New gateway causing packet loss?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
ClockworkOrange
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 4:32    Post subject: New gateway causing packet loss? Reply with quote
Hey all, Im using a D-link DIR615 I1 with DD-WRT v3.0-r40559 std

I was using this as a client bridge (routed) to bring my wifi from my landlords router, and turn it into a lan connection that my pc can use.

However, my landlord recently changed his router, and now i suffer packet loss. I was on an old build, and I updated the firmware to its current version, hoping that would fix the issue. The wireless status tab says that there are no RX packet errors, (when there were before on the previous firmware, about 10%)

I thought I was good to go, however, upon playing some games, i have noticeable packet loss issues.

I then ran a ping -n 100 to google, and discovered that some packets would either time out, or randomly take over a second to return.

So I then ran a tracert to google.com, and saw this Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601] Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Sean>tracert google.ca

Tracing route to google.ca [172.217.14.227] over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms * 192.168.1.1
2 4 ms 4 ms 3 ms hitronhub.home [192.168.0.1]
3 17 ms 15 ms 10 ms 70.75.128.1
4 12 ms 13 ms 18 ms rc3no-be147-1.cg.shawcable.net [64.59.131.213]
5 29 ms 32 ms 81 ms rc2wt-be100.wa.shawcable.net [66.163.75.233]
6 29 ms 28 ms 30 ms 72.14.242.90
7 31 ms 31 ms 31 ms 216.239.49.117 8 30 ms 31 ms 31 ms 209.85.254.249 9 34 ms 29 ms 28 ms sea30s02-in-f3.1e100.net [172.217.14.227]

Trace complete.

So my DDWRT router is dropping the packet before it reaches the router, over a wired connection that had no problem with this before my landlord changed his router. What gives?

Pings to google.ca can sometimes return a reply from my ddwrt router at 192.168.1.1 that the destination net is unreachable, other times the request simply times out

EDIT: I should like to add, that when I ping or traceroute from my phone, the same issue occurs. Packets are lost between the router and my sending device, be it over wifi or Ethernet.
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13181
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 5:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Another victim of the router database, perhaps? Latest release for that router is right here: https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2020/03-13-2020-r42681/dlink-dir615i1/

Try it, you might like it, mmmhmmm.

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
ClockworkOrange
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 6:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Uh oh! I flashed that firmware and did a 30-30-30 and I can't see my router now! Normally it shows up as ddwrt after a hard reset, but its not showing up on WiFi, nor can I connect to 192.168.1.1

Did I just brick my router?

EDIT: Seems bricked, pc constantly trying to identify the network for two seconds and then stops. Then starts again, then stops.

EDIT2: Seems the router is power cycling. The power light goes off for a split second and comes back for about 10,then quickly flashes off and back on, with all 4 activity lights turning on simultaneously in between the power light flashes.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13181
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 7:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
You don't 30-30-30 that router. And you really didn't need to do a reset on it, anyway. So, what I suggest you try is to press the reset button for 10 seconds or so and release. If that doesn't do it, power down, power up holding reset button for 10 seconds or so and release and enter emergency room.

https://www.optimizationcore.com/network/enter-emergency-room-interface-d-link-dir-615-e4/

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
ClockworkOrange
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 7:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
I actually just found that and am currently uploading a stock dlink firmware.

Once that's done, I just upload the from factory version of the file you shared, correct?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13181
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 7:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Correct, and don't do a 30-30-30. You shouldn't have to press reset for longer than 10 seconds when powered up.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
ClockworkOrange
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 7:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Okay, just got the successful upgrade. I'll give it a minute, and then I try to get in with the stock 192.168.0.1 to flash the firmware again, correct?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13181
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 7:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Correct.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
ClockworkOrange
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 7:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Great! Factory to ddwrt firmware is uploading now! I'll keep you guys posted, thanks so much for your help!
ClockworkOrange
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 7:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ack, no good. Flashed the factory to ddwrt, and it still seems to be stuck in a boot loop. Power light still cycles every ~10ish seconds.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13181
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 7:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, sh*t. Not sure which build you should try other than the one you had before. That one shouldn't be too big to flash.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net


Last edited by kernel-panic69 on Sat Mar 14, 2020 7:32; edited 1 time in total
ClockworkOrange
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 7:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Oh, I originally set this thing up back when I was in highschool haha.

The previous firmware that was on it before 40559 was built in July 2012 I think?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13181
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 7:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well that just broke continuity.... I was editing when you posted.... I'm trying to consult my magic 8-ball on what build you should go with.
_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
ClockworkOrange
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 7:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Okay, so flashing a stock firmware again

Once that's done, load up the stock dlink ui and upload the factory to ddwrt you posted.

Once that's done, power off the unit, and power it back on. If the build STILL doesn't work, I'll revert to an older one and try that.

At least I know there's no bricking this old tank. Haha
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 13181
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 7:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
That one is in the group that had oversize images for factory-to-ddwrt images on and off. You might have to use the 2012 initial flash file if you still remember what build number it was. I think even the webflash upgrade images might be too big..... awesome.

EDIT: After comparing, it should be small enough, the first images for that thing are around the same size. No telling what BrainSlayer and his minions broke.

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum