Anyone else get early morning drop outs?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
WouldRatherBeFOSS
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Nov 2019
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 17:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks.

My Ethernet cable is indeed not connected to the cabinet: the cabinet is a . . cabinet (though made of metal) some distance from my house, and which serves various properties.

I do not know quite how to complete the schema that you exemplified with the following:

Quote:
Fiber > Cabinet > telephone wires > 'Modem'(?) > Ethernet (WAN) > RT-AC66U > Ethernet (LAN) > PCs, Phones &/ IoTs


But perhaps like this:

Fiber > Cabinet > telephone wires > British Telecom 'OpenReach' modem, model (I think) 'B- Focus v-2FUb rev. B' > Ethernet (WAN) > RT-AC66U > Ethernet (LAN) > One Windows desktop (on Ethernet), two Linux laptops (on 5GHz wifi), one old Android phone (on 2.4GHz wifi).

_________________
My router: Asus RT-AC66U

Operating systems on devices that I use with that router: GNU-Linux; Windows 10; Android Lollipop
Sponsor
tli
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Mar 2019
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 17:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
WouldRatherBeFOSS wrote:
...
Fiber > Cabinet > telephone wires > British Telecom 'OpenReach' modem, model (I think) 'B- Focus v-2FUb rev. B' > Ethernet (WAN) > RT-AC66U > Ethernet (LAN) > One Windows desktop (on Ethernet), two Linux laptops (on 5GHz wifi), one old Android phone (on 2.4GHz wifi).


Google search shows that the BT OpenReach modem is indeed a DSL modem. Might check its log for any possible clues to your disconnects. Might also check with any local users support forums for additional info on your Internet setup. DSL signals are susceptible to RF interference, not just from radio station but even regular household electrical appliances such as microwave ovens. Need to methodically verify that your DSL connection is indeed stable and operating reliably first in order to isolate the cause of your disconnects. Good luck!
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7207
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 18:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
And this is just some of the web results. Lots of evil laughter included, but not sure if the OpenWRT information is helpful at all or if the modem is the one referred to. I didn't follow the paper trail to see if it actually still worked as a modem or not. At least now you can possibly figure out what your disconnect issues are caused by, perhaps?

https://www.google.com/search?q=B-+Focus+v-2FUb+rev.+B

https://jonrob.net/posts/20170604-hacking-the-openreach-eci-modem-b-focus-v-2fub-r-rev-b.html

https://www.flickr.com/photos/johnbullas/sets/72157647247392454/

https://blog.stuart.shelton.me/archives/999

https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php?topic=10635.0

https://openwrt.org/toh/bt/vg3503j

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5769
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 18:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Check the Signal Attenuation.

https://www.speedguide.net/faq/what-is-considered-good-dsl-line-attenuation-371
WouldRatherBeFOSS
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Nov 2019
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 19:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
kp, tli

Thank you both very much for your suggestions and links.

It seems that even to read the logs of the modem (as against router) is involved. If my recent aforementioned tweaks to the DD-WRT router settings don't do the job, I might either try and get a new modem from my service provider or else buy a replacement router from a company that was talked up on one of the linked pages, namely, ZxYEL.

_________________
My router: Asus RT-AC66U

Operating systems on devices that I use with that router: GNU-Linux; Windows 10; Android Lollipop
WouldRatherBeFOSS
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Nov 2019
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 19:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg:

Thanks. That sounds a good idea. However, after some looking around - in my DD-WRT settings and on the 'net - I cannot find a way to find the attenuation value.

_________________
My router: Asus RT-AC66U

Operating systems on devices that I use with that router: GNU-Linux; Windows 10; Android Lollipop
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5769
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 19:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's in the dsl modem.
WouldRatherBeFOSS
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Nov 2019
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 22:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
It's in the dsl modem.

Thanks, but, as I said pretty much explicitly above, I have trouble extracting anything from the modem.

_________________
My router: Asus RT-AC66U

Operating systems on devices that I use with that router: GNU-Linux; Windows 10; Android Lollipop
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5769
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 4:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Access_To_Modem_Configuration
WouldRatherBeFOSS
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Nov 2019
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 5:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks. I had seen that rather overwhelming (and sub-optimally written) page before. I took another look at it.

Some port scanning and some Internet searching suggested some possible IPs for the modem (IPs valud even when the modem remains in its usual setup, i.e. not connected to a computer directly by Ethernet - or by a more exotic cable; one webpage about my modem goes so far as to suggest that I need to fiddle with physical pins).

So at this stage I am ready to follow the advice of the page (the page) where it says that, in the DD-WRT interface, I should do:

Quote:
Assumes LAN subnet 192.168.2.nnn and modem at 192.168.1.1 (change as appropriate):

ifconfig `nvram get wan_ifname`:0 192.168.1.2 netmask 255.255.255.0

But I do not know how to change as appropriate. For, just how do (1) the LAN subnet IP and (2) the modem IP relate to the numbers in the command? And simply pointing a browser, or SSH, at the modem IP (/any of the plausible modem IPs) failed.

EDIT: Somehow through all that messing around I stopped being able to log into the router GUI. I rebooted it via SSH and it's fine now. Also, in my travels, I discovered . . this .. Smile

_________________
My router: Asus RT-AC66U

Operating systems on devices that I use with that router: GNU-Linux; Windows 10; Android Lollipop
WouldRatherBeFOSS
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Nov 2019
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 6:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey all,

I think I'm going to get a new modem (not router) and not from my ISP. (My ISP now supplies only a modem integrated with a router. That all-in-one unit is called 'Hub One'.).

Can anyone give me any general tips on how I would get such a modem to work with my DD-WRT router, and perhaps one what a good, home modem - for broadband (fibre-to-the-cabinet) would be? Thanks.

_________________
My router: Asus RT-AC66U

Operating systems on devices that I use with that router: GNU-Linux; Windows 10; Android Lollipop
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3809
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
not bad idea to tell us what country you are and ISP you use and what interface you have (DSL, RJ45, DOCSIS...
for example for UK and connections around 100-1500MBit i can recommend EchoLife HG612 (it works on BT or Plusnet)...

https://kitz.co.uk/routers/hg612unlock.htm



external-content.duckduckgo.com.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  11.17 KB
 Viewed:  1183 Time(s)

external-content.duckduckgo.com.jpg



_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 444406 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7207
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://www.tomsguide.com/us/best-modems,review-2832.html

https://www.bestadvisor.com/dsl-modem/

https://10-0-0-0-1.org/reviews/modems/dsl/

https://bluegadgettooth.com/best-dsl-modems/

https://noblerate.com/best-dsl-modems/

https://www.pickmyrouter.com/best-dsl-modems/

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5769
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 13:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
A media converter should be enough for a Fiber.

https://www.elfadistrelec.no/no/medieomformer-1000mbps-sc-port-1000mbps-rj45-port-15km-tp-link-mc210cs/p/30099026
arssant
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Aug 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 16:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
A media converter should be enough for a Fiber.

https://www.elfadistrelec.no/no/medieomformer-1000mbps-sc-port-1000mbps-rj45-port-15km-tp-link-mc210cs/p/30099026


Hi.

Don´t know about this one. Not many ISP use two physical fiber lines, TX and RX on separated "cable" ). Usually what I see is just one fiber "cable" for TX and RX. At least for private consumer. I saw once a business consumer with that configuration, 2 fiber "cables". But we are talking about terabit connection Smile

Your example, should be a must for connecting 2 separated building/home for private use.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum