New Build 42617: 03-05-2020-r42617

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
stephensuley
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 634
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 4:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
From the OP:

Quote:
Issues, observations, and/or workarounds reported:
2. WDS does not work on Broadcom ARM devices (only MIPS<->MIPS)

Notes:
3. Bridge modes on k4.4 devices may sometimes work in some configurations in certain builds but are not supported by the bcmdhd driver. Use client or repeater instead as WDS doesn't work with Broadcom ARM either (see Issues below).


And I just realized I need to edit below to read above..... Embarassed


I've been using Client bridge with every build without issue on my 87u until this build.

Now, no matter what build I load nothing but AP mode seems to work. All client modes show no TX, will not connect. However if I do a site survey it shows the network I'm trying to connect to as a client.

Something strange going on here.

_________________
Location 1-urban) - 1x Linksys EA8500 (AP) 1x Asus 68u (Repeater Bridge) 1x Asus 87u (Client Bridge)

Location 2-rural) - 1x Asus RT-AC87u (AP)

Latest and greatest builds Wink[/size]
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7610
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 4:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Possibly linked to things still in development, I can't say for sure. I just know that it either works or it doesn't work and that is the way it's been since before I got here.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
mwchang
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2013
Posts: 735
Location: Hung Hom, Hong Kong

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 4:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
stephensuley wrote:
Now, no matter what build I load nothing but AP mode seems to work. All client modes show no TX, will not connect. However if I do a site survey it shows the network I'm trying to connect to as a client.

Would you wanna try a factory reset when re-installing a build? Anyway, you have never needed that.


_________________
Router: Asus RT-N18U (rev. A1)

May the Force and farces be with you! Live long and proper!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/changmanwai
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/changmw
SETI@Home profile: http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/view_profile.php?userid=211832
stephensuley
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 634
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 12:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've tried that. After upgrading all network modes except AP will not work.

I even reverted back to ASus stock firmware and then back to an older firmware of dd-wrt, same result.......only AP gets the radio to transmit. All other network modes no longer try to connect.

Has anyone ever seen this? I'm at a loss.

_________________
Location 1-urban) - 1x Linksys EA8500 (AP) 1x Asus 68u (Repeater Bridge) 1x Asus 87u (Client Bridge)

Location 2-rural) - 1x Asus RT-AC87u (AP)

Latest and greatest builds Wink[/size]
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7610
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 15:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
It was probably a matter of it was working with whatever configuration you had at one point without reset during upgrades and then it finally decided it didn't want to work anymore. That is the reasoning behind the annotations in the build threads, I presume. It either works, or it doesn't. There has been no desire to fix it, or all attempts to fix it have been in vain.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2615
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 15:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
stephensuley wrote:
This has been working as client bridge device for years...it must be something recent.
I'll update my 4500v2 Client Mode router tonight and see what happens. It is k3.10 though, in case it is kernel-related.

Are you using any VAPs?

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.6|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 45036: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.5: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
stephensuley
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 634
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 17:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
stephensuley wrote:
This has been working as client bridge device for years...it must be something recent.
I'll update my 4500v2 Client Mode router tonight and see what happens. It is k3.10 though, in case it is kernel-related.

Are you using any VAPs?


no VAPs.

It's a super basic setup on this device....

From defaults;

[BASIC]
I change the hostname, LAN IP/mask and GW. Click Save.
[WIRELESS]
Switch wireless network mode to Client bridge on wl0. Click Save.
Enable WPA2 w/AES and set the psk on wl0. Click Save.
[SECURITY]
Disable the firewall. Click Save.

Then I reboot.


I'm going to try loading the asus firmware again, and this time I'll do a hard reset with the asus firmware loaded, and then load dd-wrt back on......hard reset and upgrade to the latest dd-wrt.


I'm not going to give up. I'll update the group shortly.

_________________
Location 1-urban) - 1x Linksys EA8500 (AP) 1x Asus 68u (Repeater Bridge) 1x Asus 87u (Client Bridge)

Location 2-rural) - 1x Asus RT-AC87u (AP)

Latest and greatest builds Wink[/size]
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7610
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 18:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Maybe try following the wiki: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Bridged

There's certain other things, like setting it in router mode from gateway and certain steps before disabling the firewall.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
stephensuley
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 634
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 18:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Maybe try following the wiki: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Bridged

There's certain other things, like setting it in router mode from gateway and certain steps before disabling the firewall.


It's up and running! Man that was a strange one. By reverting to the stock firmware and then hard reset and then put dd-wrt back and it was working as before.


Hey KP, Thanks for the reminder.

However I've never had to change that setting from gateway to router for proper operation.

The WAN interface is disabled and no NAT is being applied. So there's no need to change the mode to router. Those instructions you linked to are a little stale and I believe they're attempting to cover the most use cases possible.

For my network, I do a back2back with the 87u in CB to a 68u with dd-wrt also with WAN disabled. My clients connect to that 68u. It's all in my signature.

Anyways all is good now. It's been many years since I had to roll up my sleeves and bring a router back from the brink.

_________________
Location 1-urban) - 1x Linksys EA8500 (AP) 1x Asus 68u (Repeater Bridge) 1x Asus 87u (Client Bridge)

Location 2-rural) - 1x Asus RT-AC87u (AP)

Latest and greatest builds Wink[/size]
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7610
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 18:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Glad you got it working. Although the wiki is stale, perhaps it was last checked and edited....
Quote:
This page was last modified 15:39, 21 January 2020
, and every time I've set up CB or attempted to, that has been what I followed. Maybe I need to attempt a more simpler approach like yours on my R7000P and see if I can't make it work in CB mode instead.... then I could get rid of the powerline adapters or use them as a backup.... Idea Wink Cool Arrow
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Zyxx
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Dec 2018
Posts: 305

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 15:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router/Version: ASUS RT-N12D1
Mode: Wireless and "test it before you destroy your main devices"
File: dd-wrt.v24-42617_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega_RT-N12, dd-wrt.v24-42617_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega_RT-N12B1 and dd-wrt.v24-42617_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega
Kernel: Linux 3.10.108-d10 #2784 Thu Mar 5 13:17:43 +04 2020 mips
Status: up 21 min, seems stable (connected 4 devices wireless and this PC wired)

As always: D1 revision needs either B1 or generic N12 release, NOT C1!
cbraxton
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Sep 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 23:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Netgear R6700v3 router, flashed with netgear-r6700v3-webflash.bin to DD-WRT r42617.

Installed without apparent incident and initially appeared to work OK. However it turns out the dnsmasq DHCP server stops working after running for several hours to a day. Rebooting is required to get dnsmasq working again. (Restarting the service by disabling/re-enabling DHCP server does not work.)

I know that latest is not necessarily greatest with DD-WRT releases. Cool I figured I'd try the latest one first though. Is there a recommended stable release for this router? Don't need the fancier features like VPN or even NAS, just stable routing and DHCP.
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2615
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2020 22:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
stephensuley wrote:
Those instructions you linked to are a little stale and I believe they're attempting to cover the most use cases possible.
What does that mean exactly?

I did finally update my 4500v2 client mode to alpha build r42681 this morning, with no problems. I've always had client mode and bridge devices set to Router mode.
cbraxton wrote:
Is there a recommended stable release for this router?
This one would be as good as any. Latest should be greatest...it just often isn't. Cool

Builds after this will be -O3 compiler performance config enabled for k4.4+, which would include the R6700v3.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.6|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 45036: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.5: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
Ninjanoir78
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Feb 2019
Posts: 236
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2020 23:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="jwh7"]
stephensuley wrote:


I did finally update my 4500v2 client mode to alpha build r42681


And where is that build Smile

_________________
Netgear R7800 Firmware: DD-WRT r42681
Linksys WRT3200ACM Firmware: Expressvpn 2.2.9
Linksys WRT1900ACSV2 Firmware: DD-WRT r42514
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2450
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 0:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="Ninjanoir78"]
jwh7 wrote:
stephensuley wrote:


I did finally update my 4500v2 client mode to alpha build r42681


And where is that build Smile


Not available to the public.

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum