Can't access Web Server from LAN Tower Server[SOLVED]

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
youdsmedia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 May 2020
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 12:49    Post subject: Can't access Web Server from LAN Tower Server[SOLVED] Reply with quote
Hi

Sorry to blag but I can't access port 80 and Google is confusing "web server" with the dd-wrt "web interface" queries so I thought I'd try and write a reasonably informed post with hope of getting an answer for this.

So basically I have Apache running from a stand alone tower server (16GB RAM, 24 Cores, you got it) and want to access the servers web site provision without hitting a failed to load page.

SSH is working so I have the right IP address, tried adding port 80 forwarding rule (did not know what I was doing) and entered 255.255.255.0 for Sub Network and then the IP address and ports for the forwarding rule, appropriately.

If someone can please tell me the answer I hope it helps somebody else spending 1.5 hours finding this info, as well as me.

Kind regards
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7178
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 16:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
It would help to know what router and what build revision number of DD-WRT you are running and from which side of router you are trying to access the apache server.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5310
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 18:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not sure why some have troubles with such.
I use Port Range Forwarding and have for many years without a problem

NOTE:
when you make changes there and Save / Apply Settings it may take 15 ~ 20 seconds before it all take affect.
If you imediately 'Apply Settings' and try to access what is forwarded you will likely get router webif wanting you to login...
... started doing this 'bout a year or so back --- but hell 15 ~ 20 seconds is fine with me


As you can see I have three devices that I forward 80 to depending on what I'm doing to their Apache servers.
Right now the Apache webserver is running to public via a wireless machine I just got & setup yesterday...
...I tend to swap what is running to public when I'm doing updates or whatever but all webservers are synced so it don't make no nevermind.
The other two I have ports 'blocked-out' are OVPN servers running on WAPs within my local net.


Main router is an EA8500 but works same whatever I have in as main gateway router.
I also always access webserver via its public domain name (NAT loopback) and/or I access the others that are not forwarded by their local name via local DNS
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 296

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 19:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
youdsmedia wrote:
tried adding port 80 forwarding rule (did not know what I was doing) and entered 255.255.255.0 for Sub Network and then the IP address and ports for the forwarding rule, appropriately


where do you specify the subnet for port forwarding?
can it be that you confuse "source net" with "subnet"?

I wanted to avoid a comment but ..

Quote:
So basically I have Apache running from a stand alone tower server (16GB RAM, 24 Cores, you got it)


great but too stupid to set up a simple port forwarding
youdsmedia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 May 2020
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 22:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
It would help to know what router and what build revision number of DD-WRT you are running and from which side of router you are trying to access the apache server.


Thanks for the reply. Yeah, I am using a Linksys WRT1900ACS. Latest did-wrt firmware.

Thanks also to the other poster who shared a screenshot. It’s appreciated.

As for the other posts the ambiguity with naming is a direct copy from the settings page. Can’t comment on what port forwarding has to do with Apache-Nginx. Just trying to get some help.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7178
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 23:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Saying "latest firmware" is kind of ambiguous. Do you mean 40559 or do you mean 43192? Also, you have a Marvell device, not Atheros.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
youdsmedia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 May 2020
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 20:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
So yeah, I went ahead and added in port 80 as in screenshot given but no change.

See attached, contains firmware version too.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5310
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 21:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
pic shows that router don't have a public WAN Rolling Eyes
...so you must forward port 80 to it (192.168.2.7) or put it in DMZ --- and then from router in pic forward port 80 to 192.168.1.129 (if that is the webserver IP)

oh yea, ---- that is a really old - NOT-so-good DD-WRT build showing in the pic
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7178
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2020 21:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
oh yea, ---- that is a really old - NOT-so-good DD-WRT build showing in the pic


Consider upgrading:

Where Do I Download Firmware?

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324920

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324963

And don't stay anything about the router database. There is a disclaimer on it now.
Router Database wrote:
DISCLAIMER

This database may not have up-to-date information and may even recommend a build which might cause issues. As such, you should check the device specific forum (Broadcom, Atheros, MediaTek, etc.) first before flashing any build recommended in this database. There you will find build specific topics that discuss any issues with a particular build/release. For more up-to-date firmware files, please visit the firmware faq.

YOU HAVE BEEN GIVEN FRIENDLY AND FAIR NOTICE

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
youdsmedia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 May 2020
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 9:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks guys - hope this forum post helps somebody else.
youdsmedia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 May 2020
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 9:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
So I followed the advice and upgraded firmware. Put "7" into the "DMZ" page under "NAT / QoS" and have the following put into "Port Range Forwarding"

Application Start End Protocol IP Address Enable
HTTPD 80 80 192.168.1.129

Now I am going to try and setup a public WAN. I'll update with manipulations made soon(ish).
youdsmedia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 May 2020
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 9:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
So the first thing I noticed was that the wiki page returned is out of date by its own recognition (it says it on the page) https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Public_Sub-Net_Over_Dynamic_WAN

I did try and follow the guide and couldn't find anything along the lines of "VLAN" under "Setup" so came back here.

Hoping somebody can point me in the right direction.
youdsmedia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 May 2020
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 9:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Attached are the pages I reference. Enjoy.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5310
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 10:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
youdsmedia, I think you a bit confused.
I wrote wrote:
...so you must forward port 80 to it (192.168.2.7) or put it in DMZ

meaning WHATEVER ROUTER is in front of this one ....
something is because it is showing a private WAN IP.

You put the IP (192.168.2.7) of this device (showing in your picture) into the DMZ of router in front of it
youdsmedia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 May 2020
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 10:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ahh. OK

And the port triggering is included in that too, is that correct?

I apologise in advance I have never studied networking.

All the best.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum