TP-Link TC-W7960 to Linksys e2500

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
MsDymond
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 May 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2020 22:24    Post subject: TP-Link TC-W7960 to Linksys e2500 Reply with quote
Hello Everyone Very Happy

I have been trying for the last 2 weeks, to connect my TP-Link TC-W7960 to Linksys e2500 (DD-WRT build 40559 mega).

I have looked ALL over your forums, and the internet. I have used several methods but none seem to work. Or maybe it's just me, not understanding what to do. Confused

I just need to know in layman's terms.


THIS SETUP IS DONE!!
My TP-Link W7960 that is my modem/router. That is connected to the coax cable for xfinity internet. That my living room TV and PS4 is using for wifi internet SSID: MyWifi (192.168.5.1).


NEED TO KNOW HOW TO SETUP TO MY TP-Link
Have my Linksys e2500 (DD-WRT build 40559 mega) as a secondary router. That would be on the other side of the house. Which would have a different SSID: 2ndWifi. And have my OTHER TV and PS4 connected to it's wifi.

I need to know the settings to put on each device, and what ports to connect the ethernet cord on each device.

Thank You
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8394
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2020 23:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Where Do I Download Firmware?

Firmware FAQ

DD-WRT Wiki - Linking Routers

DD-WRT Wiki - Basic Wireless Settings

DD-WRT Wiki - Advanced Wireless Settings

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
MsDymond
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 May 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2020 21:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
jxm wrote:
You do not have to do anything special to your main router. Set up your second router as a Wireless Access Point to extend the wifi and add extra ethernet ports to your LAN. Instructions are here
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_Access_Point
The instructions you need to follow are under this heading:
Normal Version (Same Subnet)

Cheers.


Thank You for that information. I have tried the link you gave me and the "Normal Version (Same Subnet)" you said to do. I have spent the last 8 hours trying to get it to work. Everything on the instructions, I can do except #3.

Open the Setup -> Basic Setup tab

1.) WAN Connection Type: Disabled
2.) **Local IP Address: e.g. 192.168.1.2 (same subnet as primary router but outside the DHCP range)
3.) Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0 (unless you know what you're doing)
4.) DHCP Server: Disable (do not use DHCP Forwarder), also uncheck DNSmasq options
5.) **Gateway/Local DNS: IP address of primary router (unless you know what you're doing)
6.) Recommended) Assign WAN Port to Switch (visible when WAN Connection Type is Disabled)

with #2 My devices currently have a IP assigned when connected to the wifi from the TP-Link. So when I assign the DD-WRT Linksys e2500 Local IP Address. Should it be a number that is NOT assigned to a device (example 192.168.1.20)? Cause the example uses 192.168.1.2 and that is assigned to one of my laptops.

with #5 I do not know what that is or where to find it. So during the setup you had me do, I leave that part blank.

When I get done setting everything up. I "apply settings". On my computer wifi list, I see the SSID I put on the DD-WRT Linksys e2500. I click connect, put the password in. But it tells me "the connection is slower then usual. connection is not available." it would render again, and then nothing. So obviously I am doing something wrong Crying or Very sad
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8394
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2020 21:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Most all of that is on the main setup page tab. You will also want to use "save" on all applicable pages and tabs and then go to either "Services" or "Administration" tab and scroll to the bottom and use "reboot router" button.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum