Linksys WRT32X - cant login after certain time of use

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
zhelev81
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Feb 2014
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:59    Post subject: Linksys WRT32X - cant login after certain time of use Reply with quote
Hello,

my Linksys WRT32X uses DD-WRT v3.0-r41517 std (11/11/19) now and i have tried few previous builds but i have very strange problem with all of them. Once i log in to the router, after certain use of time i can't login anymore , it just doesnt let me in, it is not opening the login page at all .. nor form the local ip, nor from the external ip. Anybody can tell me what can cause that ? I even tried hard reset but it still happens.

When this happens i still have internet on the cable and wireless, but cant login to the router anymore.

I will be very glad to solve this -problem
Sponsor
SurprisedItWorks
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2018
Posts: 743
Location: Appalachian mountains, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 13:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Recent builds for the Marvell/WRT router series have had many reports in the new-build threads (look for the words "New build" in the thread subject lines in Marvell forum https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewforum.php?f=58) of the GUI -- what you are logging into -- freezing up after a few hours. A fair number of us who can't afford to be explorers suffering beta-test problems are still on build 40009 from June to avoid this and other issues.

In case you are new to dd-wrt...

Never install a build without consulting its new-build thread, as most builds have issues, and occasionally the problems are so severe that they may brick your router, even an "unbrickable" WRT router.

Never take the router database seriously. Assume its obsolete and effectively deprecated.

Be very familiar with the contents of the Cliff Notes sticky post near the top of the Marvell forum. That's your basic how-to document on getting dd-wrt up on these WRT routers.

_________________
Six Linksys WRT1900ACSv2 (40009/41954/42926):
VLANs, multiple VAPs, NAS, QoS, client-mode travel router, OpenVPN client/PBR (AirVPN), two DNSCrypt servers (incl Quad9) routed through vpn.
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 1150

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 0:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Telnet/SSH into the router and run this command:

restart httpd

or you can stopservice httpd then startservice httpd

or you can kill the process and it should restart automatically.

Any of these should bring back the web interface.
zhelev81
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Feb 2014
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 6:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
do i have to do this anytime i get the blocked access ?
SurprisedItWorks
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2018
Posts: 743
Location: Appalachian mountains, USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 14:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
zhelev81 wrote:
do i have to do this anytime i get the blocked access ?

Yes

_________________
Six Linksys WRT1900ACSv2 (40009/41954/42926):
VLANs, multiple VAPs, NAS, QoS, client-mode travel router, OpenVPN client/PBR (AirVPN), two DNSCrypt servers (incl Quad9) routed through vpn.
zhelev81
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Feb 2014
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 19:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
SurprisedItWorks wrote:
zhelev81 wrote:
do i have to do this anytime i get the blocked access ?

Yes


possible to set a cron job every 10 -20 min ?

how can i do that ?
SurprisedItWorks
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2018
Posts: 743
Location: Appalachian mountains, USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 20:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
If Magic Command is the CLI command you've determined is good for restarting httpd, maybe one of the great suggestions above or (you'd have to try this to see) killall -HUP httpd, you might first try this command in the CLI:

while sleep 60; do Magic Command ; done &

That will issue your magic command every sixty seconds. Do [b]kill %1
in the CLI to discontinue the test. If it seems to do what you want, you could put it in the Startup Commands in GUI>Administration>Commands. If even the preliminary test makes you nervous, first try the same line but with echo 'It works!' in place of Magic Command.

Of course you could do it as a cron job also, but that's more work and testing, and I always favor being lazy.

_________________
Six Linksys WRT1900ACSv2 (40009/41954/42926):
VLANs, multiple VAPs, NAS, QoS, client-mode travel router, OpenVPN client/PBR (AirVPN), two DNSCrypt servers (incl Quad9) routed through vpn.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 5705
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 21:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm gonna smack my head against the wall if this is in any way related to the linux_timer issue that BS is working on fixing for Broadcom. Waiting on the next alpha to test it.

Now, as there has been ongoing discussion elsewhere regarding similar issues, WHAT BROWSER ARE YOU USING?

The following are confirmed to work pretty much 100% of the time: Edge, Internet Explorer, FF ESR, Waterfox Classic, Pale Moon, SeaMonkey, Opera, and Safari. I have a feeling this is due to fixing something for Vivaldi ... at least I think that was this firmware project and not another one. But anyhow, those are the browsers I know work. Chrome and Chromium are sh*t because of the webUI supporting old browsers and other questionable sh*t.

_________________
Official Forum Rules
Official Forum Guidelines
New Moderators and Helpful information
RTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse.

---------------------------------------------------------
E4200 v1 DD-WRT 43290 mega K4.x
R7000P DD-WRT 40270M kongac
R9000 DD-WRT 43290 std
R7800 DD-WRT 43290 std
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2020.3
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2020.4.development
R7000 FreshTomato 2020.4.development
E4200 v1 1.0.07.development
WRT3200ACM OpenWRT 18.06.8
WRT54GSv3 HyperWRT 2.2.x.development
---------------------------------------------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
“Suitcase” v5: 4x (2x Intel® E5645) on Intel® S5500HV
“Suitcase” v1: 4xQuad P6pro-200 SL25A SMP Proliant 7000s
SurprisedItWorks
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2018
Posts: 743
Location: Appalachian mountains, USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 22:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I should add that you should be a little careful and experiment carefully to do your best to ensure that you won't cause trouble for yourself when your little httpd-restart daemon kicks httpd into starting over while you are in the middle of something important, like a save or apply or backup or restore or upgrade.

Does anyone know of a way for a script to detect when it is hung? That's really the only perfectly safe time to restart it.

Also, it's good to know how to shut the thing down later if it misbehaves or you just want to test something:
Code:
{ ( while sleep 60; do echo 'It works!'; done ) &
  echo 'do '"'kill $!'"' in CLI to shut down restarter' \
  | logger -t "httpd restarter"; }

Obviously once you test it like this, replace echo 'It works!' with the appropriate command (or commands separated by semicolons) to restart httpd. The point of this version is that it places an entry in the system log telling you precisely what to type to the CLI to shut down the restarter loop.

_________________
Six Linksys WRT1900ACSv2 (40009/41954/42926):
VLANs, multiple VAPs, NAS, QoS, client-mode travel router, OpenVPN client/PBR (AirVPN), two DNSCrypt servers (incl Quad9) routed through vpn.
ellick
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Mar 2016
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 1:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
zhelev81 wrote:
SurprisedItWorks wrote:
zhelev81 wrote:
do i have to do this anytime i get the blocked access ?

Yes


possible to set a cron job every 10 -20 min ?

how can i do that ?


I added this on the adminstrator tab in the "additional Cron jobs"

*/60 * * * * root restart httpd

It restarts httpd every hour but I still got an occasional loss of GUI so returned to build r40009
You could also lower the timer.
zhelev81
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Feb 2014
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 9:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
ellick wrote:
zhelev81 wrote:
SurprisedItWorks wrote:
zhelev81 wrote:
do i have to do this anytime i get the blocked access ?

Yes


possible to set a cron job every 10 -20 min ?

how can i do that ?


I added this on the adminstrator tab in the "additional Cron jobs"

*/60 * * * * root restart httpd

It restarts httpd every hour but I still got an occasional loss of GUI so returned to build r40009
You could also lower the timer.


tnx i will try
SurprisedItWorks
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2018
Posts: 743
Location: Appalachian mountains, USA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 14:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
ellick wrote:
*/60 * * * * root restart httpd

Thanks for that, ellick. I guess it's obvious I'm not a cron user. I've seen so many people in the forums creating scripts in Startup using echo (a horrible way to do it for more than one line), marking them executable, then running them in cron as single-word commands that I never realized multi-word commands were possible!

In addition to being easier, cron has the advantage of making the time of the restart predictable. If you know it will occur on the hour, you can avoid being in the middle of consequential GUI actions at those moments.

_________________
Six Linksys WRT1900ACSv2 (40009/41954/42926):
VLANs, multiple VAPs, NAS, QoS, client-mode travel router, OpenVPN client/PBR (AirVPN), two DNSCrypt servers (incl Quad9) routed through vpn.
ellick
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Mar 2016
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 15:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
You're welcome but I have to thank google. I'm not a cron user either. Once I realized httpd is what was hanging and causing the GUi to stop responding, I started searching for a way to automate it.

I finally found a link that showed how to run some other command every hour. I just changed the command they were using for the "restart httpd". I tested it and it seemed to work fine.

One takeaway from using that command was i still lost GUI access sometimes in the mornings. Since that command restarts httpd every hour, that means this is something that happens quickly. So, it's not likely something building up like an overloaded memory buffer. I think something in particular must be triggering it.
SurprisedItWorks
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2018
Posts: 743
Location: Appalachian mountains, USA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 17:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
ellick wrote:
One takeaway from using that command was i still lost GUI access sometimes in the mornings. Since that command restarts httpd every hour, that means this is something that happens quickly. So, it's not likely something building up like an overloaded memory buffer. I think something in particular must be triggering it.

That observation seems important enough to be worth editing your ticket. BS seemed to really need hard info that yields insight. This is such an item.

_________________
Six Linksys WRT1900ACSv2 (40009/41954/42926):
VLANs, multiple VAPs, NAS, QoS, client-mode travel router, OpenVPN client/PBR (AirVPN), two DNSCrypt servers (incl Quad9) routed through vpn.
ellick
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Mar 2016
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 17:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
@SurprisedItWorks

I just added to my ticket. I just wish more people would at least say they see it happening to them. I got the impression BS closed it originally because I was the only one talking about it. He just figured it wasn't an issue.

Since then a few others have added to it but not many. That's why I've said i'm not expecting to see it fixed except by accident. Smile
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum