Multiple failed attempts to flash Archer C8 v1 v2

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7274
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2020 8:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
The command is nvram erase, and from cfe, it does not erase both nvram partitions. Let me see if there is a test image on the alpha server yet... and, there is. Try this one.


factory-to-ddwrt.bin
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  factory-to-ddwrt.bin
 Filesize:  12.51 MB
 Downloaded:  59 Time(s)


_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Sponsor
delhite2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2020 8:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
I will try this and report Back in 3 hours...
Should this be loaded via tftp or should I get through to webgui after passing it blank rftest file and upload from there?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7274
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2020 8:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
That file is generally flashed through stock firmware webUI. Not sure about flashing it via TFTP.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
delhite2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2020 9:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Will try via web gui first, if that doesn't work out or it doesn't accept it, will then try tftp.
delhite2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2020 11:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
That file is generally flashed through stock firmware webUI. Not sure about flashing it via TFTP.

ok, i flashed it via tftp (web gui didnt work),and it loads up ddwrt and obviously shows just one WL chip, but the problem is that radio amplifiers for the working chip {(BCM 4360 supports both 5ghz & 2.4ghz)} are sky 5003L1 which dont support 2.4ghz band and currently the only running & available band is 2.4ghz, i cant change it to 5ghz atleast via webgui.
this result is extremely poor signal strength, device only next to it are able to see the SSID.
rest all seems to be working though.
I think since this particular device has 2 wlan chips, it assigns the first found chip to 2.4ghz band, if it hand found both i am sure it would have made correct assignments, but currently this is a big bummer.
Nevertheless i am glad atleast ddwrt has loaded up.

attaching the serial output too, since flashing to first boot.



after ddwrt via tftp.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  after ddwrt via tftp.txt
 Filesize:  17.71 KB
 Downloaded:  57 Time(s)

kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7274
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2020 11:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Forwarded report to the developer. Have you reset via webUI (Administration->Factory Defaults) to see if it's just an nvram issue? Not sure if there is anything else to try at the moment, but reset via webUI may help.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
delhite2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2020 11:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes i did reset, but for the sake of being sure I will do once more and report back.
Edit: done, it didn't help.
Edit 2: basically a correct assignment of wlan chips is needed for this router.
Bcm 4360 is used for 5ghz wlan
Bcm 4331 is used for 2.4 ghz wlan

I have tinkered a lot for past few hours... Using the CLI & there was no way that I could activate the 5g band for the wlan chip.

I am no genius but i think with so many dual band routers in use, accurate assignment according to capability of chip should be added or in this case possibility to maybe choose either of the bands since the wlan chip supports both bands.
Thank you for the efforts.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7274
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 19:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Because some people can't read and understand the forum rules, and I want this out in public discussion:

delhite2 wrote:
Hi. Do u think he will fix the incorrectly assigned wlan chip issue, or will he not thinking that the issue has come because one wlan chip is fried.

kernel-panic69 wrote:
I will have to reply to his email, but this was his last response:
Quote:
yep. this log shows that i catched the bug. i added some debug message to my idea of the bug and the debug message triggers
and i see no other errors
Quote:
Still some possible issues unless the user's device is experiencing hardware failure. I pulled 43736 test image off the alpha builds server and posted it for the user to test flashing their device. Serial log attached. Not sure if you had already downloaded it from the forum as it had said it had been downloaded once.

delhite2 wrote:
OK, kindly send a email, and just to know if it will be fixable /fixed...
I am no genius but i think with so many dual band routers in use, accurate assignment according to capability of chip should be added or in this case possibility to maybe choose either of the bands since the wlan chip supports both bands.
Thank you for the efforts.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
delhite2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 19:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
I apologise for the same, I was just replying to your PM which related to a device which has semi failed hardware. Of course this should have been asked in here and i literally did ask it here, I didn't ask or write anything which the community would be deprived of in my PM to you.
_________________
Plentiful WRT54G2v1
1 Archer C7 V4
1 941nd V3
2 E4200
1 E3000
1 E2000
1 WRT310N
All running DD-WRT
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7274
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2020 10:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is the response, which verifies what I was going to suggest this morning, anyway.
Quote:
dont know if something is broken on the device. cat /proc/bus/pci/devices could tell me if the all devices are shown on the pci bus.
the cause for the initial crash was, that he phy of the wifi chipset was not properly detected. i made a error check in the driver to avoid the crash at least
and use default values

from the log it looks like just a single wifi card was found

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
delhite2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2020 12:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Output of cat /proc/bus/pci/devices


dev.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  dev.txt
 Filesize:  8.49 KB
 Downloaded:  50 Time(s)

kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7274
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2020 16:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do both radios work on stock firmware? I think you should be able to get this same information out of the serial console from stock firmware.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
delhite2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2020 16:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
It did not work, I have mentioned this earlier too.
One radio wasn't working... But 5g band was working.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7274
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2020 16:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
If it wasn't working on stock firmware, then it's likely dead and not recoverable, a hardware failure.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
delhite2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2020 17:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
I know, but the current working radio is incorrectly assigned to 2.4g band it should be assigned to 5g band.
I have said this atleast twice before that the working radio card is incorrectly assigned to 2.4g band when it should be operating the 5ghz band.
The working chip according to serial log is bcm 4360 which is used for 5g band on c8, the non working wlan card is bcm4331 which is used for 2.4ghz band.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum