Linksys WRT 1900ACS Configure As Wired WiFi Repeater

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Traverse_Jon
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 12:09    Post subject: Linksys WRT 1900ACS Configure As Wired WiFi Repeater Reply with quote
I have been using DD-WRT for several years and have managed to set up VPNs, CRON jobs and other customizations, but I am having problems with a current project and would like to ask for help.

My primary router is a Netgear R7800 flashed with DD-WRT. I have a secondary router that I would like to use as a wired wifi repeater in my garage, which has an ethernet cable running back to the primary router.

The secondary router is a Linksys WRT 1900 ACS flashed with DD-WRT 3.0 r-40459 (7/30/19).

I set the primary router (gateway) with an address of 10.0.0.1, and reserved a static lease for the Linksys at 10.0.0.50

I have tried configuring the Linksys several times, and once was able to ping 10.0.0.50 successfully, but the Linksys was not broadcasting wifi.

Could someone tell me the configuration details to use in DD-WRT so that the Linksys
1. is connected by ethernet to the primary router
2. repeats the wifi signal in the secondary location

Question related to #2 is: I would like a user in the remote location to know that he is wirelessly connected to the secondary router, so I was thinking that secondary router would be set up with an SSID different from the primary router, but I have seen several comments that both primary and secondary router should broadcast the same SSIDs. Please comment on that as well.

I appreciate any help that someone can give.
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 12:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Most likely, you will need to set it up as a wired Wireless Access Point (last link):

Repeating Mode Comparisons - DD-WRT Wiki

Universal Wireless Repeater - DD-WRT Wiki (deprecated, if I am not mistaken)