TP-link Archer C7, WDS issues

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
jvb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 13:46    Post subject: TP-link Archer C7, WDS issues Reply with quote
Hi everyone,

I have two TP-link Archer C7 v5 with DD-WRT(v3.0-r43209) installed on each. Followed the steps for the Atheros Linked router setup.

The routers seem to connect to each other as can see each MAC on the Status>Wireless page, but there is no separate WDS node section on the page, not sure if this is normal for the Atheros set up.

Main issue is that no matter where I am, iphone and osx devices seem to connect to only the host router. The few windows systems I have seem to connect to the station no problem, but unsure if it is windows specific or just chance.

Anyone have ideas that might help?
Sponsor
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2190
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 16:32    Post subject: WDS VAP Reply with quote
Did you create a Virtual AP on the WDS Station?

This is required in order to extend the network, use the same SSID & password if you want to extend it. If you just want another WiFi network, you can use any SSID and password.

My Virtual APs on my WDS Stations are all WDS AP mode as some of my stations are connected to other stations, etc. PS: Yes, I know about the 1/2 bandwidth problem. Doesn't bother me, I have to cover 80%+ of a 9 acre property, without running ethernet all over the place.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
jvb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 17:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, created VAP for the WDS station with WDS AP mode.

Confirmed with another windows laptop that it has no problem with the network. Tired moving even further away from the host router, but still in range of the station with an iphone and it just disconnects, doesn't switch over. It's like the other devices just don't see the WDS station. Going to double check the wireless security settings.

I did find that TKIP option for WPA2 doesn't work well with iphones, so I disabled that.
servicetech
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 323

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 19:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
jvb wrote:

I did find that TKIP option for WPA2 doesn't work well with iphones, so I disabled that.


Use the standard WPA2 Personal CCMP 128 AES
jvb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 20:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
That did it.

Thank you so much!
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2190
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 20:23    Post subject: Recommended Settings Reply with quote
See the QCA recommended settings here: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Atheros/ath_wireless_settings
_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum