Airlink101 AR430W/DLINK DIR300 Installation Instructions

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
shill88
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 9:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
I get up to the point where I try to connect using putty when I recieve the following error... Does this mean that I'm timing it wrong or is something else setup wrong?

Thanks
Sponsor
thisisunsane
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 May 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 15:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
shill88 wrote:
I get up to the point where I try to connect using putty when I recieve the following error... Does this mean that I'm timing it wrong or is something else setup wrong?


I've never encountered that error. Are you sure you are entering the putty command line options correctly? Maybe you are using a different version of putty and the command line options may be different.

You can also just load putty up with no options, select port 9000 and telnet mode but don't hit connect. Then you can go to the other window and start your ping, and then quickly go back to the putty window and click to connect when the ping starts returning.
shill88
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 22:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
thisisunsane wrote:


I've never encountered that error. Are you sure you are entering the putty command line options correctly? Maybe you are using a different version of putty and the command line options may be different.

You can also just load putty up with no options, select port 9000 and telnet mode but don't hit connect. Then you can go to the other window and start your ping, and then quickly go back to the putty window and click to connect when the ping starts returning.


Got it working by going into the Putty GUI first as recommended.

Now that I have DD-WRT up and running do you have any recommended settings?

Thanks
thisisunsane
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 May 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 23:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
shill88 wrote:
Got it working by going into the Putty GUI first as recommended.


Excellent. Glad I could help.

Quote:
Now that I have DD-WRT up and running do you have any recommended settings?


I'm really no DD-WRT power user. I haven't tweaked with the settings too much. I guess it would depend on what you are doing. I've set them up as a standard wired/wireless router. I've set some up as repeaters. What do you want to do with DD-WRT?
shill88
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 3:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well I think I have things setup the way I like. Unfortunatly wireless is bit slower ~1.1Mbs vs 1.7-1.9 under Airlink default firmware.

Out of curiousity can I use the Web GUI to upgrade to newer Firmwares when they come out?

How would I reflash it back to the original Airlink firmware?

Thanks

Shawn
donn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Oct 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 1:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just thought I'd share this. I updated the helpful instructions from this thread to match the filenames of this current version (v24 SP1). I also added a couple of tips that I didn't see in the original two howto's.

Maybe this will be helpful to future users...


For DD-WRT version "v24 SP1"
Found in dd-wrt.com Downloads area location: /stable/dd-wrt.v24 SP1/Consumer/Airlink 101/AR430W/

I created these instructions based of the AR430W thread and the "flashing.txt" file found with the download files.
Thread: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=32594

--Donn
2008 OCT 4

Let's start:

Getting into RedBoot:

0. Put all dd-wrt files in the same directory as the unzipped tftp server. Start the tftp server.
1. Connect the network cable to your ethernet port and the WAN port of AR430W.
2. Configure your IP address to be 192.168.20.80/255.255.255.0.
In a DOS window run a continuous ping to 192.168.20.81:
ping -f -t 192.168.20.81
3. Power on the AR430W
Wait for a good ping, then init the putty telnet session immediately (Step 4).
If you don't get a good ping, power cycle the AR430W router, try again.
4. Initiate the putty telnet session to 192.168.20.81 on port 9000. Use putty, DOS window doesn't work.
5. When the telnet session starts there will be a one-line banner.
Immediately type <ctl> c <enter> and you should see this prompt: RedBoot>

Loading the temporary boot loader:

Code:

RedBoot> load ap61.ram
Using default protocol (TFTP)
Entry point: 0x800410bc, address range: 0x80041000-0x800680d8

[THE TFTP SERVER SHOWED SOME 'socket recv error 10060' MESSAGES BUT I IGNORED THEM AND INSTALL WAS OK]

RedBoot> go

It is normal to be disconnected from the telnet session. Do not reboot the router.

Loading a new boot loader:
Before proceeding, set your system IP to 192.168.1.23/255.255.255.0 and then use putty to telnet to the new address 192.168.1.1 and port 9000. The linked DIR-300 flash instructions say to use IP address 192.168.1.2, but I chose to use the address given in the official flashing instructions. I don't think it makes a difference as long as the correct default server is set in the bootloader. After you are connected, follow the steps below and watch out for typing errors:

Code:

DD-WRT> fconfig -i

Hit enter to accept the defaults and finally save the config to non volatile storage.

DD-WRT> fconfig bootp false
bootp: Setting to false
Update RedBoot non-volatile configuration - continue (y/n)? y
... Erase from 0xbffe0000-0xbfff0000: .
... Program from 0x80ff0000-0x81000000 at 0xbffe0000: .


DD-WRT> fis init
About to initialize [format] FLASH image system - continue (y/n)? y
*** Initialize FLASH Image System
... Erase from 0xbffe0000-0xbfff0000: .
... Program from 0x807f0000-0x80800000 at 0xbffe0000: .

DD-WRT> ip_address -h 192.168.1.23
IP: 192.168.1.1/255.255.255.0, Gateway: 0.0.0.0
Default server: 192.168.1.23

DD-WRT> load -r -b %{FREEMEMLO} ap61.rom
Using default protocol (TFTP)
Raw file loaded 0x80080000-0x800a8717, assumed entry at 0x80080000

DD-WRT> fis create -l 0x30000 -e 0xbfc00000 RedBoot
An image named 'RedBoot' exists - continue (y/n)? y
... Erase from 0xbfc00000-0xbfc30000: ...
... Program from 0x80080000-0x800a8718 at 0xbfc00000: ...
... Erase from 0xbffe0000-0xbfff0000: .
... Program from 0x807f0000-0x80800000 at 0xbffe0000: .

DD-WRT> reset

Your AR430W will reset at this point. Telnet to it (192.168.1.1, port 9000) after it has finish resetting. (approximately 30+ seconds)

Loading in the new firmware:
It is important that you don't disconnect the power or ethernet cable for this section. Those fis create commands take quite some time to complete, so do be patient and don't interrupt the process. For me fis create commands for root.fs took what seemed like 5 minutes. Do not unplug it!

Code:

DD-WRT> ^C
DD-WRT> ip_address -h 192.168.1.23
IP: 192.168.1.1/255.255.255.0, Gateway: 0.0.0.0
Default server: 192.168.1.23

DD-WRT> load -r -b 0x80041000 linux.bin
Using default protocol (TFTP)
Raw file loaded 0x80041000-0x803bafff, assumed entry at 0x80041000

DD-WRT> fis create linux
[WAIT HERE A LONG TIME APPROX 5 MINS! Then, you'll see...]
... Erase from 0xbfc30000-0xbffaa000: ........................................................
... Program from 0x80041000-0x803bb000 at 0xbfc30000: ........................................................
... Erase from 0xbffe0000-0xbfff0000: .
... Program from 0x80ff0000-0x81000000 at 0xbffe0000: .

DD-WRT> fconfig boot_script true
boot_script: Setting to true
Update RedBoot non-volatile configuration - continue (y/n)? y
... Erase from 0xbffe0000-0xbfff0000: .
... Program from 0x80ff0000-0x81000000 at 0xbffe0000: .

DD-WRT> fconfig boot_script_timeout 3
boot_script_timeout: Setting to 3
Update RedBoot non-volatile configuration - continue (y/n)? y
... Erase from 0xbffe0000-0xbfff0000: .
... Program from 0x80ff0000-0x81000000 at 0xbffe0000: .

DD-WRT> fconfig
Run script at boot: true
Boot script:
Enter script, terminate with empty line
>> fis load -l linux
>> exec
>>
Boot script timeout (1000ms resolution): 3
Use BOOTP for network configuration: false
Gateway IP address:
Local IP address:
Local IP address mask:
Default server IP address:
Console baud rate: 9600
GDB connection port: 9000
Force console for special debug messages: false
Network debug at boot time: false
Update RedBoot non-volatile configuration - continue (y/n)? y
... Erase from 0xbffe0000-0xbfff0000: .
... Program from 0x80ff0000-0x81000000 at 0xbffe0000: .

DD-WRT> reset

[MOVE ETHERNET CABLE TO A LAN PORT]

[POINT BROWSER TO http://192.168.1.1 AND YOU'LL SEE THE DD-WRT CONTROL PANEL/PAGE]

Donn
deaftone
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 May 2007
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 0:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have completed the steps countless number of times, all I ever get in the end is the box keeps restarting itself, responds _only_ from 192.168.1.1 on LAN and WAN ports, replies with 4-6 pings, then cycles continuously.
Telnet login on 9000 brings up a DD-WRT> prompt.
The mac address has also changed from what I have noticed from the initial one on the box...
I had v24-sp1 loaded fine, then did a web upgrade to the v24-pre-sp2 using the ar430w-firmware.bin, reset all to default, then after the first reboot, it never came back up, just constantly did power cycles... I have tried with no luck to revert and install, but at the same time, I am able to login... what could i be doing wrong? if I do the ip_address -l 192.168.20.81 -h 192.168.20.80 step, the box will not respond to 192.168.20.81, and stick to the 192.168.1.1. In all honesty, I am about to crush this little box not being able to understand what would be the cause of this problem...
In the DD-WRT> prompt, "version" returns:
Code:
== Executing boot script in 1.750 seconds - enter ^C to abort
^C
DD-WRT> version

RedBoot(tm) bootstrap and debug environment [ROMRAM]
production release, version "2.1.3" - built 18:43:19, Sep 20 2007

Platform: ap61 (Atheros WiSOC)
Copyright (C) 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004 Red Hat, Inc.
Copyright (C) 2007, NewMedia-NET GmbH.

Board: DLINK DIR-300
RAM: 0x80000000-0x81000000, [0x80040580-0x80fe1000] available
FLASH: 0xbfc00000 - 0xbfff0000, 64 blocks of 0x00010000 bytes each.
DD-WRT>


Also tried holding down the reset button while booting for 30+ seconds, and neither WAN nor LAN ports respond to 192.168.20.81, only 192.168.1.1!
No, I am not using a DHCP server.
Yes, I have followed all the steps correctly repeated number of times.

Anyone?

P.S: Since it only responds to 192.168.1.1, and is already at the DD-WRT> point, would I still have to change the local/server ip addresses at all or just run all cmds in that telnet session? I am 90% sure even the first time I successfully installed v24-sp1 it did not change back to the 192.168.20.81 and stuck with the 192.168.1.1, but kept the initial mac address, after successfully installing the v24-pre-sp2 it did the same, but after the first reboot with pre-sp2, it now has a random mac address and I guess the bootloader is fsckd...?

Any help/feedback/troubleshooting ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Also, once getting in the DD-WRT> prompt, if I type 'fis load -l linux' it'll respond:
Code:
DD-WRT> fis load -l linux
Image loaded from 0x80041000-0x802d0c58
DD-WRT>

No http access at that point, if i type exec, it'll simply start the rebooting cycle once again...
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 8:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
WHY DOES NOBODY USE THE F***ING INSRTUTION IN THE DL FOLDER!?
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
stelf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
WHY DOES NOBODY USE THE F***ING INSRTUTION IN THE DL FOLDER!?


i actually tried them, but can't even seem to get to the redboot prompt on a d-link 301. trying with reset pressed would result in no ping response at all, and the device does not respond on the wan port. trying with no reset and telnet when ping comes would not open the telnet session.

double checked ports, and ip settings are 192.168.20.81 for server (also checked that the device has it's external static to 20.81) and 20.80 is local.

no result. any clue what could be wrong..?
deaftone
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 May 2007
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
WHY DOES NOBODY USE THE F***ING INSRTUTION IN THE DL FOLDER!?


You seem to have that answer for a lot of peoples problems, it doesn't reslove anything. Believe me, I did read the flashing.txt and that's what I went by. Had a good install, then upgraded to the ar430w-firmware.bin (pre-sp2) via http, reset defaults, and all hell broke loose, so as you can see, you're initial "answer" was irrelevant. As far as the "insrtution in the dl folder" go, they are kind of inconclusive, be it consumer or pro, they lack troubleshooting so they should at least be more verbose.

Once again, can someone help me out? I am still able to access the box, get a DD-WRT> prompt only on 192.168.1.1 either WAN/LAN ports.
palmboy5
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Posts: 433
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 10:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
deaftone wrote:
Sash wrote:
WHY DOES NOBODY USE THE F***ING INSRTUTION IN THE DL FOLDER!?


You seem to have that answer for a lot of peoples problems, it doesn't reslove anything. Believe me, I did read the flashing.txt and that's what I went by. Had a good install, then upgraded to the ar430w-firmware.bin (pre-sp2) via http, reset defaults, and all hell broke loose, so as you can see, you're initial "answer" was irrelevant. As far as the "insrtution in the dl folder" go, they are kind of inconclusive, be it consumer or pro, they lack troubleshooting so they should at least be more verbose.

Once again, can someone help me out? I am still able to access the box, get a DD-WRT> prompt only on 192.168.1.1 either WAN/LAN ports.


I didn't read very much for previous posts, but have you tried erasing the entire flash within the bootloader? It's been too long for me to remember, but there was some command and flag (maybe "fis -f"?) that would erase the entire flash chip except the area that stores the bootloader itself. It sounds to me that your nvram probably has some settings that are incompatible with the firmware. Simply flashing the firmware doesn't actually erase that stuff. Erase the entire flash and then reflash.

_________________
WRT54GL 1.1 v24 preSP2 r14896 | RNX-GX4 v24 preSP2 r14929 | 2x AR430W v24 (both bricked ATM) | 2x F*n2100 Legend Pre4.5U & v24 preSP2 r13525
deaftone
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 May 2007
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 22:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Might anyone know how to go about doing this? I am about to purchase two wl520gU's which it seems I should of done to begin with, but I know there has to be a recovery method at the point I'm at on the ar430w. I wouldn't want to mess it up any more than it already is seeing how I can't even return it in it's current state... I know it's not a hw issue seeing how it already took a good install of v24-sp1, but at this point of time I have no idea how to clear the flash and so on without messing things up and rendering it useless. Any help or point in a direction would be greatly appreciated!

P.S. Thanks again for your help Sash, seeing as how moderators/guru's know they're talking about maybe you can spit out some helpful facts other than bs.
katapaltes
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 4:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you can still get to the DD-WRT> prompt, you should be in good shape. In addition to possibly doing the aforementioned "fis -f" (or whatever it is) step, you should be able to re-do the steps needed to put v24-SP1 or whatever version you want back on. You don't need to go back as far as the steps where you set the IP with "ip_address -l 192.168.20.81 -h 192.168.20.80," that's for sure. I've never bricked my AR430W or got it stuck in a loop, but I've gone back in to RedBoot several times and re-did the instructions to put DD-WRT or OpenWRT on it. My first command is usually "ip_address -l 192.168.1.1 -h 192.168.1.23" - where my PC's IP address is 192.168.1.23. Then I go from there.

On a side note, the WL-520GU routers are very nice. I just got one and had DD-WRT on it for a few days. Just installed the new release of Tomato this evening on it and its cousin, a WHR-G125. (I couldn't get WDS to work with WPA with DD-WRT.)
-katapaltes
deaftone
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 May 2007
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 18:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the info, think I'm going to give OpenWRT a run, gotta love a working pkg mngr.... Razz How's Tomatoe holding up these days? Could it be possible that I messed up the actual bootloader since it keeps power cycling? If so, would I have to revert as far as the original firmware or just reload ap61.ram/.rom, etc? How can I clear the nvram from the DD-WRT> prompt?

katapaltes wrote:
On a side note, the WL-520GU routers are very nice. I just got one and had DD-WRT on it for a few days. Just installed the new release of Tomato this evening on it and its cousin, a WHR-G125. (I couldn't get WDS to work with WPA with DD-WRT.)
-katapaltes


There seems to be a WPA Encryption problem with the 10509+ builds, in Repeater Mode and with any VAP's. Supposedly it would work with builds 10137/10431, just what I got from reading around, but not testing...

check out these links:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=30566&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15&sid=814f8a0787b9c13e010029247f189cae
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=39879
captainK
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 16:56    Post subject: AR430W back to Airlink's firmware Reply with quote
I bailed DD-WRT firmware and went back to Airlink's original, primarily because my AR430W was using RC5 and I could not figure how to safely get to V24.

This is what I did:(gleened from the DIR300 method, but fixed problems)
Pretty easy when you follow:


The below restores the AR430W to the OEM boot (Dlink DIR300 Emergency Recovery Utility), which will allow flashing back to the Airlink firmware version. This procedure was done sucessfully using Windows XP, Putty and Tftp32.
Disable your anti-virus and firewall.
Download the most current version of the Airlink AR430W at www.airlink101.com and save on your desktop.
Download the Dlink DIR300 redboot at:
http://www.shadowandy.net/wp/wp-content/uploads/dir300redboot.zip
and extract to your Tftp server's directory
Set your DD-WRT - AR430W router to address 192.168.1.1
Connect the Cat5 cable from your computer to any LAN port on the AR430W
Set your NIC to 192.168.1.23/255.255.255.0
Start Putty using 192.168.1.1, but do not press the OPEN yet
With the dir300redboot.rom file in the tftp32 program directory, start tftp32 using port 9000 at 192.168.1.23
Start a command window and run ping 192.168.1.1 -t
Plug the power to the AR430w
As soon as you see the ping window get a ping response, press the OPEN button in the Putty window and as soon as you see anything in the new black Putty session window, press Ctrl+C to get the DD-WRT> prompt.
Then do the following
DD-WRT> fconfig -i

Hit enter to accept the defaults and finally save the config to non volatile storage.
DD-WRT> ip_address -h 192.168.1.23
Default server: 192.168.1.2
DD-WRT> fconfig bootp false
DD-WRT> fis init
About to initialize [format] FLASH image system - continue (y/n)? y
*** Initialize FLASH Image System
… Erase from 0xbffe0000-0xbfff0000: .
… Program from 0×80ff0000-0×81000000 at 0xbffe0000: .
DD-WRT> load -r -b %{FREEMEMLO} dir300redboot.rom
Using default protocol (TFTP)
Raw file loaded 0×80040800-0×800607ff, assumed entry at 0×80040800
DD-WRT> fis create -l 0×30000 -e 0xbfc00000 RedBoot
An image named ‘RedBoot’ exists - continue (y/n)? y
… Erase from 0xbfc00000-0xbfc30000: …
… Program from 0×80040800-0×80060800 at 0xbfc00000: ..
… Erase from 0xbffe0000-0xbfff0000: .
… Program from 0×80ff0000-0×81000000 at 0xbffe0000: .
DD-WRT> reset
The router should reboot at this point of time.
Preparing your system router recovery
Download the Airlink latest firmware for the AR430W from www.airlink101.com
Connect the network cable to your ethernet port and the WAN port of AR430W.
Configure your System IP address (static) to be 192.168.20.80/255.255.255.0.
Remove the power from AR430W
Getting into Emergency Recovery Page
Ensure that the AR430W is not powered on
Hold on to the reset button and power AR430Won
Hold on to the reset button for about 30 seconds while AR430W is booting , keep holding it and
Open up your web browser and go to http://192.168.20.81. You should be able to see the emergency recovery page.
Uploading the original Airlink AR430Wfirmware
Click on the browse button and locate the firmware you have downloaded from Airlink firmware page earlier
Click on the upload button to start flashing the device. Follow the instructions on screen. When it is done, (WAIT ~ 510 seconds, as directed)reset the device by power cycling it. Be sure to reset your network adapter's address to 192.168.1.2 / 255.255.255.0 to connect to the AR430W at 192.168.1.1
It will be running the Airlink firmware after rebooting (power cycling) and can be connected thru your browser at 192.168.1.1. Username= admin Password = admin

The above worked perfectly. You should now be in the Airlink's original firmware - enjoy. Laughing
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum