Coming from Kong back to Brainslayer on Netgear R8000

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
flakie
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 230
Location: Swindon, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 12:22    Post subject: Coming from Kong back to Brainslayer on Netgear R8000 Reply with quote
Hi

New year so decided new firmware.
Been using Kong's happily but as not developed anymore I am moving back to Brainslayer.

Had a few issues with the latest December one, too many to list but the web admin interface keeps saying it cannot be reached in my browser and a reboot fixes it.
But more importantly, for now, the wifi.
I had problem with wifi speed initially with kong which were fixed by choosing VT80 and channel 116.
I am unable to choose a channel now, it sticks at auto.
Wifi speeds are poor compared to with kong.

Anyway does anyone know what build of brainslayer is most stable (for them at least) and will allow me to set the wifi chnannel on VT80?



wifi.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  31.17 KB
 Viewed:  2603 Time(s)

wifi.jpg



_________________
Router Model: Netgear R8000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41813 std (12/29/19)
Modem: Super Hub 3.0
ISP: Virgin Media 350/35 Mbps

Sponsor
flakie
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 230
Location: Swindon, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 12:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
After 2 hours of trying to get it stable I have gone back to Kong (v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19) and all is good and stable again.

Plus wifi is back to near 400Mbps from less than 150Mbps.

Happy New year Wink

_________________
Router Model: Netgear R8000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41813 std (12/29/19)
Modem: Super Hub 3.0
ISP: Virgin Media 350/35 Mbps

Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5964
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 12:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try 116 + UU
flakie
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 230
Location: Swindon, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 13:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Try 116 + UU



Sorry my mistake, the attached image is from the Kong build.
With Brainslayer, all the other settings made identical, there were no options for the channel (just auto).

I did try UU just now and get approx 310Mbps but with LL I get approx 380Mbps (of course try same later and it could be other way around).

_________________
Router Model: Netgear R8000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41813 std (12/29/19)
Modem: Super Hub 3.0
ISP: Virgin Media 350/35 Mbps

Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5964
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 13:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
What Regulatory Domain have you set?

If UK does not work, try Europe.
flakie
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 230
Location: Swindon, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 14:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was using Europe on the Kong build originally and not sure why (probably because a speed test gave a good result so just left it that way).
I tried both Europe and UK on the BS build with VHT80, both only showed auto for the Wireless Channel.
I have gone back to Kong where both Europe and UK give the options auto, 100 - 5.500 and 116 - 5.580.
Both give approximately the same wifi speed in Kong (but auto slows it right down).

I am going to try another BS build if people advise which gives them the best performance but cannot use this latest one, as every change I make means I lose access to the admin interface. Very frustrating having to reboot to get it back.
If others advise this is the best one for them, then I guess I am royally screwed.

For some reason on the Kong build I set the admin port to 81. Not sure why. Maybe I had similar issues with Kong I since forgot about? Cannot remember how I changed the port though so unable to try this with BS (until I remember).

_________________
Router Model: Netgear R8000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41813 std (12/29/19)
Modem: Super Hub 3.0
ISP: Virgin Media 350/35 Mbps

tinkeruntilitworks
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 14:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
after the regulatory changes on my Netgear R7000P for 5 GHz once you pick the extension channel you have to do a reboot to be able to pick a channel. i only get 1 choice per extension channel but all 4 work fine for me

i'm in us using us settings

*
my isp is only 100 down though
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7201
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 14:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Channel selection has got a make over

Use AC/N mixed

First select 80 MHz, Save

Then select Extension Channel I use "Lower Upper" , Save

Now you can select your Channel number I use 104

This works well my phone connect at 866 Mb/s, effective throughput: 541 Mb/s

I am running BS 41813 but have a Netgear R6400v2

All channels are equal but some are more equal than others Wink

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
tinkeruntilitworks
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 14:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Channel selection has got a make over

Use AC/N mixed

First select 80 MHz, Save

Then select Extension Channel I use "Lower Upper" , Save

Now you can select your Channel number I use 104

This works well my phone connect at 866 Mb/s, effective throughput: 541 Mb/s

I am running BS 41813 but have a Netgear R6400v2

All channels are equal but some are more equal than others Wink

i've tried us and canada. they both only offer 1 choice per extension. 4 total choices. haven't tried other countries. but it seems some models are different for some reason

*
lower lower 149
lower upper 153
upper lower 157
upper upper 161
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7201
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 15:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Forgot to mention I use United States as regulatory domain.
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
flakie
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 230
Location: Swindon, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 21:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks everyone.
I am still on the Kong build but hope to try BS again tomorrow.
Spent the last few hours testing network speeds to find the optimal one in this Kong build and see if I can replicate in BS.

I tested every available channel several times on two different servers.

My best test results are below (these are the settings I will use going forward). Showing as they may be useful to another person on VM with an R8000.

My ISP (Virgin Media Cable) connection is 350/35Mbps
Only download speed shown in results (as upload in all tests was 37Mbps).
Router rebooted between Channel Width changes.
Settings saved and then applied for any other changes.

Regulatory Domain: United kingdom
All Beamforming turned off (as I don't need it to get to my maximum Internet speed. I will test with it on for LAN transfers next).

Wireless Physical Interface wl0 [5 GHz/802.11ac]
------------------------------------------------
Wireless Network Mode: AC-Only
Wireless Channel: 120 - 5.600 Ghz
Channel Width: VHT80 (80MHz)
Extension Channel: lower upper
Average Download - 370Mbps (Bracknell Server), 355Mbps (Brentford Server)


Wireless Physical Interface wl1 [2.4 GHz TurboQAM]
-------------------------------------------------
Wireless Network Mode: Mixed
Wireless Channel: 2
Channel Width: 20 MHz
TurboQAM (QAM256) support: Enable
Average Download - 47Mbps (Bracknell Server), 48Mbps (Brentford Server)


Wireless Physical Interface wl2 [5 GHz/802.11ac]
------------------------------------------------
Wireless Network Mode: AC/N-Mixed
Wireless Channel: 44 - 5.220 Ghz
Channel Width: Wide HT40 (40 MHz)
Extension Channel: upper
Average Download - 189Mbps (Bracknell Server), 168Mbps (Brentford Server)

_________________
Router Model: Netgear R8000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41813 std (12/29/19)
Modem: Super Hub 3.0
ISP: Virgin Media 350/35 Mbps

flakie
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 230
Location: Swindon, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2020 1:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tried the BS firmware again. Something is definitely broken for me on my R8000. I have tried to set the wifi up in every single way and selecting things in different orders (saving between each one), rebooting between changes, and no matter what I do I cannot select a channel if the width is set to 80MHz. The only option is Auto.
I have even tried changing the Regulatory Domain. Tried UK, USA and Europe, Nothing works.
Not sure if this is a fault in the build or what but like this it is no use to me. When set to auto I cannot connect any faster than 100Mbps.
I can get 170-190Mbps on HT40 on channel 44 so that is a bit better but of course the LAN speeds will be way to slow.
Its night here and no-one using network but me so will wait and try a bit longer but I think I am going back to the Kong build. That works really well for me. Never had any issue with it.
Will try a BS build in the future as obviously don't want to be stuck on Kongs old build forever.

_________________
Router Model: Netgear R8000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41813 std (12/29/19)
Modem: Super Hub 3.0
ISP: Virgin Media 350/35 Mbps

flakie
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 230
Location: Swindon, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2020 1:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Actually on this BS build on HT40 I can barely get above 110Mbps. On kongs I was getting up tp 190Mbps this afternoon. Its 2am now so it should be flying.

Then I went to do some testing and the VHT80 (80MHz) WiFi does not even show up in the list of networks. It is well and truly broken.

As no-one else has chimed in with an alternative build for the R8000 I am going back to Kongs now.

_________________
Router Model: Netgear R8000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41813 std (12/29/19)
Modem: Super Hub 3.0
ISP: Virgin Media 350/35 Mbps

flakie
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 230
Location: Swindon, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 21:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well I have got it working with the latest bs build but I think it is not going to last (see end of post):

The first video (Kong.mp4 - https://flakie.co.uk/Kong.mp4) shows my existing kong build working.
The second video (Brainslayer.mp4 - https://flakie.co.uk/Brainslayer.mp4) shows me trying to get it working immediately after the latest brainslayer firmware has been installed (upgrade from kong with a settings reset).
Before I recorded the video I had already tried every possible variation but forgot to record a video.
I then recorded it just to show you that it is not working.
After about 2m 10s I reboot (but skip recording this process). The final 40 seconds or so shows it still not working after a reboot.

I have tried putting my config backup for the kong build on to the brainslayer build. It still did not work.
I then reinstalled the kong firmware (with a settings wipe) and could configure it no problem and all working.
I then installed the brainslayer on top of kong without a wipe and I *can now* change the wireless channel.
I am not sure some of the values are quite right (see attached 2 images) but it is working and a speed test shows it is good.

I expect if I did a settings reset I would go back to it being broken.
I am curious so I will do this.
I can always go back to the kong build if it does.



bs02.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  24.54 KB
 Viewed:  2319 Time(s)

bs02.jpg



bs01.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  21.52 KB
 Viewed:  2319 Time(s)

bs01.jpg



_________________
Router Model: Netgear R8000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41813 std (12/29/19)
Modem: Super Hub 3.0
ISP: Virgin Media 350/35 Mbps



Last edited by flakie on Sat Jan 04, 2020 3:03; edited 1 time in total
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7977
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 22:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Proof that the resetting myth is de-bunked? Sorry, bad joke. I wouldn't reset in between.
I did notice a while back after Kong left that some commits merged some reverse-engineered content pulled from Kong image(s), so.... hmm. No idea if there is something that broke with that or what.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines & Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum. ---------------------- Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum