VLAN on Netgear R6700

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
mortacci
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Mar 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2021 16:18    Post subject: VLAN on Netgear R6700 Reply with quote
Hello, I am trying to configure my R6700 so that it can connect to my network using my VLANS


Here is what I want to do:

1. R6700 is just used as an AP. WAN connection disabled. DHCP Disabled.
2. Switch uplink to R6700 port 4 from a managed Netgear GS110tp port 1.
3. Port 1 on GS110TP is VLAN 1 and 4 both Tagged VLAN
4. R6700 port 4 Turned on VLAN Tagging for VLAN 1 and VLAN 4
5. I can now change port 2, 3, and 4 on R6700 to either VLAN and they work.

Following so far?

6. Now I want to set wifi WL0 to VLAN 1 and wifi WL1 to VLAN 4. Is this possible, how is it done, and do I have the first 5 steps correct?

Thanks



Capture.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  73.9 KB
 Viewed:  116 Time(s)

Capture.JPG




Last edited by mortacci on Fri Apr 09, 2021 16:52; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 8430
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2021 16:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Topic is hardware-specific, so I moved your post to Broadcom forum. Not sure if there was ever a wiki written about this, but hopefully egc or eibgrad will chime in as they are more knowledgeable than I am about this.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7453
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2021 17:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am far from a VLAN expert but the trick to do this is to create a bridge e.g. br1
Then attach the VLAN and the WLAN to that bridge so that they are connected.

Important is to leave the VLAN and the WLAN bridged (this seems contradictory) because they are bridged to ... br1 Smile

For some reading:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1185512

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum