Going from Kong to Brainslayer R7800

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
James Greystone
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Nov 2011
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2019 22:09    Post subject: Going from Kong to Brainslayer R7800 Reply with quote
I have been using Kong since I bought my first router. As much as I would like to keep doing that I just don't feel comfortable switching platforms since I am so familiar with dd-wrt.

I feel it makes sense to move over to Brainslayer builds since he has been developing for this group for a long time, and will allow me to keep up to date.

I know that I will have to reset and input all my settings from scratch.

I just want to make sure that there is nothing else I need to be aware of in terms of look and feel perhaps, VPN settings etc, as I have never seen images of Brainslayers builds. Is the layout pretty much the same?

Just want to makes sure I won't be surprised by something so I can get up and running as quickly as possible.

Also is this all I do first from ssh into the router
nvram erase then I reboot ??

Thanks Gang.
Sponsor
ACwifidude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Mar 2019
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2019 23:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
They have a couple of different add-ons, otherwise the main organization is exactly the same. Biggest improvements are with QoS since the July 11th Kong build. BS’s latest build has been working well on the r7800’s.

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2019/09-26-2019-r41174/netgear-r7800/

If you are updating via GUI: toggle the “After flashing, reset to” to the option “factory defaults”. It’s that easy to update from Kong and start fresh.

I’ve been using MSOengineer’s wIfI settings with good results: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1154617#1154617

_________________
R7800 x 3 hnyman OpenWRT

Inactive: R6250 X 2 BS DD-WRT
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4244
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2019 3:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
well, moving along is no go for me yet...
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6825
If reset is compulsory, than i need those bridge's
will wait...

the only thing i get in Kong build, that concerns me and is nothing special is :
daemon.warn dnsmasq[1865]: reducing DNS packet size for nameserver 127.0.0.1 to 1280

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 45993 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 46329 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 46166 BS AP,NAT,AD/Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 46259 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 46259 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum