Archer C9/C1900 -5533 Error Flashing DD-WRT

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
michaelc37
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 1:20    Post subject: Re: *Yawn* C1900 V1 -5533 Reply with quote
scopedial wrote:
Early this year I walked away from my C1900 V1 after it started emitting the -5533 error trying to load factory-to-ddwrt.
I've decided to take another crack at it.

This C1900 is the Canadian version.
The firmware is 3.18.0 Build 20160201 Rel. 42677n
I just did a factory restore and a 30/30/30 and am still getting a -5533.
I have seen C9s getting recovered here but not the C1900.

Do I need to use tftp to get this thing to load?

Thanks all.



I have the C1900 canadian version as well, and I was also getting this -5533 error.

I did some digging into the candian firmware files i realized that special_id of the SupportList section for the canadian version is 43410000 where as the us version is 55534100.

so, i tried to take the existing c1900 factory-to-ddwrt.bin firmware and hex edited the SuportList section at the bottom so that special_id is 43410000 instead of 55534100. i saved the changes, and tried to load it in the tplink firmware upgrade page and now i have the "Error code: 18005. Upgrade unsuccessfully because the version of the upgraded file was incorrect. Please check the file name"

i assume that there is also some md5 checksum thing that i also need to modify, but dont know where todo it.


it might be easier to rebuild a new ddwrt firmware file by adding a new archerc1900CA_support_list defined with the special_id 43410000

http://svn.dd-wrt.com/browser/src/router/tools/archerc9/mktplinkfw3.c

//canada
static const unsigned char archerc1900CA_support_list[] =
"\x00\x00\x00\x5a\x00\x00\x00\x00"
"SupportList:\n"
"{product_name:ArcherC1900,"
"product_ver:1.0.0,"
"language=US,"
"special_id:43410000}"
"\x00";


//existing
archerc1900_support_list[] =
"\x00\x00\x00\x5a\x00\x00\x00\x00"
"SupportList:\n"
"{product_name:ArcherC1900,"
"product_ver:1.0.0,"
"language=US,"
"special_id:55534100}"
"\x00";



then add a new else if in the main function

else if (strcmp(board, "ARCHERC1900CA") == 0)
529 do_cpe510(archerc1900CA_support_list,sizeof(archerc1900CA_support_list), "archerc9v2_cfe.bin", output, kernel_image, rootfs_image, add_jffs2_eof, sysupgrade);
530


i have not been able figureout how to build the bin yet, but i thought id share what i discovered so far.
if anyone is able to do this before i do, please share results.
Sponsor
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2670
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 16:24    Post subject: Re: *Yawn* C1900 V1 -5533 Reply with quote
michaelc37 wrote:
I did some digging into the canadian firmware files i realized that special_id of the SupportList section for the canadian version is 43410000 where as the us version is 55534100.

so, i tried to take the existing c1900 factory-to-ddwrt.bin firmware and hex edited the SuportList section at the bottom so that special_id is 43410000 instead of 55534100. i saved the changes, and tried to load it in the tplink firmware upgrade page and now i have the "Error code: 18005. Upgrade unsuccessfully because the version of the upgraded file was incorrect. Please check the file name"

i assume that there is also some md5 checksum thing that i also need to modify, but dont know where to do it.
Yes the OEM firmware checks the f/w crc, but the CFE may not; I don't know about this model. Have you tried to TFTP the firmware (or your modified one) at boot?
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
OPNsense x64 5050e ITX|DD: DIR-810L, 2*EA6900@1GHz, R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353,
WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|FreshTomato: F7D8302@532|OpenWRT: F9K1119v1, RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
michaelc37
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 18:47    Post subject: Re: *Yawn* C1900 V1 -5533 Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
Yes the OEM firmware checks the f/w crc, but the CFE may not; I don't know about this model. Have you tried to TFTP the firmware (or your modified one) at boot?


Yes I tried TFTP and can see in the TFTP logs that the router downloads the modified firmware but it does not end up flashing it.
chicoraf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Oct 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 11:11    Post subject: Re: *Yawn* C1900 V1 -5533 Reply with quote
michaelc37 wrote:
jwh7 wrote:
Yes the OEM firmware checks the f/w crc, but the CFE may not; I don't know about this model. Have you tried to TFTP the firmware (or your modified one) at boot?


Yes I tried TFTP and can see in the TFTP logs that the router downloads the modified firmware but it does not end up flashing it.


michaelc37, I had the same problem. This firmware solved my problem, no error 5533: http://forum.tp-link.com/showthread.php?105420-Archer-c9-firmware-update
michaelc37
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 20:39    Post subject: Re: *Yawn* C1900 V1 -5533 Reply with quote
chicoraf wrote:

michaelc37, I had the same problem. This firmware solved my problem, no error 5533: http://forum.tp-link.com/showthread.php?105420-Archer-c9-firmware-update


Thanks, but it did not work for me.
mgerdzhev
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Aug 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 3:35    Post subject: Re: *Yawn* C1900 V1 -5533 Reply with quote
@michaelc37 did you finally figure it out? I am in the same situation with my c1900ca v1. Can't seem to find a way to get dd-wrt on it.


michaelc37 wrote:
scopedial wrote:
Early this year I walked away from my C1900 V1 after it started emitting the -5533 error trying to load factory-to-ddwrt.
I've decided to take another crack at it.

This C1900 is the Canadian version.
The firmware is 3.18.0 Build 20160201 Rel. 42677n
I just did a factory restore and a 30/30/30 and am still getting a -5533.
I have seen C9s getting recovered here but not the C1900.

Do I need to use tftp to get this thing to load?

Thanks all.



I have the C1900 canadian version as well, and I was also getting this -5533 error.

I did some digging into the candian firmware files i realized that special_id of the SupportList section for the canadian version is 43410000 where as the us version is 55534100.

so, i tried to take the existing c1900 factory-to-ddwrt.bin firmware and hex edited the SuportList section at the bottom so that special_id is 43410000 instead of 55534100. i saved the changes, and tried to load it in the tplink firmware upgrade page and now i have the "Error code: 18005. Upgrade unsuccessfully because the version of the upgraded file was incorrect. Please check the file name"

i assume that there is also some md5 checksum thing that i also need to modify, but dont know where todo it.


it might be easier to rebuild a new ddwrt firmware file by adding a new archerc1900CA_support_list defined with the special_id 43410000

http://svn.dd-wrt.com/browser/src/router/tools/archerc9/mktplinkfw3.c

//canada
static const unsigned char archerc1900CA_support_list[] =
"\x00\x00\x00\x5a\x00\x00\x00\x00"
"SupportList:\n"
"{product_name:ArcherC1900,"
"product_ver:1.0.0,"
"language=US,"
"special_id:43410000}"
"\x00";


//existing
archerc1900_support_list[] =
"\x00\x00\x00\x5a\x00\x00\x00\x00"
"SupportList:\n"
"{product_name:ArcherC1900,"
"product_ver:1.0.0,"
"language=US,"
"special_id:55534100}"
"\x00";



then add a new else if in the main function

else if (strcmp(board, "ARCHERC1900CA") == 0)
529 do_cpe510(archerc1900CA_support_list,sizeof(archerc1900CA_support_list), "archerc9v2_cfe.bin", output, kernel_image, rootfs_image, add_jffs2_eof, sysupgrade);
530


i have not been able figureout how to build the bin yet, but i thought id share what i discovered so far.
if anyone is able to do this before i do, please share results.
jpalandra
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Aug 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 13:40    Post subject: Unable to flash ww-drt from Archer C9(US)_V1_180125 firmware Reply with quote
I have an Archer C9 V1 with the latest firmware shown above but I have been unable to flash the factor to dd-wrt bin as I keep getting a -5533 error as I know others have noted previously. Mine is the US version fwiw. Looking at the TPlink firmware page shows this note:
Note
1. After upgrading to this firmware, the device cannot be downgraded back to the old version.

I have confirmed that when trying to downgrade to an older tplink version I get the same error. Has TPlink somehow blocked conversion to dd-wrt firmware? If so has anyone figured out a workaround? Would really love to upgrade this.
josh_T
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Sep 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2018 21:31    Post subject: Re: Unable to flash ww-drt from Archer C9(US)_V1_180125 firm Reply with quote
jpalandra wrote:
I have an Archer C9 V1 with the latest firmware shown above but I have been unable to flash the factor to dd-wrt bin as I keep getting a -5533 error as I know others have noted previously. Mine is the US version fwiw. Looking at the TPlink firmware page shows this note:
Note
1. After upgrading to this firmware, the device cannot be downgraded back to the old version.

I have confirmed that when trying to downgrade to an older tplink version I get the same error. Has TPlink somehow blocked conversion to dd-wrt firmware? If so has anyone figured out a workaround? Would really love to upgrade this.


I was wondering the same thing. any update? I have a c9 v1 firmware version 3.17.1 Build 20180125 Rel.56387n and I keep geeting the 5533 error.
StayStock
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Oct 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 0:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alright boys, believe my router has been on stock TP link firmware since I bought it. Needed some ddwrt features so finally went to upgrading it.

After some pain, it seems that for those getting the -5533 error with a US Archer C9 V1 White, I recommend to first installing the ddwrt r29409 firmware first, then to upgrade from there.


Initially, I tried to install DDWRT release 27506 per louierh70, https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1132117, however I got the -5533 error.

I then thought that I had to upgrade my TPLink firmware since another post said that the OEM firmware might have blocked it.
I successfully installed TP Link Archer C9(US)_V1_161008 downloaded from the TP Link Site.

After the TP LInk update, I still was getting the -5533 error when trying to install DDWRT R27506.

Finally I tried to install DDWRT r29409 per the example on the DDWRT wiki, https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/TP_Link_Archer_C9#TP-Link_Archer_C9_v1
It was a success!

I performed a 30/30/30 reset and the router address changed on its own from http://192.168.0.1 to http://192.168.1.1

I then installed the WebGui for r29409 (I don't think this was necessary)
https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2016%2F04-05-2016-r29409%2Ftplink_archer-c9v1%2F

I was then able to upgrade to r35531 webgui, which louierh70 mentioned is the most stable release for him.
https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2018%2F03-26-2018-r35531%2Ftplink_archer-c9v1%2F

Upgrade summary
Hardware Version:
US ArcherC9 v1 White

Firmware Version Progression:
Stock TP Link - 3.17.0 Build 20150514 Rel.70681n
From TP Link Site - Archer C9(US)_V1_161008
DDWRT factory to ddwrt firmware from wiki - r29409
30/30/30 reset
DDWRT webgui firmware from ddwrt - r29409
DDWRT webgui firmware from ddwrt - r35531
30/30/30 Reset

Cheers,
StayStock
jpalandra
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Aug 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 1:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
StayStock wrote:
Alright boys, believe my router has been on stock TP link firmware since I bought it. Needed some ddwrt features so finally went to upgrading it.

After some pain, it seems that for those getting the -5533 error with a US Archer C9 V1 White, I recommend to first installing the ddwrt r29409 firmware first, then to upgrade from there.


Initially, I tried to install DDWRT release 27506 per louierh70, https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1132117, however I got the -5533 error.

I then thought that I had to upgrade my TPLink firmware since another post said that the OEM firmware might have blocked it.
I successfully installed TP Link Archer C9(US)_V1_161008 downloaded from the TP Link Site.

After the TP LInk update, I still was getting the -5533 error when trying to install DDWRT R27506.

Finally I tried to install DDWRT r29409 per the example on the DDWRT wiki, https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/TP_Link_Archer_C9#TP-Link_Archer_C9_v1
It was a success!

I performed a 30/30/30 reset and the router address changed on its own from http://192.168.0.1 to http://192.168.1.1

I then installed the WebGui for r29409 (I don't think this was necessary)
https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2016%2F04-05-2016-r29409%2Ftplink_archer-c9v1%2F

I was then able to upgrade to r35531 webgui, which louierh70 mentioned is the most stable release for him.
https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2018%2F03-26-2018-r35531%2Ftplink_archer-c9v1%2F

Upgrade summary
Hardware Version:
US ArcherC9 v1 White

Firmware Version Progression:
Stock TP Link - 3.17.0 Build 20150514 Rel.70681n
From TP Link Site - Archer C9(US)_V1_161008
DDWRT factory to ddwrt firmware from wiki - r29409
30/30/30 reset
DDWRT webgui firmware from ddwrt - r29409
DDWRT webgui firmware from ddwrt - r35531
30/30/30 Reset

Cheers,
StayStock


Tried that but still no luck, unfortunately I am updated to the latest build ( Build 20180125 Rel.56387n) which is likely what is preventing me from upgrading. Unfortunately this build also prevents one from downgrading firmware as well. It seems like I am still stuck with stock firmware for now.
RWElphinstone
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 0:00    Post subject: Canadian C1900 not allowing to upgrade firmware Reply with quote
Hey all,

I've been through a most of the pages of this thread, and have not found a firm answer in regards to installing DD-WRT onto my Canadian TP-Link Archer C1900 V1 router. Has anyone had any success with this?

Currently here are my specs:

Firmware Version: 3.18.0 Build 20160201 Rel.42677n
Hardware Version: ArcherC1900 v1

I didn't know if it was a stock firmware issue, so I checked everywhere for stock firmware for this model, and shy of attempting a US build (for fear of bricking the darn thing) I could not get the DD-WRT to install. I get the "Error Code -5533" error many of you are talking about.

I was using the 37405 build from here (link: https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2018/10-16-2018-r37405/) and having no success...

If anyone can give me a quick answer on if I can load DD-WRT onto my router, and how to do it, I would really, really (really!) appreciate it.

Thanks!
deslatha
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2016
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 0:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you get the "Error Code -5533" error many of you are talking about then sorry you out of luck to web flash or regular flash by GUI on any C1 to C3 regard C1900v1 or c1900v2 from tp-link OFW to ddwrt fw.
Only way is flash router by send command line through serial console interface that required open router with serial recovery procedure.
then you need a pogo pin for bypass soldering problem.
From this point you can flash any C9 rev version 1 to 3 or C1900 rev version 1 to 2 to C9 version 1 with oldest cfe that let you flash any ddwrt fw.
hope can help.



pogo_pin.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  329.55 KB
 Viewed:  10858 Time(s)

pogo_pin.png


RWElphinstone
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
deslatha wrote:
If you get the "Error Code -5533" error many of you are talking about then sorry you out of luck to web flash or regular flash by GUI on any C1 to C3 regard C1900v1 or c1900v2 from tp-link OFW to ddwrt fw.


Hmm. Well, that's not good at all! Thank you for the confirmation!

deslatha wrote:
Only way is flash router by send command line through serial console interface that required open router with serial recovery procedure.


Is there a guide on how to do this? I'm not averse to opening the router, if you're talking physically. If it's a different method, I'd love to read it.

I guess my next question is this - is it worth it to purchase a newer, more compatible router? Or, is it expected that I may also see the same issue with a new router of a different make and model?

Thanks again for the support on this! I used DD-WRT on a previous router years ago, and would love to get it back.
alexboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Oct 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello guys!
I encountered the same problem as many of you, i.e.
I installed the latest US firmware (v3.17.1 2018-01-25) and it prevented me to switch to DD-WRT or any other FW, giving the "Error Code -5533".
Eventually I found the solution: you need to flash the following binary, it's stock UN version and it's quite new, so you may think to stay on it or flash DD-WRT next (http://support.tp-link.com/f/15b1b7ed92/).

So, my flashing log was:
- upgrade to 3.17.1 2018-01-25 (stuck here for some time)
- flash 4-1-0-P12002[20180223-rel35954] (upper link)
- recommended stable DD-WRT r29409 (by factory-to-ddwrt.bin)
- user-recommended DD-WRT r35531 (by archer-c9v1-webflash.bin)

Hope this will help you, guys.
fl0at_
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 3:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
alexboy wrote:
Hello guys!
I encountered the same problem as many of you, i.e.
I installed the latest US firmware (v3.17.1 2018-01-25) and it prevented me to switch to DD-WRT or any other FW, giving the "Error Code -5533".
Eventually I found the solution: you need to flash the following binary, it's stock UN version and it's quite new, so you may think to stay on it or flash DD-WRT next (http://support.tp-link.com/f/15b1b7ed92/).

So, my flashing log was:
- upgrade to 3.17.1 2018-01-25 (stuck here for some time)
- flash 4-1-0-P12002[20180223-rel35954] (upper link)
- recommended stable DD-WRT r29409 (by factory-to-ddwrt.bin)
- user-recommended DD-WRT r35531 (by archer-c9v1-webflash.bin)

Hope this will help you, guys.


Worked for me, thanks much.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 5
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum