Flashed wrt1900acs and no answer

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Ninjanoir78
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Feb 2019
Posts: 68
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2020 4:41    Post subject: Flashed wrt1900acs and no answer Reply with quote
Hi.

I've just installed the last build, everything was fine, put the new password, checked 2-3 things and I decided that i wanted to do a reset as some seem to say.. so I made a reset on my fresh build and after that impossible to open the gui... 192.168.1.1.. edge, chrome, firefox,private window etc..
Impossible.. no access.

Idea?
Thanks
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 11827
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2020 5:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
DId you happen to save the user/pass to your browser? This is why I generally do not do a reset when upgrading. Because it is usually not necessary. I would clear your browser cache and check to see if the user/pass was saved and delete it and then see if that makes a difference. How exactly did you "reset" the router?
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Ninjanoir78
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Feb 2019
Posts: 68
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2020 5:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
DId you happen to save the user/pass to your browser? This is why I generally do not do a reset when upgrading. Because it is usually not necessary. I would clear your browser cache and check to see if the user/pass was saved and delete it and then see if that makes a difference. How exactly did you "reset" the router?


I'm fine finally. I made 3 times reboot method and finally i rebooted the stock firmware .... dont know what happened
ad19
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 May 2017
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2020 7:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
This appears to be an issue with r42460. The 5 ghz radio refuses to come up on 3200acm.
_________________
WRT3200ACM - Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35681 std (04/06/18).
WRT160N - Repeater - Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (02/02/15) mini.
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3461

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2020 13:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
After upgrading from r42335 to r42460 I did not reset, but after flash and reboot things appeared to be unresponsive.

I waited 10 minutes, power switch off to wait 30 seconds then back on and everything's fine.

I don't use auto channel, but I think this process was necessary to bring my existing configuration up to date.

If you have reset your router please just give it time upon boot. Just walk away and come back later.

The auto channel selection takes time and it's the default selected option after a reset.
u251
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Oct 2018
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2020 13:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I encountered the same situation with a Linksys WRT1900ACv2.
Could not access thru Gui or telnet or SSH. Also needed to 3 reboot to partition 2 to recover. Tried twice with same results.

I can't really add anything for researching problem but
I do have two physical hard drives connected via USB port and eSata/2.0 port and enabled via NAS.
Both formatted NTFS thru Windows 10 B4 connecting to router.
I had them unplugged before I finally was able to recover.

I hesitate to try again until I see more discussion.

And "no" I am not an advanced user. Closer to the newbe end of the scale.
Ninjanoir78
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Feb 2019
Posts: 68
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2020 14:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
As I said, I'm ok now. But I waited 15 minutes. Rebooted, disconnected the router, tried 3 browsers etc and nothing. So after the 3x rebooting method the router switched the partition and I reflashed with the last build.

Question : in first, I flashed from the linksys firmware, after that, the dd wrt firmware was no longer responding so I rebooted on the other partition (linksys)
And I reflashed with dd wrt again. SO, my 2 partitions have dd wrt now?
Thanks
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3461

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2020 14:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
From the Linksys web interface you overwrote the existing DD-WRT partition.
u251
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Oct 2018
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2020 14:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I keep an older much tested and used version installed on partition 2 at all times. Currently DD-WRT v3.0-r42054 std (01/21/20).

Always install new versions (or when reverting back to older version) on partition 1.

There was a time in the recent past that due to size installing to partition 2 was a problem but I believe that is no longer true.

Do you have any devices plugged into your NAS USB port?
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3461

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2020 14:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Build r42460 is well under size, so no worries about flashing to the second partition.

He's right though, unplug any USB.

I hope you waited after the reset.

I hope you also waited after a cold boot (power cycle).

Otherwise this is sounds like running in circles for no reason.
Ninjanoir78
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Feb 2019
Posts: 68
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2020 14:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
blkt wrote:
Build r42460 is well under size, so no worries about flashing to the second partition.

He's right though, unplug any USB.

I hope you waited after the reset.

I hope you also waited after a cold boot (power cycle).

Otherwise this is sounds like running in circles for no reason.


By wait, you mean why? How long Smile
Ninjanoir78
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Feb 2019
Posts: 68
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2020 15:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
blkt wrote:
From the Linksys web interface you overwrote the existing DD-WRT partition.


I take the webflash right?
ad19
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 May 2017
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2020 15:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ninjanoir78 wrote:
blkt wrote:
From the Linksys web interface you overwrote the existing DD-WRT partition.


I take the webflash right?


No. The factory to dd-wrt.

_________________
WRT3200ACM - Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35681 std (04/06/18).
WRT160N - Repeater - Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (02/02/15) mini.
Ninjanoir78
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Feb 2019
Posts: 68
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2020 15:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
ad19 wrote:
Ninjanoir78 wrote:
blkt wrote:
From the Linksys web interface you overwrote the existing DD-WRT partition.


I take the webflash right?


No. The factory to dd-wrt.


Reslly? Cause I've already have a dd wrt build on my router, I just want to install the other build.. some days ago.
ad19
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 May 2017
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2020 16:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ninjanoir78 wrote:
ad19 wrote:
Ninjanoir78 wrote:
blkt wrote:
From the Linksys web interface you overwrote the existing DD-WRT partition.


I take the webflash right?


No. The factory to dd-wrt.


Reslly? Cause I've already have a dd wrt build on my router, I just want to install the other build.. some days ago.


You always have to use factory to dd-wrt from the Linksys web interface.

_________________
WRT3200ACM - Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r35681 std (04/06/18).
WRT160N - Repeater - Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (02/02/15) mini.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum