Netgear WNDR4300 and any build past 39296

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
1031982
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2020 16:31    Post subject: Netgear WNDR4300 and any build past 39296 Reply with quote
So, I have a problem where if I flash any DD-WRT build past 39296, I have one of a few problems arise. It's usually only one of these issues, depending on what version I flash. Sometimes it's two, however that's limited to when number 3 happens. This is confusing to me, and I would like to get an understanding of this if possible.

1. The wireless will cut in and out.
2. Two devices on my network will no longer connect, the specific devices are an AT&T micorcell and an access point I have in another room.
3. IPv6 won't connect.
4. The Internet connection will drop in and out.

This happens with a dirty update, clean update, clean update with 30-30-30, and restoring the factory firmware and then flashing back to DD-WRT. I have also tried disconnecting everything except my PC, updating the firmware, re-configuring the router, and then re-connecting things one by one starting with the Internet gateway.

I NEVER restore the configuration backup unless it's for the same version firmware.
I take the time to go through and manually configure the settings when trying to update with a clean update.

About my setup and configuration :
I have AT&T Uverse. The gateway is set up as close as possible to bridge mode and then connects to the router's WAN port.
I have it configured like so -
Setup :
Connection type - Automatic DHCP
DHCP server
openDNS as static DNS
IPv6 is enables with prefix delegation.
DDNS is configured to update through dnsomatic.com for opendns.

Wireless :
Both wireless interfaces are configured with WPA2 AES
I have a virtual wireless interface for original my Nintendo DS connection. It's broadcast is disabled, has WEP security, and MAC filtering to only allow my DS.
It also has AP isolation.

Services :
I have a static IP address for most of my devices, reaching a number of 22 reserved addresses.

Security :
I only have the following options enabled :
SPI Firewall
ARP Spoofing Protection
Limit SSH access
Limit Telnet Access
All VPN passthrough

NAT/QOS :
I have a selection of ports being forwarded as well as UPnP.
(Gaming on multiple systems on the same network.)


Any ideas as to what the issue might be?
If you need any more information, just ask.
Sponsor
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1248
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2020 20:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Which builds have you tried?

Also, you shouldn't be mixing WEP and WPA2. Only use WPA2, even on the virtual... start with that.

Is there a real reason you need IPv6?

_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44374 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)
1031982
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2020 4:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
I know I tried the following builds :
39464
39508
39538
39654
39825
29827
39866
39944
40048
40452
40459
40723
41074
41218
41659

There may have been other builds I tried, but I am not sure about them.

I use WEP on the virtual because it's for the original Nintendo DS, which only supports open and WEP.

I want IPv6 because I found that some sites I access have had issues with there IPv4 addresses, but not there IPv6. I would prefer to have IPv6 from directly from my gateway instead of using a tunnel.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1248
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2020 5:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
try installing a build from 2020:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=16bhYPn1zhFcI1ASfe87cxiAmtrsLjuPe
here is a special one to try out.

reset to defaults when you install.
follow some of my tips below in best wifi settings.
obviously some won't apply on this older router, but in general it will help.

Running a mixed wep wpa2 may continue to prove problematic, though.

_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44374 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2020 21:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
You could just use a cheap router as an ap off of the wbdr4300 for the ds. It’s what I do.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
1031982
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2020 23:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
try installing a build from 2020:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=16bhYPn1zhFcI1ASfe87cxiAmtrsLjuPe
here is a special one to try out.

reset to defaults when you install.
follow some of my tips below in best wifi settings.
obviously some won't apply on this older router, but in general it will help.

Running a mixed wep wpa2 may continue to prove problematic, though.

I think you can understand my caution about using a build that's not from the database. I'm also curious about what makes it special.

Malachi wrote:
You could just use a cheap router as an ap off of the wbdr4300 for the ds. It’s what I do.


Unfortunately, I don't have any more outlets available to use for that. Otherwise, I would have gotten a cheap router just for just that purpose.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7203
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2020 0:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
That file is from the private alpha test build repo. He's being nice and sharing it with you.

Uhm, does all of your network and electronics plug into the same place? Do you not use surge suppressors with 4-6 outlets?

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
1031982
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2020 0:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
That file is from the private alpha test build repo. He's being nice and sharing it with you.

Uhm, does all of your network and electronics plug into the same place? Do you not use surge suppressors with 4-6 outlets?

I was unaware of that, thank you.

I do use surge suppressors, however my main area for computer stuff has ten outlets being used. My secondary location uses eleven. Both locations have transformer plugs, so any unused outlet is blocked.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7364
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2020 1:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
separating wpa2/3 and wep on a vap is fine, its like any other vap. perhaps have 2.4ghz on "mixed" to enable 802.11b rates cause ds/ds lite has junk 802.11b only. dsi and above brings 802.11g.
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ----> DD-WRT v3.0-r44425 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44412 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44412 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44412 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r44251 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
1031982
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2020 2:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alas, I won't be able to try anything until Monday.
I will however keep track of posts, and provide updates.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1248
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2020 3:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here is 42114 for your router...seems like some specific changes were made just for this router.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qsLDQf4Gb2LISP_JYOiPa_bSw1z0WVZc/view?usp=sharing

fixed the link to the right router...sorry was working too fast

_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44374 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)


Last edited by msoengineer on Sun Jan 26, 2020 4:29; edited 1 time in total
1031982
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2020 4:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
Here is 42114 for your router...seems like some specific changes were made just for this router.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1yxG63ZMUMGB_2N-rue2x2Z7zPItOPz5v

Thank you. However, I noticed the file name referencing the TP-Link Archar A7 V5, not the Netgear WNDR 4300.
Is that firmware compatible with my router?
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1248
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2020 4:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
1031982 wrote:
msoengineer wrote:
Here is 42114 for your router...seems like some specific changes were made just for this router.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qsLDQf4Gb2LISP_JYOiPa_bSw1z0WVZc/view?usp=sharing

Thank you. However, I noticed the file name referencing the TP-Link Archar A7 V5, not the Netgear WNDR 4300.
Is that firmware compatible with my router?


Yeah, I linked the wrong router...sorry. was working on an archer a7 tonight...I fixed the llink

_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44374 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)
1031982
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2020 17:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
That firmware wouldn't allow any wireless clients to access the Internet, and I lost the access point in the other room as MicroCell.


There was no way to log into the access point, and the MicroCell wouldn't connect to the network.

I unplugged both devices waited for a minute, and plugged them back in with no luck. Also did a reset on both devices.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1248
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2020 23:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
1031982 wrote:
That firmware wouldn't allow any wireless clients to access the Internet, and I lost the access point in the other room as MicroCell.


Sounds like you might not be setting something up the right way in the newer builds.

How are you setting up the wifi mode?

_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44374 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum