USB to TTL Tips - HOW TO FIX Garbage/Garbled PuTTY output

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1779
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 15:06    Post subject: USB to TTL Tips - HOW TO FIX Garbage/Garbled PuTTY output Reply with quote
Well, after countless hours reflowing solder and pulling my hair out, I did some more googling and found the real reason why my usb to ttl has garbage or garbled or weird characters...

The solution is to change a setting in putty.

First and foremost, run putty 0.73 or newer as older versions do not have this option.

Set up your correct com port, then under the connection > serial settings make sure to use:

Code:

baud: 115200
databits: 8
stopbits: 1
parity: None
Flow Control: None (or Xon/Xoff seems to work ok too)


THEN THIS SETTING IS THE SOLUTION
Code:
Window > Translation > "Enable VT100 line drawing even in UTF-8 mode".


***Final Tip*** always make sure to use the GND pin on your serial connection or you might still see garbled text.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]49197 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 & 45493 (2xOffsite)
[R7800] resting
[WDR3600]BS 44715 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)


Last edited by msoengineer on Tue May 24, 2022 15:58; edited 3 times in total
Sponsor
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 4360

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 15:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wow, great find.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12985
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 15:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for that. Normally, it's a connection issue. I always check and upgrade to the latest PuTTY. Minicom (Linux) luckily doesn't have this issue, but it is defaulted to a VT100 emulator, if I am not mistaken. Just have to update my PuTTY configs on my laptop and the workbench machine.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 5267
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 16:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
huh i use good old 'kermit for windows' never had issue...
even with putty too..recently putty-ed to one of my 1043v2 as i locked out myself testing some shit Razz but yep thanks for letting us know..hate those serial moments Razz awww

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 49934 WAP
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 50308 Gateway,DNS,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 50308 Gateway,DNS,Ad-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.13.0 AP,DNS,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm-Atheros
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 50308 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,DoT,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 50146 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,2,4Ghz only,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---DD-WRT 50308 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
NOT USING 5Ghz ANYWHERE
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7209
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 16:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Wildlion
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 May 2016
Posts: 1298

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 19:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nice
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10386
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 12:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nice I will add it to the setup guides, it was about a year ago I used serial with putty, maybe the default settings changed in newer putty builds?

Kermit, yes that was from long ago, did not know it is still around Smile

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 5267
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 13:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.kermit.wwarthen.com/Download.htm
_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ---DD-WRT 49934 WAP
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 50308 Gateway,DNS,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -DD-WRT 50308 Gateway,DNS,Ad-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 -Gargoyle OS 1.13.0 AP,DNS,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm-Atheros
Netgear R7800 --DD-WRT 50308 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,DoT,Vanilla
Netgear R9000 --DD-WRT 50146 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Forced DNS,DoT,2,4Ghz only,Vanilla
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---DD-WRT 50308 Gateway,DNS,AD-Block,Firewall,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
NOT USING 5Ghz ANYWHERE
------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 4360

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 13:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Let us party like it's 1998, with 1994 server specs.

http://www.kermit.wwarthen.com/WebSite.htm



kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12985
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 16:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
People would sh*t their pants if they saw some of my workbench hardware and what it's running. Twisted Evil
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum