Wifi SSID not transmitting after a firmware upgrade.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
buffalo0207
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Apr 2014
Posts: 129
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2020 23:27    Post subject: Wifi SSID not transmitting after a firmware upgrade. Reply with quote
I have an R8500 with the latest BS 42847 firmware. For the last few firmware updates, my wifi has stopped transmitting after installation. The Wireless SSID Broadcast in Wireless>Basic Settings is always set to enable.

For a while, I just left it. But recently, I found a way to get it working again, by installing a really old Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30260 std (07/20/16), and then reinstalling my CFE. Method below...

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1169279#1169279

The wifi then transmits again and I'm then able to reinstall the latest firmware without issues.

So really, I'd like to know why this issue is happening, and is there a faster way to get my wifi up and running after a firmware update without having to apply the brutal fix above everytime?

Thanks...
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2020 2:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't quite understand why you would need to re-install the bootloader. Are you talking about nvram settings? The R8500 is problematic at best, but at least you found a working solution, whatever it exactly is.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
buffalo0207
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Apr 2014
Posts: 129
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2020 5:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don’t know why the boot loader needs to be reinstalled either, but although the method above works, is there not something that will manually restart the WiFi radios or something? Maybe there’s a line of code or a script that is quicker to get things working again without applying this long method above?
buffalo0207
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Apr 2014
Posts: 129
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 13:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does anyone have an idea, or a faster solution to my issue?

Last edited by buffalo0207 on Sun Apr 12, 2020 18:26; edited 1 time in total
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 14:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
After doing a little reading, I don't. Is this happening with every upgrade, or was this just random?
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
buffalo0207
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Apr 2014
Posts: 129
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 14:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for getting back.

It's been happening for the last few firmware updates since this year. I can't say exactly when, but probably firmwares dating back since February.
tampora
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jun 2020
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 18:24    Post subject: DD-WRT v3.0-r42287 std (02/06/20) Reply with quote
The version DD-WRT v3.0-r42287 std (02/06/20) seems to be the last version that works with my R8500, in case that helps. I have tried pretty much every release since then and no SSID is broadcast on any of them.

Hope this helps
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 18:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
It could be that the default setting is "off" and if the router has a button to turn the radio(s) off and on, then it needs to be cycled?
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
buffalo0207
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Apr 2014
Posts: 129
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 22:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, I discovered that the wifi radios stopped working if I did an nvram erase && reboot and then installed the latest update by CLI.

Now I just do a 'factory reset settings' and then upload the latest firmware using the GUI and now my wifi doesn't disappear.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6665
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 6:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
nvram erase should be done after upgrading to a recent build.
If you do that on builds from 2018 or earlier the result is unpredictable

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
buffalo0207
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Apr 2014
Posts: 129
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 12:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
nvram erase should be done after upgrading to a recent build.
If you do that on builds from 2018 or earlier the result is unpredictable


Thanks, I never knew this. But wouldn't the same unpredictable results, in any case, still happen after a new build with nvram erase as if I'd just done a nvram erase before updating? In my case, the wifi radio stops working in either scenario...
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6665
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 12:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
The command changed so on earlier builds you might erase to much (or too little).
So go back to a working build (if necessary stock) and only after upgrading to recent builds do the nvram erase && reboot

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
buffalo0207
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Apr 2014
Posts: 129
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 22:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
@egc

Thanks. I'm gonna try and revert back to stock firmware then and then back again to the latest ddwrt release.
puremind
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2020 17:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
The Nitro QAM (QAM1024) support option simply disappears (it doesn't appear at all) from the 3 wireless configs when this issue happens.

I wouldn't blame the R8500 for this, but the firmware breaks some config at some point.



missing.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  13.77 KB
 Viewed:  837 Time(s)

missing.png



_________________
Netgear R8500
puremind
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2020 17:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
And also, besides my method to fix issues with R8500 and ddwrt, this gets the very bad network wifi speeds resolved...

Follow my instructions on the topic to reflash the firmware version release 30260 first :
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1169279#1169279

Then do CFE only if WIFI is not working at all.

I've upgraded today to release 44213

For whatever reason, WIFI speed were absolute rubbish unless you set these options like below for the 3 radios... then speeds go up all the way to ~650 MBits/sec


Hope this helps some more people out there



2020-08-23 at 18.34.05.png
 Description:
COMPLETELY DISABLE BEAMFORMING!
 Filesize:  51.8 KB
 Viewed:  833 Time(s)

2020-08-23 at 18.34.05.png



_________________
Netgear R8500
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum