TP-Link Archer A7v5 (EU) support

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
burtonguster
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Aug 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 6:57    Post subject: TP-Link Archer A7v5 (EU) support Reply with quote
I know the TP-Link Archer A7v5 (US) is supported but the one available in my country is the EU version. Will I be able to flash the US firmware on the EU version?
Sponsor
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1127
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 3:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
hardware wise I don't think there is any difference, but I am not 100% sure either.

I am not sure what would be different for EU vs US except for the regulatory stuff in terms of stock firmware... they don't lock the US firmware, so I can't imagine the EU version is locked from flashing either.

You'll need to be a guinea pig and test for us.
Worst case you soft brick it and need to TFTP recover it back to stock EU firmware.

_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]43874 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)
burtonguster
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Aug 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 3:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
hardware wise I don't think there is any difference, but I am not 100% sure either.

I am not sure what would be different for EU vs US except for the regulatory stuff in terms of stock firmware... they don't lock the US firmware, so I can't imagine the EU version is locked from flashing either.

You'll need to be a guinea pig and test for us.
Worst case you soft brick it and need to TFTP recover it back to stock EU firmware.


Oh OK. I don't have it currently, I'm planning to buy one. If I buy one and flash I'll let you know. Do you think it's a good deal if I get a new one for around $60? Thanks!
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7340
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 3:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
most likely not, usually eu/na versions is just for complying with the precious entity we call, government(s). maybe the stock fw versions might have a different header or something that may make it fail to take from stock fw, but tftp would override that.
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/6174 ---> DD-WRT v3.0-r44091 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44112 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44112 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44112 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 -------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44048 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1127
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 3:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
burtonguster wrote:
Do you think it's a good deal if I get a new one for around $60? Thanks!


They sell new in the usa anywhere from $40-$60 on amazon directly.
Check ebay too... but this is not a great router if you have ISP speeds over 150mbps... Look for a used R7800 if you can find one in Europe.

_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]43874 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum