Netgear R8500 No WiFi Issue

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
jockerfreak
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Sep 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 23:15    Post subject: Netgear R8500 No WiFi Issue Reply with quote
Hello Forum,

since the last Kongac mod for the Netgear R8500, no following firmware has been working for it, the most prominent issue being no wifi.

Router/Version: Netgear R8500
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r43334 (06/04/20)
Kernel: Linux 4.4.226 #309 SMP Thu Jun 4 08:42:52 +04 2020 armv7l
Mode/Status: AP
Reset: cli nvram erase <enter> nvram erase <enter>, (cycled power)
Issues/Errors: No wifi being the main issue, please see attached syslog



error.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  error.txt
 Filesize:  4.77 KB
 Downloaded:  66 Time(s)

Sponsor
buffalo0207
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Apr 2014
Posts: 129
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 23:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've also had this issue. Try the solution here that I used to get my wifi radios broadcasting on my R8500.


https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1169711


Forget that the title is more about the R8500 not saving settings. This still worked for me to get my wifi broadcasting again on my R8500. Just make sure, when you upgrade in the future, never do an nvram erase && reboot again, as I found this is what caused the issue of the radios to stop broadcasting, regardless of the settings on the GUI..

When updating the latest firmware, just do a 'Restore Factory Defaults' and then upload using the GUI. Hope this helps.



N.b. Ironically, there are now currently 3 threads in the forum (practically on top of each other) regarding this issue...

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=325280

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=323998
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7200
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 23:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Three of many threads now about this device and it's issues. I guess searching for an already open thread is too much to ask. Thanks for posting the links, though. Sometimes, even *I* forget about previous posts and have to look things up.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
jockerfreak
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Sep 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 20:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you very much for taking the time to reply to me, Buffalo. After taking a look at your links, I decided to revert back to stock for now due to limited free time and the much needed WiFi. The stock firmware leaves a lot to be desired, though. Should have kept the old reliable R7000.

Have a great weekend and stay safe!

buffalo0207 wrote:
I've also had this issue. Try the solution here that I used to get my wifi radios broadcasting on my R8500.


https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1169711


Forget that the title is more about the R8500 not saving settings. This still worked for me to get my wifi broadcasting again on my R8500. Just make sure, when you upgrade in the future, never do an nvram erase && reboot again, as I found this is what caused the issue of the radios to stop broadcasting, regardless of the settings on the GUI..

When updating the latest firmware, just do a 'Restore Factory Defaults' and then upload using the GUI. Hope this helps.



N.b. Ironically, there are now currently 3 threads in the forum (practically on top of each other) regarding this issue...

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=325280

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=323998
FDM80
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Aug 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2020 21:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
buffalo0207 wrote:
I've also had this issue. Try the solution here that I used to get my wifi radios broadcasting on my R8500.


https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1169711


Forget that the title is more about the R8500 not saving settings. This still worked for me to get my wifi broadcasting again on my R8500. Just make sure, when you upgrade in the future, never do an nvram erase && reboot again, as I found this is what caused the issue of the radios to stop broadcasting, regardless of the settings on the GUI..

When updating the latest firmware, just do a 'Restore Factory Defaults' and then upload using the GUI. Hope this helps.



N.b. Ironically, there are now currently 3 threads in the forum (practically on top of each other) regarding this issue...

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=325280

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=323998


Thanks for pointing this fix out. I could only get the wifi working on Kong's old firmwares. After applying this fix, the wifi now works on the R8500 with the latest firmwares.
nantucketman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jul 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2020 23:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
FDM80 wrote:
buffalo0207 wrote:
I've also had this issue. Try the solution here that I used to get my wifi radios broadcasting on my R8500.


https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1169711


Forget that the title is more about the R8500 not saving settings. This still worked for me to get my wifi broadcasting again on my R8500. Just make sure, when you upgrade in the future, never do an nvram erase && reboot again, as I found this is what caused the issue of the radios to stop broadcasting, regardless of the settings on the GUI..

When updating the latest firmware, just do a 'Restore Factory Defaults' and then upload using the GUI. Hope this helps.



N.b. Ironically, there are now currently 3 threads in the forum (practically on top of each other) regarding this issue...

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=325280

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=323998


Thanks for pointing this fix out. I could only get the wifi working on Kong's old firmwares. After applying this fix, the wifi now works on the R8500 with the latest firmwares.


Is this including today's (7/18 ) build? I just reverted to 2/06 and everything is working for me, but on 7/18 I was experiencing an issue where the Wi-Fi said it was broadcasting but wasn't showing up on client devices as a network I could connect to. I also tried the instructions on the linked post but I didn't find this prevent the Wi-Fi issue from occurring. A revert to 2/06 did however fix it.
FDM80
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Aug 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2020 0:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
nantucketman wrote:
Is this including today's (7/18 ) build? I just reverted to 2/06 and everything is working for me, but on 7/18 I was experiencing an issue where the Wi-Fi said it was broadcasting but wasn't showing up on client devices as a network I could connect to. I also tried the instructions on the linked post but I didn't find this prevent the Wi-Fi issue from occurring. A revert to 2/06 did however fix it.


Yes. I'm now running r43845 (07/18/20) and all the SSIDs are showing up on my mobile devices and I can connect to them.

I followed the directions exactly as stated. Reverted back to the old firmware in the post. Saved the existing cfe. Downloaded the cfe from the post. Did the comparison which matched properly so I proceeded. Followed the directions all the way to rebooting.

Subsequently this thread states to only restore to factory defaults in the future when upgrading. I will be avoiding any nvram erase from here on out.
nantucketman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jul 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2020 0:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
FDM80 wrote:
nantucketman wrote:
Is this including today's (7/18 ) build? I just reverted to 2/06 and everything is working for me, but on 7/18 I was experiencing an issue where the Wi-Fi said it was broadcasting but wasn't showing up on client devices as a network I could connect to. I also tried the instructions on the linked post but I didn't find this prevent the Wi-Fi issue from occurring. A revert to 2/06 did however fix it.


Yes. I'm now running r43845 (07/18/20) and all the SSIDs are showing up on my mobile devices and I can connect to them.

I followed the directions exactly as stated. Reverted back to the old firmware in the post. Saved the existing cfe. Downloaded the cfe from the post. Did the comparison which matched properly so I proceeded. Followed the directions all the way to rebooting.

Subsequently this thread states to only restore to factory defaults in the future when upgrading. I will be avoiding any nvram erase from here on out.


Ah got it - thanks for clarifying. I just did that again and now I'm having success on the latest build Smile

...still crap Wi-Fi speeds. A problem to look into further I suppose. If anyone has recommended configs please do share. Looks like the link in that post from last year is dead.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum