Linksys 1900AC V1 Wifi issues

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
WENED
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 May 2017
Posts: 564
Location: Rural Manitoba

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 14:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Neil1454 wrote:
Is there a way to full longer detailed logs other than from the gui?
I'm finding they purge (?) after a certain time of length.


Take a look at "PaperTrail". I've been using it for over a year now .

_________________
WRT3200acm Master WDS 5GHz 80Mhz CH 100 (+6) r48567
Ath1 2.4Ghz Disabled
99 Static Leases
ExpressVPN

WRT3200acm r48567 WDS Station 5Ghz
Ath1 AP N/G Mixed Channel 11 HT40

WRT1900Ac V1 5Ghz r48567 WDS Station
(Defective, no 2.4Ghz but 5Ghz works great)

WRT1900AC V1 5Ghz AC 80Mhz WDS Station r48567
2.4Ghz AP Ch1 HT20 Mixed

WRT1900ACS SPARE r47608

WRT1900AC V1 5Ghz AC 80Mhz WDS-AP r48567
2.4Ghz AP Ch1 HT20 Mixed

WRT54G DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 micro AP CH 6 Mixed - Not in use

3200 Master -> LAN -> 1900ACS -> WDS 5Ghz -> 1900 V1 (X2)
3200 Master -> WDS -> 3200 Slave & 1900V1
Sponsor
Neil1454
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jan 2012
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 16:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
WENED wrote:
Neil1454 wrote:
Is there a way to full longer detailed logs other than from the gui?
I'm finding they purge (?) after a certain time of length.


Take a look at "PaperTrail". I've been using it for over a year now .


Will do.

I rebooted the router this morning as it had lost 2.4Ghz fully again.

Come home and connection on 2.4Ghz is showing but nothing can connect to it. So hopefully the log info might be of use as it was 2-4 hours since reboot and the issue re-occurred.

I've included a .txt file of the log entries I have access to from reboot to the time posting this so that 'hopefully' someone will have a look and maybe spot where the issue occurred with 2.4Ghz.

5 Ghz seems to be working fine. Unfortunately signal from the 1900 is not good enough to reach where I need it for the majority of connecting clients. But I can address this once I have the main issue out of the way.

Thanks in advance.
WENED
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 May 2017
Posts: 564
Location: Rural Manitoba

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 18:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Neil1454 wrote:
WENED wrote:
Neil1454 wrote:
Is there a way to full longer detailed logs other than from the gui?
I'm finding they purge (?) after a certain time of length.


Take a look at "PaperTrail". I've been using it for over a year now .


Will do.

I rebooted the router this morning as it had lost 2.4Ghz fully again.

Come home and connection on 2.4Ghz is showing but nothing can connect to it. So hopefully the log info might be of use as it was 2-4 hours since reboot and the issue re-occurred.

I've included a .txt file of the log entries I have access to from reboot to the time posting this so that 'hopefully' someone will have a look and maybe spot where the issue occurred with 2.4Ghz.

5 Ghz seems to be working fine. Unfortunately signal from the 1900 is not good enough to reach where I need it for the majority of connecting clients. But I can address this once I have the main issue out of the way.

Thanks in advance.


I had a look at your log and it looked much the same as I am getting on my 2.4Ghz radios. Possibly the gurus might have some idea what is happening. Because I appeared to be getting a lot of re-connects not only on my 3200 but also on my 1900 but not as much, I have experimented a bit. On my master 3200 I had disabled wmm and set the access to g only. It has always been a disputable issue but what I did notice is that on this 3200 occasionally my Android devices would connect as when I dropped my other routers for changes. What was strange is that I did not see any re-connects or hunt and peck action.
What I have tried today is disabling wmm and setting mode to G only on all my 2,4Ghz including the 1900. Although this action restricts all 2.4Ghz devices to Legacy mode at 54M I am not seeing any of the constant activity in the logs where devices continually try to re-connect. I realize this may not work for devices that require higher connection seeds in N mode but for me all my cameras and phones and tabs don't seem to mind and for now are stable.
I am hoping that this of the wall fix for the constant drop outs gives some clue to BS as to why the 2.4Ghz is so erratic and picky about so man devices. I always thought it was only a problem with the newer routers (3200, etc) but possibly it may have an impact on all 2.4ghz radios as the code is developed to accommodate the higher speed and functions available.

_________________
WRT3200acm Master WDS 5GHz 80Mhz CH 100 (+6) r48567
Ath1 2.4Ghz Disabled
99 Static Leases
ExpressVPN

WRT3200acm r48567 WDS Station 5Ghz
Ath1 AP N/G Mixed Channel 11 HT40

WRT1900Ac V1 5Ghz r48567 WDS Station
(Defective, no 2.4Ghz but 5Ghz works great)

WRT1900AC V1 5Ghz AC 80Mhz WDS Station r48567
2.4Ghz AP Ch1 HT20 Mixed

WRT1900ACS SPARE r47608

WRT1900AC V1 5Ghz AC 80Mhz WDS-AP r48567
2.4Ghz AP Ch1 HT20 Mixed

WRT54G DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 micro AP CH 6 Mixed - Not in use

3200 Master -> LAN -> 1900ACS -> WDS 5Ghz -> 1900 V1 (X2)
3200 Master -> WDS -> 3200 Slave & 1900V1
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3881

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 19:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
The G-Only or WMM disabling (not both) are a fix for WRT3200ACM and IoT, home automation, ESP8266, smart devices etc relating to the open source mwlwifi driver.

The 1900 series isn't affected by these devices and uses a different binary.

It wouldn't hurt to try, but I would focus on isolating client devices first unless you aren't bothered by legacy rates.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12439
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
blkt wrote:
The 1900 series isn't affected by these devices and uses a different binary.


Please quote the repository bits and pieces to back this statement up.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3881

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 20:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Please quote the repository bits and pieces to back this statement up.

LOL okay. "Ackchyually"

https://github.com/kaloz/mwlwifi/tree/master/bin/firmware

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/Linksys_WRT1900AC_v1

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/Linksys_WRT1900AC_v2

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/Linksys_WRT1900ACS

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/Linksys_WRT3200ACM

https://github.com/kaloz/mwlwifi/issues/170

https://github.com/kaloz/mwlwifi/issues/278

https://github.com/kaloz/mwlwifi/issues/298

ANYWAY. From r37012 to r42366 is a pretty big jump, so consider ditching the old config if you haven't already.
WENED
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 May 2017
Posts: 564
Location: Rural Manitoba

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 20:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well as expected I am getting a lot of flak over my test to disable wmm and set G only. Although it has only been a couple of hours, I have not seen any "DeAuthentcation" entries or such since the change. Before the change I would get continuous entries for various devices having problems maintaining connection. Yes I agree that this was supposed to be only a problem on the 3200's and such but even my Sonoff devices on the 1900 are operating better now, where before I would get no network errors even though they were operating and connected, I now am not getting any disruptions or errors whatsoever. I am also quite surprised that all my cameras are running without problem. I fully realize I am limiting my bandwidth but so far I am not seeing any degradation in any of my devices.
My conclusion over this is that many devices which connect in N ode may be having problems with maintaining a clean connection and when error(s) occur the router code does a re-sync to this device(s). This may also be occurring when a device is idle for any length of time which also causes a re-sync. For some reason this does not occur with G only mode. This was not an attempt to produce a fix but rather to bette isolate what is happening on the 2.4Ghz radios Even with modern multi-processing, if specific functions are being called repeatedly and continuously, the overall function of a processor will be severely degraded. Much the same as with a desktop like mine where I have monitoring of 16+ cameras, the cpu(all cores) are running 95%+ the time. If I try to use any other program on the desktop there is a severe degradation of operation. Therefore I can see where if the processor in the router is constantly trying to correct assumed connections there is littl or processing left for normal operations.
This was the reason for my actions, not to try to fix a problem but rather to identify what may be happening.

_________________
WRT3200acm Master WDS 5GHz 80Mhz CH 100 (+6) r48567
Ath1 2.4Ghz Disabled
99 Static Leases
ExpressVPN

WRT3200acm r48567 WDS Station 5Ghz
Ath1 AP N/G Mixed Channel 11 HT40

WRT1900Ac V1 5Ghz r48567 WDS Station
(Defective, no 2.4Ghz but 5Ghz works great)

WRT1900AC V1 5Ghz AC 80Mhz WDS Station r48567
2.4Ghz AP Ch1 HT20 Mixed

WRT1900ACS SPARE r47608

WRT1900AC V1 5Ghz AC 80Mhz WDS-AP r48567
2.4Ghz AP Ch1 HT20 Mixed

WRT54G DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 micro AP CH 6 Mixed - Not in use

3200 Master -> LAN -> 1900ACS -> WDS 5Ghz -> 1900 V1 (X2)
3200 Master -> WDS -> 3200 Slave & 1900V1
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3881

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 21:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Don't get me wrong, it's worth a shot I'm just saying doing both is overkill.

G-Only already brings you down to legacy rates, so there's no need to disable WMM at that point because some devices require it.

And the end of the day it's whatever works.

But if you want to find the culprit(s) set a new password, reboot and introduce one device at a time.
WENED
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 May 2017
Posts: 564
Location: Rural Manitoba

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 21:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
blkt wrote:
Don't get me wrong, it's worth a shot I'm just saying doing both is overkill.

G-Only already brings you down to legacy rates, so there's no need to disable WMM at that point because some devices require it.

And the end of the day it's whatever works.

But if you want to find the culprit(s) set a new password, reboot and introduce one device at a time.


Agree, it is overkill. However because I have multiple Sonoff devices I know I have no choice, at least for the 3200's. Ironically I was testing because my Android devices were acting up, not to a point that they caused me a problem but after seeing all the problems being encountered by others I was compelled to try this out. Once I have run for a lot longer, only have a couple hours now, I may try o re-activate wmm on the 3200 without sonoff devices, but for now, and I am totally blown away, my 1900 is performing great. I thought that disabling wmm would kill my cameras but that hasn't happened. As for reconfig, forgetting connections and restarting the android devices, been there, done that, multiple times. The only entries I am getting from the routers right now are the periodic ntp time updates.

_________________
WRT3200acm Master WDS 5GHz 80Mhz CH 100 (+6) r48567
Ath1 2.4Ghz Disabled
99 Static Leases
ExpressVPN

WRT3200acm r48567 WDS Station 5Ghz
Ath1 AP N/G Mixed Channel 11 HT40

WRT1900Ac V1 5Ghz r48567 WDS Station
(Defective, no 2.4Ghz but 5Ghz works great)

WRT1900AC V1 5Ghz AC 80Mhz WDS Station r48567
2.4Ghz AP Ch1 HT20 Mixed

WRT1900ACS SPARE r47608

WRT1900AC V1 5Ghz AC 80Mhz WDS-AP r48567
2.4Ghz AP Ch1 HT20 Mixed

WRT54G DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 micro AP CH 6 Mixed - Not in use

3200 Master -> LAN -> 1900ACS -> WDS 5Ghz -> 1900 V1 (X2)
3200 Master -> WDS -> 3200 Slave & 1900V1
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12439
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 21:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
blkt wrote:
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Please quote the repository bits and pieces to back this statement up.

LOL okay. "Ackchyually"

https://github.com/kaloz/mwlwifi/tree/master/bin/firmware

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/Linksys_WRT1900AC_v1

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/Linksys_WRT1900AC_v2

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/Linksys_WRT1900ACS

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/Linksys_WRT3200ACM

https://github.com/kaloz/mwlwifi/issues/170

https://github.com/kaloz/mwlwifi/issues/278

https://github.com/kaloz/mwlwifi/issues/298

ANYWAY. From r37012 to r42366 is a pretty big jump, so consider ditching the old config if you haven't already.


None of that is from svn.dd-wrt.com or the driver_repository. Try again, please.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3881

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 22:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
None of that is from svn.dd-wrt.com or the driver_repository. Try again, please.

Never go full retard.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12439
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 22:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
blkt wrote:
kernel-panic69 wrote:
None of that is from svn.dd-wrt.com or the driver_repository. Try again, please.

Never go full retard.


No, please do. Go full retard and post the information requested, if you can.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
SurprisedItWorks
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2018
Posts: 1328
Location: Appalachian mountains, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 22:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Neil1454 wrote:
Is there a way to full longer detailed logs other than from the gui?
I'm finding they purge (?) after a certain time of length.

Drop this into the CLI whenever you want to snapshot the logs into browswer-viewable form:
Code:
#Access syslog at https://192.168.1.1/user/syslog.asp
( cd /tmp/www
  touch rawlog
  for f in $(ls -r /var/log/messages*); do cat $f >>rawlog; done
  sed '1s/^/<pre>/;$s|$|</pre>|;s/$/\r/' rawlog >syslog.asp
  rm rawlog )

This gets not only the current log file in /var/log/messages but the older ones in /var/log/messages.0 and /var/log/messages.1, etc., up to /var/log/messages.9. Of course access at http rather than https if that's how you see your GUI.

Unfortunatly, I was never successful in automating this so that just visiting a page would create the snapshot. There was a wiki page that made out like it was possible, but none of my experiments in that direction worked.

Edit: I cobbled that up many months ago, and at this point I can no longer remember why I used the loop and temp file. Maybe I was just having a slow day. This seems easier:

sed '1s/^/<pre>/;$s|$|</pre>|;s/$/\r/' $(ls -r /var/log/messages*) >/tmp/www/syslog.asp

_________________
Six Linksys WRT1900ACSv2 routers on 48141: VLANs, VAPs, NAS, client mode, OpenVPN client (AirVPN), DDNS, wireguard servers and clients (AzireVPN), three DNSCrypt DNS providers (incl Quad9) via VPN clients.


Last edited by SurprisedItWorks on Sat Feb 22, 2020 23:44; edited 1 time in total
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 3881

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 22:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
No, please do. Go full retard and post the information requested, if you can.

Why? You already know it's there, unless of course you ignore all the information in front of you.

You are being ridiculous.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12439
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 22:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
blkt wrote:
kernel-panic69 wrote:
No, please do. Go full retard and post the information requested, if you can.

Why? You already know it's there, unless of course you ignore all the information in front of you.

You are being ridiculous.


It's also ridiculous to expect people to post kernel versions of firmware images, but I digress.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware‽
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is‽
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 6
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum