New Build - 05-22-2020 - r43217

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1547
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 17:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: (Off Site 1) Netgear R7000
-DHCP WAN (Gateway)
-IPv6 - 6in4 Static Tunnel (HE IPv6 Tunnel Broker) for 4xVLANs via Dnsmasq
-1x Static Lease
-7xVLANs + 7xBridges
-DDNS - Custom Script
-1xWireGuard
-Entware DNSCrypt-Proxy V2 - IPv4 Cisco Servers w/filtering
-YAMon3.4.6 w/Entware's ip-full for IPv6
-5xSSIDs-2xAPs+3xVAPs
-SSH -Custom Port & Key
-Telnet
-Syslog
-NTP server left blank
-QoS - Disabled
-TCP Congestion - bbr
-Cron Job
-USB w/32GB USB3 Thumb Drive
-Custom Scripts
-Custom Startup,Shutdown,Firewall Scripts
-ttraff Disabled
-SFE Disabled

Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r43217 std (05/22/20) [from: DD-WRT DD-WRT v3.0-r43192 std (05/19/20)]
Linux Rel: Linux 4.4.224 #192 SMP Fri May 22 [from: Linux 4.4.223 #162 SMP Tue May 19]
WiFi Firmware: version 7.14.89.21 (r524987)
WireGuard: WireGuard 1.0.20200520 loaded
Reset: NO
Status & Uptime: Working over 20 hours, Working
Issues/Fixes: none/none

Thank-you BrianSlyer for your Great Work and everyone else who makes DD-WRT Great on the Forum!

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway WiFi 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r43904 Std
WHR-HP-G54 - Internal Routing - DDWRT r35531 std-special
2x E3000 - Gateway Wired IPTV - DDWRT r35652 Mega
E3000 - TRAVEL Wireless Client WireGuard(+20Mbit/s) - DDWRT r43904 Mega

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway, WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r43652 Std
WRT610Nv1 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r43217 Std
E2000 - Wired PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
Sponsor
blackraiin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Dec 2017
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 19:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model: Netgear R6400 v2
Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r43217 std ( 05/22/20 )
Kernel Version: Linux 4.4.224 #192 SMP Fri May 22 08:05:47 +04 2020 armv7l
Previous/Reset: Some version from June of last year and no i did not reset
Mode/Status: Access Point
Issues/Errors: Samba discovery on any of my Mac devices DO NOT work ... my main DD-WRT router is on the last working build that allows for my Apple devices to see my NAS connected to DD-WRT dated December 29, 2019.

My main router is the Netgear R9000

Will Samba discovery ever work again for Apple devices ?
tinkeruntilitworks
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 May 2019
Posts: 272

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 19:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
what my jffs2 typically look like

kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6879
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 20:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
I generally do not promote or encourage it in these threads, but I guess I have to.

WouldRatherBeFOSS wrote:
Router/Version: Asus RT-AC66U
Status: Not working - IP is assigned, but no Internet and cannot even ping 8.8.8.8


Are you in router or gateway mode?

blackraiin wrote:
Will Samba discovery ever work again for Apple devices ?


You can use the IP address of the NAS (smb://ip.address.of.nas), if I am not mistaken.

ThaCrip wrote:
"WAN lease time approaching zero bug on WRT54* devices fixed in 43191; ref: #6456"

Not to nitpick but I am running build r43190 (which is the test build BrainSlayer released) and the issue is fixed.


The official commit to the public repository was r43191. The test images were off a working copy that was in between 43190 and 43191 before the official commit.

@tinkeruntilitworks: Did you clear browser cache / use CTRL+F5 (windows) or whatever the shortcut to override cache is on Linux/Mac?

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
tinkeruntilitworks
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 May 2019
Posts: 272

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 21:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
cleared browser cache
flashed from putty
Code:
curl -sS --output /tmp/netgear-r7000p-webflash.bin https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/05-22-2020-r43217/netgear-r7000P/netgear-r7000p-webflash.bin
write /tmp/netgear-r7000p-webflash.bin linux && reboot

rebooted pc when router was rebooting

it appears the size values may be off
WouldRatherBeFOSS
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Nov 2019
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 21:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
@kernel-panic69: I am in router mode. I am sorry for not saying so before. I have amended my original post so that it does say so.
_________________
My router: Asus RT-AC66U

Operating systems on devices that I use with that router: GNU-Linux; Windows 10; Android Lollipop
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6879
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 1:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
WouldRatherBeFOSS wrote:
@kernel-panic69: I am in router mode. I am sorry for not saying so before. I have amended my original post so that it does say so.


Then you *must* put the upstream router's IP in the gateway block on the main setup page, or you will not have connectivity. This is *if* you are setting it up as a switch or wired AP with wan disabled and assigned to the switch. If you are setting it up closer to default, you have to be in gateway mode (i.e. if the upstream router's dhcp server is assigning the WAN IP).

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Iron_Mike
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 May 2020
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 7:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
I generally do not promote or encourage it in these threads, but I guess I have to.

Please tell me about my problem. Maybe I'm doing something wrong? Maybe I'm using the wrong firmware? Maybe there is a more suitable release for my DIR-320 A1 8mb flash.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6879
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 10:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Iron_Mike wrote:
kernel-panic69 wrote:
I generally do not promote or encourage it in these threads, but I guess I have to.

Please tell me about my problem. Maybe I'm doing something wrong? Maybe I'm using the wrong firmware? Maybe there is a more suitable release for my DIR-320 A1 8mb flash.


Are you referring to the WAN issue? I presume you mean that it will not get a WAN IP address? Have you tried powering off your modem and router, waiting a few minutes, and powering up the modem - let it boot up - and then power up the router?

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Iron_Mike
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 May 2020
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 10:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Iron_Mike wrote:
kernel-panic69 wrote:
I generally do not promote or encourage it in these threads, but I guess I have to.

Please tell me about my problem. Maybe I'm doing something wrong? Maybe I'm using the wrong firmware? Maybe there is a more suitable release for my DIR-320 A1 8mb flash.


Are you referring to the WAN issue? I presume you mean that it will not get a WAN IP address? Have you tried powering off your modem and router, waiting a few minutes, and powering up the modem - let it boot up - and then power up the router?


Thanks for your reply.
I have a cable provider. His cable is plugged into the WAN port. Authorization by MAC address. I am setting up MAC cloning. Save, apply. I turn off DIR-320. Then I turn it on, but he does not get the provider IP. In another version r36527, it works instantly.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6879
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 11:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, I guess I have to repeat: Did you try power cycling the cable modem? Turning it off for a few minutes, turning it back on, *then* powering up your router with it connected?
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Iron_Mike
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 May 2020
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 12:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Ok, I guess I have to repeat: Did you try power cycling the cable modem? Turning it off for a few minutes, turning it back on, *then* powering up your router with it connected?


I don’t know if I understand you correctly.
I turned off my DIR-320 and, after waiting a bit, turned it on. I did it. I do not have access to the equipment of the provider. I am connected to them using DOCSIS technology. I suppose that they have a modem installed on the trunk cable ARRIS, then there is a switch with a firewall DES-1008A, and then the twisted-pair subscribers are connected, which I belong to. I do the same with r36527, the WAN gets IP instantly.
Sorry for my English.
WouldRatherBeFOSS
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Nov 2019
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 14:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
@kernel-panic69

I fear I am wasting your time, though I am not sure it is wholly my fault. I tried to look up the various modes that a router can be in. Thereby I got the impression that 'router' mode meant using the router in a normal way - you know, to allow computers, via wifi or an Ethernet cable, to access the Internet. That is what I am using the router that is at issue for. The router is not connected to any other router or doing anything fancy. So, does this mean I am using 'gateway' mode?

_________________
My router: Asus RT-AC66U

Operating systems on devices that I use with that router: GNU-Linux; Windows 10; Android Lollipop
mwchang
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2013
Posts: 677
Location: Hung Hom, Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 15:19    Post subject: DD-WRT BS build 43217 and Asus RT-N18U Reply with quote
Router/Version: Asus RT-N18U (rev. A1)
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r43217 std (05/22/20)
Kernel: Linux 4.4.224 #196 Fri May 22 08:26:14 +04 2020 armv7l
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r43209 std (05/21/20)
Mode: WAN @ DHCP, Wireless @ AP
Status: Working (Not 24/7; Not using IPv6, VAP, VPN; Using NASd & USB)
Reset: NO reset during firmware upgrade but cold boot

Summary

Brief report only.

Firmware Size

From 30515200 (b.31277) to 24711168 (b.33555) = -5804032 bytes
From 24711168 (b.33555) to 27054080 (b.34929) = 2342912 bytes
From 27054080 (b.34929) to 26640384 (b.35531) = -413696 bytes
From 26640384 (b.35531) to 25022464 (b.36995) = -1617920 bytes
.... <snipped> ....
From 26988544 (b.42514) to 29143040 (b.42681) = 2154496 bytes
From 29143040 (b.42681) to 27693056 (b.42914) = -1449984 bytes
From 27693056 (b.42914) to 27705344 (b.43055) = 12288 bytes
From 27705344 (b.43055) to 26619904 (b.43171) = -1085440 bytes
From 26619904 (b.43171) to 26345472 (b.43192) = -274432 bytes
From 26345472 (b.43192) to 26341376 (b.43209) = -4096 bytes
From 26341376 (b.43209) to 26341376 (b.43217) = 0 bytes


_________________
Router: Asus RT-N18U (rev. A1)

May the Force and farces be with you! Live long and proper!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/changmanwai
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/changmw
SETI@Home profile: http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/view_profile.php?userid=211832
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 6879
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 17:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
WouldRatherBeFOSS wrote:
@kernel-panic69

The router is not connected to any other router or doing anything fancy. So, does this mean I am using 'gateway' mode?


What I was referring to is on the Setup->Advanced Routing tab in the webUI. Default is "gateway", but you can change that to other settings. Usually, a wired AP setup is to a LAN port, and the setting is set to "router" on that page.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum