how to restore Factory firmware TP-Link Archer C7 v5?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
WarrenC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Dec 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2019 23:42    Post subject: how to restore Factory firmware TP-Link Archer C7 v5? Reply with quote
as in the title

how to restore Factory firmware TP-Link Archer C7 v5?

I'm a rookie on this stuff

thanks
Sponsor
opssemnik
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2019 22:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can use the TFTP recovery method, i did on mine.
https://community.tp-link.com/en/home/forum/topic/81462

TIP: You do not need to touch anything in the firmware file, just download from tp link and use it straight in tftp (some tutorials will say to strip some part of the firmware, not needed for the v5)

Also, be sure to set the file name to
ArcherC7v5_tp_recovery.bin
Upper case included, if the file name is wrong, you wont see any logs.

Do not use any of the openWRT methods of flashing using terminal(mtd -r, sysupgrade), their C7 wiki is mostly based for the V2 hardware(and the std dd wrt does not include sysupgrade), and will soft brick your V5 (which will need to be recovered using tftp, or worse, serial)
WarrenC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Dec 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2019 22:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
The first youtube video I found was using terminal to flash it and, of course, it did not work. It came up with a couldn't unlock something error. Afterwards, I had a router with only a glowing power light on. Found a second video that explained the TFTP method and this one worked. Bit stressful, but it's back.

I had flashed to DD-WRT with the intent of setting up OpenVPN, and no matter what I did, couldn't get it to work . . . it was like the script was not even running. Even had the VPN providers try for about an hour. I couldn't even get PPTP, so I figured I'd get things back to where I started. It was a fun

Laughing
Cisky
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Oct 2020
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2020 10:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi Warren,
don't you remember the youtube video that's working?
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3957
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2020 12:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
use the TFTP link above...

there is another one..
https://community.tp-link.com/en/home/forum/topic/81462?page=1

if TFTP is not successful, there is a serial method too...

do notice on some routers you may need "stripped stock file"

By the way, what is the reason you want to move away from DDWRT... ?
Could we help with settings and ect. instead.. ??

I personally deeply prefer DDWRT over any stock files because:
cons
-stock firmware is full of security holes
-it never get updated, as it should
-it lack's of futures
-very often WI-Fi drops or router needs to be rebooted in order to work everyday (TP-Link's case)
-incompatibility Wi-Fi or Lan among different clients

pros
+only one benefit of stock firmware, over DDWRT 'questionable better WAN performance, using hardware futures that compromise security "Hardware Acceleration Chip"...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44715 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 44772 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 44849 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
WarrenC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Dec 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2020 17:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
I can't remember yesterday, never mind a year ago. I was trying to set up OpenVPN with my VPN provider and it just wouldn't work. So I converted the router back to stock, and ended up buying another router (Asus). This one had no problem setting up OpenVPN, so I just boxed the TPLink and stored it away.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum