YAMon v4... usage totals by device

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13, 14, 15  Next
Author Message
aloss
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Oct 2016
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2020 2:08    Post subject: YAMon3 data migration to YAMon4 Reply with quote
Hello Al, network monitor enthusiasts and YAMon fans,

Getting away from the central discussion, but not too much, I invite the interested ones in migrate YAMon3 historical data to YAMon4 to visit this post (https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1202385#12023855) where I released a migration tool developed by me.
It helped me a lot and finally I now have my years of data collected on YAMon3 available on YAMon4.
It's totally free and I hope it can help you too.
It's just a way I found to retribute years of support and help I received on this forum. Enjoy! Very Happy

Regards and stay safe.

Alexandre Loss
Sponsor
meyers
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Apr 2020
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2020 5:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Update I changed the startup config in ddwrt to sleep for 30 seconds instead of 10 before launching YAMon and now it fully starts up instead of just showing a white screen.

Additionally in the settings for YAMon under database integration there's an option called "Auto save any changes" which I initially thought was just for assigning devices to groups? actually saves the message when I open the yamon page and asks if I want to participate in a poll and donate, so now I don't get that every time I open it.

The whole capturing data usage part doesn't seem to be 100% still so I'm still working on that, any advice would help Laughing
aloss
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Oct 2016
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2020 11:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
meyers wrote:
Update I changed the startup config in ddwrt to sleep for 30 seconds instead of 10 before launching YAMon and now it fully starts up instead of just showing a white screen.


Hi Meyers, where did you change do set sleep 30 seconds. In version 3 this was a paramether. I don't know how to set this in version 4.

tks
aloss
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Oct 2016
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2020 11:28    Post subject: Devices losing "color" Reply with quote
HI Al,

I noticed that in version 4 the colors configured for devices are not preserved when clearing the browser cache.

In version 3, the color information was stored in the "color" field of the ud_a record in the users.js file:

ud_a ({"mac": "c8: 2a: 14: 1d: e1: 79", "ip": "192.168.13.112", "owner": "Computers", "name": "iMAC001Lan", "color" : "# 008040", "added": "2016-12-08 12:00:00", "updated": "2020-04-22 08:06:35", "last-seen": "undefined"} )

In version 4, I noticed that there is no "color" field in either mac2group or mac2ip.

Is this a bug or is the color information being stored elsewhere?

Thanks
kbytes
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 May 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2020 21:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello, just upgraded from v3.4.7 to v4.0.7.

I cannot seem to save Group and Device name using the Devices tab. It changes it on the spot and I see it, but whenever I refresh the page it goes back to Unknown devices and Interfaces groups.

Maybe I don't understand the FAQ, but are are we supposed to be able to save it like that or do we need to edit the users file in the rooter?

EDIT: I'm a moron, guess I had settings to save automatically on v3 and forgot about it. Working also fine on v4.


Last edited by kbytes on Sat May 02, 2020 14:49; edited 1 time in total
meyers
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Apr 2020
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2020 5:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was able to set the startup config by changing it in the run on start commands in ddwrt. Administration > Commands
kbytes
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 May 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2020 14:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
I cannot see the logs when using Brave / Chrome / IE browsers, but in Firefox it is showing properly. The grey drop down menus aren't showing. In Brave mobile and Safari mobile I can see them.



CantRepeat
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Oct 2017
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2020 20:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
So what's the deal with Yamon asking for reoccurring donations now?

When I donated to get a key there was nothing said about expiring or it only lasting for a period of time. Now I'm getting the nag and a message that my key has lapsed.

_________________
-Tim
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1382

PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2020 23:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
CantRepeat wrote:
So what's the deal with Yamon asking for reoccurring donations now?

When I donated to get a key there was nothing said about expiring or it only lasting for a period of time. Now I'm getting the nag and a message that my key has lapsed.


Mine started doing that so I emailed Al and he fixed it.

_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 R9000 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/ (Brain Slayer)
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-
www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1553
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2020 5:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
mac913 wrote:
Good info ddaniel51!

Yesterday, I tried installing YAMon4 but noticed devices not showing up and some devices with missing IPv6 addresses. I tried to correct it and gave up removed YAMon4 and went back to my Trusted YAMon3.4.6 with a clean install.

For now I will be sitting on the side lines reading the progress of YAMon4.


I finished configuring a spare R7000 with Build 43136 for my 1st Off Site and testing at home before deploying it. I tried a NEW installation of YAMon4 Master plus v4.0.8 also tried the manual installations all failed to start. Removed YAMon4 and installed YAMon3.4.6 and worked. I guess YAMon4 is still in alpha/beta state.

In all cases of installing YAMon4 the yamon_jobs would never be created. The install-instructions tells you check "cat /tmp/cron.d/yamon_jobs", but no instruction on why or how to fix it. I also checked the logs and nothing in RED.

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway WiFi 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r44112 Std
R7000 - Wired IPTV Gateway - DDWRT r44112 Std
E3000 - Wired IPTV Router - DDWRT K2.6 r44112 Mega
WHR-HP-G54 - Internal Routing - DDWRT r35531 std-special

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway, WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r44112 Std
WRT610Nv1 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r43217 Std
E2000 - Wired PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
gLeW
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 12:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi i have a problem with Yamon4 i make a new fresh install because when i update from Yamon3 also not working.

I dont see any data and always say

Hourly data for 2020-05-20
Could not open the hourly data file?!? Not Found

https://prnt.sc/skd5l7

also the clock never start
https://prnt.sc/skd64m

another picture
https://prnt.sc/skd7wn

Thanks
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1382

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2020 1:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you have been wondering where Al has been lately he's been hard at work developing a Chrome extension to aid in managing the online classroom sessions for the highschool students he teaches. The extension is available for anyone and so far has recorded over 50k installs worldwide.

https://www.facebook.com/GoogleMeetAttendance/

Al says he'll be back soon.

Dave

_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 R9000 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/ (Brain Slayer)
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-
www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
CantRepeat
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Oct 2017
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2020 10:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
ddaniel51 wrote:
If you have been wondering where Al has been lately he's been hard at work developing a Chrome extension to aid in managing the online classroom sessions for the highschool students he teaches. The extension is available for anyone and so far has recorded over 50k installs worldwide.

https://www.facebook.com/GoogleMeetAttendance/

Al says he'll be back soon.

Dave


What a guy. Gonna drop an extra bit of cash on him for his efforts.

_________________
-Tim
ThePie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Dec 2014
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2020 21:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Installed Yamon v4.0.7 a week ago. This is what I see after checking on it a week later...

martymonster
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 May 2020
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2020 3:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did a fresh install (brand new never installed b4)of YAMon4.
All was working in the afternoon.
The next morning when I checked the stats, I found that YAMon was not running.
I restarted it and a few hours later noticed something strange.
The USB drive had extra mount points, along with the /dev/sda and /dev/sda1 there were now /dev/sdb, /dev/sdb1, /dev/sdc and /dev/sdc1
I could not umount them as there were in use.
If I logged into the router via telnet, there were issues going to /opt/etc, I could get to /opt but sometimes the etc dir was not found.
I rebooted the router and a few hours later, the same occurred.
I rebooted the router again and this time I did not start YAMon4 and after 24 hours there has not been any issues, all works as designed.

For some reason, running YAMon4 on my router creates USB mount problems.

_________________
Router Model Netgear XR500
DD-WRT v3.0-r43217 std (05/22/20)
Linux 4.9.224 #554 SMP Thu May 21 01:25:03 +03 2020 armv7l
DNScrypt
NMON
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13, 14, 15  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 12 of 15
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum