery.bin"
3. Proceed using TFTP stuff you already know it (instructions here: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=920695#920695).

(C) Using Serial UART-USB:

1. Follow this thread: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=934517#934517

Um abraço, Marcelo.
creited
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2016
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2020 22:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi Marcelo! Obrigado pela ajuda.

The router seems to be alive (I cant believe, but the UART adapter arrived in 03 days)!

Unfortunatelly, i still couldn't recover the device.

Now it seems to be changed to the bricked status (leds bliking and reboot every second). Before the switch would be up as long as it was powered.

I'm still trying some images but for now I had just got the following:
## Booting image at 9f020000 ...
Uncompressing Kernel Image ... Too big uncompressed streamLZMA ERROR 1 - must RESET board to recover

Regards,

Cleiton
creited
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2016
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2020 22:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Got it Working using TL-WDR3600_V1_130320.

Thank you guys!

Valeu irmão
creited
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2016
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2020 1:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
For some reason the Wireless interface is not working after the recovery.

DDWRT will not even show the wireless menu.

The same behavior happens to OpenWRT image.

TPLINK firmware shows the wireless menu, but the wireless itself is not working. No SSIDs spoted. Changing the wireless settings doesn't help.

Both 2.4 and 5 GHZ leds are off.

I have already checked the Wifi on/off switch but nothing changes.

Any hint? Or could it be damaged?
Wildlion
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 May 2016
Posts: 842

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2020 2:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
With all three firmware showing similar results, that would lead me to think that the wireless hardware has a problem.
msantos2007
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Oct 2009
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2020 15:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Different and distinct firmwares, same bad results?! I'm afraid to tell hardware issue... 😔
servicetech
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2020 15:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wildlion wrote:
With all three firmware showing similar results, that would lead me to think that the wireless hardware has a problem.


You may check the art partition with the wlan interface (calibration) data. WLAN IF's may not work with damaged art.
creited
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2016
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2020 16:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
@servicetech

Could you describe the procedure for this verification?

I have already checked with ifconfig but the wireless interfaces are not showing at console.

It is strange because before all this firmware issues both wireless interfaces were working good, so I though I could have messed something during the erase and write procedure.
creited
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2016
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2020 16:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
I could check some topics with exactally the issue I am facing. before all this bricked stuff I used OpenWRT in this router. So it is possible i messed with caldata/art partition.

I could find a topic of a WDR3700 that has it caldata recovered from WinSCP. But unfortunatelly I could not find the boardconfig for my WDR3600.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum