ip address pass through

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Author Message
default_user8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2021 2:46    Post subject: ip address pass through Reply with quote
I have a situation where I would like to connect a router to an existing network and allow a device connected to the second router to see the parent network through the LAN ports. But I'd like to separate the wireless side of the second router and let it assign it's own ip addresses(I know this part can be done with a virtual AP). TIA
_________________
WRT1900AC v2 44048
HP Procurve 1810G
Open Media Vault with:
Nextcloud(Docker)
Plex(Docker)
Wireguard(Docker)
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 9594
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2021 8:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
If your router is the WRT1900AC v2 running 41813 then first consider upgrading, your build is old and has security issues.

See the forum guidelines with helpful pointers where and what to download and many more helpful tips:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087

About your question, a secondary (downstream0 router can normally see everything upstream even when you connect the WAN from secondary to LAN of primary.

If you want to have one subnet you can setup the secondary router as a WAP:
see: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_access_point

See for other methods:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12425
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2021 12:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you want ethernet to be on one subnet and wireless on another, you'd probably have to add a bridge and assign the wireless interfaces to the new bridge, if that is possible. Then set up a dhcp server instance specifically for the new bridge.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
default_user8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2021 5:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
If your router is the WRT1900AC v2 running 41813 then first consider upgrading, your build is old and has security issues.

See the forum guidelines with helpful pointers where and what to download and many more helpful tips:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087

About your question, a secondary (downstream0 router can normally see everything upstream even when you connect the WAN from secondary to LAN of primary.

If you want to have one subnet you can setup the secondary router as a WAP:
see: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_access_point

See for other methods:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers


Yeh I needed to update my signature, I'm actually on 44048, which is still way behind. I haven't had any issues with my router so I haven't messed with it in a while, but it does need some attention. I did some more reading last night after I posted and I think I can separate my WAN and LAN and then do some VLAN's to accomplish what I want to do, I just need to find some time to tinker with it, BTW the router I'm wanting to do this on is an older Netgear WNR2000v3.

_________________
WRT1900AC v2 44048
HP Procurve 1810G
Open Media Vault with:
Nextcloud(Docker)
Plex(Docker)
Wireguard(Docker)
default_user8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2021 5:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
If you want ethernet to be on one subnet and wireless on another, you'd probably have to add a bridge and assign the wireless interfaces to the new bridge, if that is possible. Then set up a dhcp server instance specifically for the new bridge.


That's partially what I'm trying to do, but what I'm really trying to do is just use my LAN ports as a dumb switch, and then come out of that switch to the WAN port and use the router as a AP with DHCP. As I stated in my previous post I think I can make it work with VLAN's.

_________________
WRT1900AC v2 44048
HP Procurve 1810G
Open Media Vault with:
Nextcloud(Docker)
Plex(Docker)
Wireguard(Docker)
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 9594
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2021 6:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Before going to use the wnr2000 do some research as outlined in the forum guidelines.

Newer builds might not work.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
default_user8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2021 9:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Before going to use the wnr2000 do some research as outlined in the forum guidelines.

Newer builds might not work.


Thanks you're very helpful!

_________________
WRT1900AC v2 44048
HP Procurve 1810G
Open Media Vault with:
Nextcloud(Docker)
Plex(Docker)
Wireguard(Docker)
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12425
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2021 9:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
So, essentially you want to split the WAN port among two vlans and use one to connect to a bridge for the wireless and use the other to connect to a bridge for the switch. Do I understand you correctly?
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
default_user8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2021 18:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
So, essentially you want to split the WAN port among two vlans and use one to connect to a bridge for the wireless and use the other to connect to a bridge for the switch. Do I understand you correctly?

I want to separate the WAN and LAN yes, but I want the WAN to only go to the wireless radio. With the LAN ports, I want to turn them into a dumb switch. Then I'll plug a network cable from an existing network that has it's own dhcp server. I will plug an existing network device into another LAN port so that it can see and be seen on the existing network. Then I will use a patch cable to go from a third LAN port to the WAN port(basically creating an AP but with it's own DHCP server for another group of wireless devices). It's a little confusing but logistically I can't put another switch here so I need to use a router as a switch (no DHCP server) and add wireless service here as a separate guest network that will have internet access but be NAT'd so the users on the main network can't see the wireless users.

_________________
WRT1900AC v2 44048
HP Procurve 1810G
Open Media Vault with:
Nextcloud(Docker)
Plex(Docker)
Wireguard(Docker)
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12425
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2021 19:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
You're over-engineering this.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
default_user8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2021 22:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
You're over-engineering this.


I don't disagree, but like I said I need to be able to unplug a network printer or similar device and connect it back to the same network thru the router. This is a travel setup for an auditing group that has sensitive data on their laptops. Which is the reason I want to put them on the wireless but keep users on the parent network from seeing them. It MUST work without IT support.

_________________
WRT1900AC v2 44048
HP Procurve 1810G
Open Media Vault with:
Nextcloud(Docker)
Plex(Docker)
Wireguard(Docker)
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12425
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2021 23:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, you have been on this forum longer than I have this go-round, you should already know some of what you need to know to complete the task. I just don't think using vlans is going to be part of the puzzle, personally. You can isolate the wireless from the wired without that.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
default_user8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2021 0:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Well, you have been on this forum longer than I have this go-round, you should already know some of what you need to know to complete the task. I just don't think using vlans is going to be part of the puzzle, personally. You can isolate the wireless from the wired without that.

Yes I have, and have been able to muddle my way thru most issues using the wiki and other people's post. I guess I just need to start playing with it till I get it figured out like I usually do. VLANs came into the equation because just separating the wan and Lan still uses dhcp for the lan side. Thanks for trying.

_________________
WRT1900AC v2 44048
HP Procurve 1810G
Open Media Vault with:
Nextcloud(Docker)
Plex(Docker)
Wireguard(Docker)
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12425
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2021 3:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not sure you followed my initial comment quite as anticipated. But without taking one of my spares and stepping through what my thoughts were, that's as good as it gets.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum