Open-Wrt to DD-Wrt

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
lgmanuel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 22:23    Post subject: Open-Wrt to DD-Wrt Reply with quote
Dears,

I am unable to flash my Linksys 1900ACS V1 to DD-Wrt.

Current Firmware is "OPEN-WRT LuCI openwrt-18.06 branch (git-19.020.41695-6f6641d) / OpenWrt 18.06.2 r7676-cddd7b4c77".

I downloaded the corresponding DD-Wrt firmware and was flashing the firmware using Open-Wrt Web GUI.

But it seems it does not support the DD-Wrt.bin file to be uploaded.

Any ideas how to install DD-Wrt on my Open-Wrt router?

Thanks.
Sponsor
DaveI
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jul 2009
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 22:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's been a long time since I ran Open-WRT but what I think I did was simply flash back to the Linksys firmware from Open-WRT...Then once back on Linksys firmware flash to DD. Remember to use the factory-to-ddwrt.bin the first time as the other file is for once you are already on DD. CLEAR YOUR SETTINGS when flashing to avoid carrying over old settings that may cause an issue.
_________________
WRT1900ACSv2
lgmanuel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 23:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, thing is I messed up my router partitions.
Both partition 1 and 2 are flashed when I was testing open OpenWrt.

Now I can't go back to stock Firmware; tried using the OpenWrt GUI to load stock Linksys Firmware, but failed.

Any other way to revert to stock? SSH or other method?
DaveI
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jul 2009
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 23:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
The USB to TTL cable method but you need to be confident with what you are doing and of course you need to have a USB to TTL cable.
This YouTube video is what I use ...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mN7u79EupGQ

but I have to change one of the commands from what he uses...I don't have access to that info now as I am not at home..

_________________
WRT1900ACSv2
zen1932
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 23:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Assuming you have scp factory-to-ddwrt.bin to /tmp

Code:

cd /tmp
mtd write factory-to-ddwrt.bin firmware
reboot


I have done this way several time, it works for my case:
tl-841nv7 and tl-mdr4900v2
lgmanuel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 23:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
DaveI wrote:
The USB to TTL cable method but you need to be confident with what you are doing and of course you need to have a USB to TTL cable.
This YouTube video is what I use ...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mN7u79EupGQ

but I have to change one of the commands from what he uses...I don't have access to that info now as I am not at home..


Finding TTL Serial Cable in my country is a bit difficult.

Is it possible to load the stock firmware on the /tmp folder of the router then run the same commands to install?
lgmanuel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 0:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
zen1932 wrote:
Assuming you have scp factory-to-ddwrt.bin to /tmp

Code:

cd /tmp
mtd write factory-to-ddwrt.bin firmware
reboot


I have done this way several time, it works for my case:
tl-841nv7 and tl-mdr4900v2


I Get an Error.

root@OpenWrt:/tmp# mtd write factory-to-ddwrt.bin firmware
Could not open mtd device: firmware
Can't open device for writing!
zen1932
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 0:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
it is strange, firmware partition not mounted?
cat /proc/mtd give this result:
Code:

root@wdr4900v2:~# cat /proc/mtd
dev:    size   erasesize  name
mtd0: 00020000 00010000 "u-boot"
mtd1: 00182f2c 00010000 "kernel"
mtd2: 00e4d0d4 00010000 "rootfs"
mtd3: 00be0000 00010000 "rootfs_data"
mtd4: 00010000 00010000 "art"
mtd5: 00fd0000 00010000 "firmware"

can you do a
Code:

cat /proc/mtd

to see mounted partitions

oh, my openwrt version is 18.06.4
lgmanuel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 0:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
zen1932 wrote:
it is strange, firmware partition not mounted?
cat /proc/mtd give this result:
Code:

root@wdr4900v2:~# cat /proc/mtd
dev:    size   erasesize  name
mtd0: 00020000 00010000 "u-boot"
mtd1: 00182f2c 00010000 "kernel"
mtd2: 00e4d0d4 00010000 "rootfs"
mtd3: 00be0000 00010000 "rootfs_data"
mtd4: 00010000 00010000 "art"
mtd5: 00fd0000 00010000 "firmware"

can you do a
Code:

cat /proc/mtd

to see mounted partitions

oh, my openwrt version is 18.06.4


Oh Sorry, am dumb. Yeah I forgot to change the "firmware" with the correct kernel/partition.

It's working now on stock.

But Twitch and Mixer is laggy and buffering.

is it the router?
lgmanuel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 1:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
zen1932 wrote:
it is strange, firmware partition not mounted?
cat /proc/mtd give this result:
Code:

root@wdr4900v2:~# cat /proc/mtd
dev:    size   erasesize  name
mtd0: 00020000 00010000 "u-boot"
mtd1: 00182f2c 00010000 "kernel"
mtd2: 00e4d0d4 00010000 "rootfs"
mtd3: 00be0000 00010000 "rootfs_data"
mtd4: 00010000 00010000 "art"
mtd5: 00fd0000 00010000 "firmware"

can you do a
Code:

cat /proc/mtd

to see mounted partitions

oh, my openwrt version is 18.06.4


Managed to Install stock firmware.

Now I cant install DD-Wrt;
I downloaded these two files (factory-to-ddwrt.bin, ddwrt-linksys-wrt1900acs-webflash.bin)

Flashed the factory-to-ddwrt.bin from linksys UI, then router restarts; but it goes back to stock like no changes made.


Am I doing it wrong?
zen1932
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 2:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
my suggested procedure allows to go directly from openwrt to
ddwrt. do not know why passing by stock. I don't know your router, maybe it has 2 partitions?

how did you managed to go from stock to openwrt?
WENED
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 May 2017
Posts: 360
Location: Rural Manitoba

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 2:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
I may be way off track, but your problem with always returning to stock after an upgrade sounds way too familiar. Depending on what build you are trying to use, you could be simply running into the oversize problem which was occurring in a lot of builds this year. Take a look at the numerous posts regarding this. The most recent build have not had this problem. Also one other common problem with the same symptoms is using the wrong build for your router. Make absolutely sure about your model, they are definitely quite different and appropriate build.
_________________
WRT3200acm Master AP 5GHz 160Mhz CH 32 r42410
WRT3200acm Client Bridged r4210

WRT1900Ac V1 AP 5Ghz r42410
A/C Only CH149 (UU+6) VHT80
(Defective, no 2.4Ghz but 5Ghz works great)
WRT1900AC V1 5Ghz A/C Only 80Mhz Client Bridged r42410
2.4Ghz AP Mixed Ch11 20Mhz
WRT1900AC V1 SPARE r42410
WRT1200AC V1 Client-Bridge r42410

WRT54G DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 micro Client-Bridged for 1 IP Camera
EX6200 DD-WRT r38535 - Spare
EX7000 Stock Firmware Spare
Devices and Cameras and Sensors
15 WiFi cameras, 4 desktops, 2 laptop, 12 Sonoff Basic/TH16, Artisan 700 Printer, Ongoing testing of other devices.
DaveI
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jul 2009
Posts: 328

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 2:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
The router has two partitions. It's possible he has only restored the stock Linksys to one partition and is trying to flash the factory-to-DDwrt.bin to a partition that still has open-wrt on it. If he can get both partitions restored to Linksys he should be able to then flash factory-to-ddwrt.bin to both partitions using the linksys GUI (one at a time)...
_________________
WRT1900ACSv2
lgmanuel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 8:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
DaveI wrote:
The router has two partitions. It's possible he has only restored the stock Linksys to one partition and is trying to flash the factory-to-DDwrt.bin to a partition that still has open-wrt on it. If he can get both partitions restored to Linksys he should be able to then flash factory-to-ddwrt.bin to both partitions using the linksys GUI (one at a time)...


Yes, when I reverted to stock I flashed partition 2.
Kept Partition 1 as OpenWrt.

Correct if I'm wrong but I am thinking to keep OpenWrt on Partition 1 while testing out DDWrt on Partition 2.


I am sure I downloaded the correct firmware.bin for my router model.
lgmanuel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 8:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
zen1932 wrote:
my suggested procedure allows to go directly from openwrt to
ddwrt. do not know why passing by stock. I don't know your router, maybe it has 2 partitions?

how did you managed to go from stock to openwrt?


This should have been my first option.
But I thought flashing to stock then running DDWrt would be a safe option.

Now I don't how to SSH/SCP on the stock firmware.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum