Netgear r6300v2 - vlan port assignments mystery

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
jst2010
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 May 2020
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2020 0:29    Post subject: Netgear r6300v2 - vlan port assignments mystery Reply with quote
Hi everyone,

I have an unused Netgear R6300v2 with Kong's firmware installed awhile ago. Now, I'd like to use it as a gateway. I upgraded it to r43028 and tried to create a few vlans by following this Switched Ports guide

Followings are the default settings of switch.
Code:

root@DD-WRT:~# nvram show | grep vlan.*ports | sort
size: 31111 bytes (34425 left)
vlan1ports=0 1 2 3 5*
vlan2ports=4 5u
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram show | grep port.*vlans | sort
size: 31111 bytes (34425 left)
port0vlans=2
port1vlans=1
port2vlans=1
port3vlans=1
port4vlans=1
port5vlans=1 2 16
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram show | grep vlan.*hwname | sort
size: 31111 bytes (34425 left)
vlan1hwname=et0
vlan2hwname=et0


The vlans and ports assignments look mysterious to me. As, vlan2 (WAN) has ports 4 and 5; but port4vlans is assigned 1 and port0vlans is assigned 2.

What I would like is to have external ports 3 and 4 in vlan1, external port 2 in vlan10, and port 4 in vlan100.

Could somebody please demystify it and help me achieve my goal?

Thank you.

Router: Netgear R6300v2
ddwrt: r43028
Sponsor
SFB
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Apr 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2020 4:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Take a look here:VLAN wiki pages

Especially: VLAN Detached Networks (Separate Networks With Internet)
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 9007
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2020 5:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Switched Ports <--this one may likely be of more use.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
MrPete
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2013
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2020 14:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
That "default" config is clearly incorrect.
1) Have you done a full reset of all settings?

2) A guess: seems likely, the fixes needed are:
nvram set vlan1ports="1 2 3 5*"
nvram set vlan2ports="0 5u"
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum