Forgot password, can't 30/30/30, can't telnet

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
nckwrn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 2:49    Post subject: Forgot password, can't 30/30/30, can't telnet Reply with quote
So I'm in a pickle, I have an Archer C9 running ddwrt and I cannot remember my admin password. I figured okay I'll just reset, but guess what the reset button has been turned off in the firmware. Finally I try to telnet in however it's asking for the same password which I do not have.

Right now all I can think is brute Force the password.

Any easier ideas?

Thanks
Sponsor
flyzipper
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Feb 2016
Posts: 408

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 2:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you're using Chrome, maybe jog your memory...

chrome://settings/passwords
nckwrn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 4:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
flyzipper wrote:
If you're using Chrome, maybe jog your memory...

chrome://settings/passwords


Yes I have tried both of the suggestions
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7201
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 8:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Reset button for 10 seconds or so. 30/30/30 on Broadcom ARM is not advisable, as it may brick the router.
nckwrn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 17:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
jxm wrote:
Check out Serial Recovery. You can issue a command nvram erase from the CFE prompt. Then reboot... should do the trick. Failing that, you can re-flash the router from the CFE prompt.

Cheers


Thank you for the info, from what I have gathered it looks like I'll need to open the router case and connect some wires and probably order a special usb interface? Does that sound accurate?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7201
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 17:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
nckwrn wrote:
jxm wrote:
Check out Serial Recovery. You can issue a command nvram erase from the CFE prompt. Then reboot... should do the trick. Failing that, you can re-flash the router from the CFE prompt.

Cheers


Thank you for the info, from what I have gathered it looks like I'll need to open the router case and connect some wires and probably order a special usb interface? Does that sound accurate?


Yep. If doing a 10-second or so reset button push doesn't work.
nckwrn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 18:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
When I configured ddwrt there was a setting to disable the reset button, in hindsight I probably should not have disabled it.

I've tried holding the button for 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 30 seconds, I've tried turning the unit off, holding the reset button and then powering back on. The reset button seems very disabled. Embarassed

Thanks everybody for the help, looks like I will be attempting a serial recovery
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2576
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
nckwrn wrote:
When I configured ddwrt there was a setting to disable the reset button, in hindsight I probably should not have disabled it.
Ya, don't do that. Smile Have you tried hitting the reset (or WPS) button right after power-up (~<1s)? The CFE prob doesn't look at it though. You could try flashing back to OEM and hope it doesn't use the same reset nvram enable, but the only other option would be serial CFE break to `nvram erase`, as jxm stated.

If you don't already have an adapter, it can be done from a Raspberry Pi as well.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.1|FT2020.5: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44294: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
nckwrn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 23:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
I do have a raspberry pi! Could you send me a link with the info please??

Also how would I flash without logging into the router?

Thanks again
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7201
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 0:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Once you're serial'ed in and can break CFE boot and issue nvram erase and reboot, you should be good to go, because it will reset all the configs. But to answer your question on how you would flash, it would be over TFTP per the serial recovery wiki

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Serial_Recovery

I found this forum thread about using a pi on a tp-link:

https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=87036

Google 'unbrick router with raspberry pi'

https://lifehacker.com/unbrick-a-router-with-a-raspberry-pi-1466721544

https://lifehacker.com/1468403637

https://webventures.tweakblogs.net/blog/8736/unbricking-your-router-with-a-raspberry-pi.html

https://hackaday.com/2013/11/15/unbricking-a-router-with-a-raspi/

..........
nckwrn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 1:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Once you're serial'ed in and can break CFE boot and issue nvram erase and reboot, you should be good to go, because it will reset all the configs. But to answer your question on how you would flash, it would be over TFTP per the serial recovery wiki

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Serial_Recovery

I found this forum thread about using a pi on a tp-link:

https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=87036

Google 'unbrick router with raspberry pi'

https://lifehacker.com/unbrick-a-router-with-a-raspberry-pi-1466721544

https://lifehacker.com/1468403637

https://webventures.tweakblogs.net/blog/8736/unbricking-your-router-with-a-raspberry-pi.html

https://hackaday.com/2013/11/15/unbricking-a-router-with-a-raspi/

..........


Very interesting thread about the raspberry pi, will be installing raspbian and then installing screen onto it, opening up the router and connecting the three wires from the pi to the router tonight.

Thank you very much for all the help
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7201
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 1:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
nckwrn wrote:
Very interesting thread about the raspberry pi, will be installing raspbian and then installing screen onto it, opening up the router and connecting the three wires from the pi to the router tonight.

Thank you very much for all the help


No problem. I didn't read every linked article in detail, but I am wondering if you could substitute minicom for screen. Either or should work. I just haven't used screen in ... about 12 years Shocked
nckwrn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 1:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
nckwrn wrote:
Very interesting thread about the raspberry pi, will be installing raspbian and then installing screen onto it, opening up the router and connecting the three wires from the pi to the router tonight.

Thank you very much for all the help


No problem. I didn't read every linked article in detail, but I am wondering if you could substitute minicom for screen. Either or should work. I just haven't used screen in ... about 12 years Shocked


Lol on the raspberrypi.org thread you linked he does recommend using screen
MisinformedDNA
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jul 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 18:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
The same thing happened to me. I wrote an app to brute force it (I gave it some hints) and I had my credentials within a few minutes!
nckwrn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 1:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
MisinformedDNA wrote:
The same thing happened to me. I wrote an app to brute force it (I gave it some hints) and I had my credentials within a few minutes!


I am interested! I will say my password had a mix of cases, numbers, and I think exclamation points
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum