Serial pinout of the Netgear R7000? [SOLVED]

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
baxtex
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Dec 2014
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 21:46    Post subject: Serial pinout of the Netgear R7000? [SOLVED] Reply with quote
I broke my Netgear R7000 when installing firmware. I cannot seem to be able to recover it with TFTP. When I reboot it, it doesn't go into the "blinking" state. So I brought out my old Serial cable. After connection the cable as shown on this blog: https://www.myopenrouter.com/article/how-debrick-or-recover-netgear-r7000-r6300v2-or-r6250-wi-fi-routers

I cannot seem to connect to the COM port with Putty. My cable has RXD which I put in the middle, ground to the left and TXD to the right according to the image. I then check the COM port in Device manager but Putty cannot connect. I want to remember that there was a better guide for this a couple of years ago but I cannot seem to find it any longer.

Am I doing something wrong here with the cable? I did rescue this router once with it before I just don't remember how I did it.
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7203
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 22:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=288262

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1116253

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1052290

I'm looking for one in particular, but those may help.

Also, if you have the latest putty, be aware:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=323931

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
baxtex
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Dec 2014
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2020 5:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=288262

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1116253

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1052290

I'm looking for one in particular, but those may help.

Also, if you have the latest putty, be aware:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=323931


Thanks, my main issue seems to be that my PC cannot communicate with it via serial. Can be driver issues because last time i did this I had Windows 7.

I'm thinking of making a booatble Linux drive and try from there instead.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7203
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2020 8:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
If it's an older Prolific chipset adapter, you may have to install the fake P*2303 drivers or whatever it is. I have, among the rest, one of those cheap cables that is no longer supported that doesn't work without manipulating the driver in Win10, but works in Linux just fine.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
baxtex
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Dec 2014
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2020 8:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
If it's an older Prolific chipset adapter, you may have to install the fake P*2303 drivers or whatever it is. I have, among the rest, one of those cheap cables that is no longer supported that doesn't work without manipulating the driver in Win10, but works in Linux just fine.


Yep, I did boot Linux from USB and it worked straight away!

Managed to get it into flashing mode and flash Stock Netgear again and then I installed DDWRT so now everything works again!
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7203
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2020 8:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Good to hear.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum